We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mbotyi River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa(Southbroom)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
46
43
22
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
43
22
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild coastgames roomdirt roadriver lodgehidden gemdining roomtable tennisrooms are cleanbeautiful surroundingslocal guidehorse rideno problemlovely beachlive entertainmentself cateringsouth africansearly morning
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Looking for a remote beach holiday with a variety of activities, Mbotyi was the perfect destination. We enjoyed birding, canoeing, hiking to the waterfalls, the pleasure of an open and quiet beach and friendly and helpful staff.
We found the accommodation perfectly adequate with good food and wonderful seafood dinner dishes.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

A magic gem in the Transkei, The rooms have fantastic sea views, the staff are super helpful and friendly, the food is amazing. I loved the long walks, the cows on the beach and the great fishing and diving.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have best views.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gav_Jones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We spent an amazing nine days at Mbotyi River Lodge. A perfect place to relax, the meals are excellent and the staff are friendly and most accommodating. Will definitely be back. Thank you, Mike, Mia and Nikita

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isolutionssystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank yo Mike, Mia & Nikita for the awesome review. Hope to see you back here soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

The Mbotyi River Lodge is a hidden gem. Beautifully maintained, with friendly staff and excellent food , we loved our stay. Situated right on the beach and lagoon , there are kilometers of hiking trails in all directions, but especially along the unspoilt, uninhabited coastline to waterfalls plunging directly into the sea. Would love to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are lagoon or sea facing
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank simonesF7148YG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

We cant wait to welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Great lodge right on the mouth of the Mbotyi river. Very secure too with fence and a security guard at gate.

Chalets are great and well maintained and have a nice beach vibe about them. Nice outdoor balcony too.

The restaurant is great with the waitrons always being so friendly and always smiling.

The lodge manager was so very helpful in giving us directions to the waterfall and was always interested in how our day had gone.

A walk with Lenox along the coast is highly recommended too.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews