We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breathless location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mbotyi River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mbotyi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mbotyi River Lodge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“breathless location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016

paradise at the end of a reasonable gravel road for about 25kms.....scenery is OUTSTANDING.staff, friendly, welcoming.
restaurant, basic but comfortable, food, old home style delicious.
thatch rooms facing lagoon, T5 as I had is poor. hope the other rooms are of better quality.

Room Tip: log cabins may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N9434WFvictorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2016
Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    36
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
24
49
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2016

Looking for a remote beach holiday with a variety of activities, Mbotyi was the perfect destination. We enjoyed birding, canoeing, hiking to the waterfalls, the pleasure of an open and quiet beach and friendly and helpful staff.
We found the accommodation perfectly adequate with good food and wonderful seafood dinner dishes.

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2016
Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2016

A magic gem in the Transkei, The rooms have fantastic sea views, the staff are super helpful and friendly, the food is amazing. I loved the long walks, the cows on the beach and the great fishing and diving.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav_Jones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2016
Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2016

We spent an amazing nine days at Mbotyi River Lodge. A perfect place to relax, the meals are excellent and the staff are friendly and most accommodating. Will definitely be back. Thank you, Mike, Mia and Nikita

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isolutionssystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2016
Thank yo Mike, Mia & Nikita for the awesome review. Hope to see you back here soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2016

The Mbotyi River Lodge is a hidden gem. Beautifully maintained, with friendly staff and excellent food , we loved our stay. Situated right on the beach and lagoon , there are kilometers of hiking trails in all directions, but especially along the unspoilt, uninhabited coastline to waterfalls plunging directly into the sea. Would love to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are lagoon or sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonesF7148YG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan S, General Manager at Mbotyi River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2016
We cant wait to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbotyi
29.2 km away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#7 of 14 in Port St Johns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
28.4 km away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
25.2 km away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
24.4 km away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
24.4 km away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbotyi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbotyi River Lodge

Property: Mbotyi River Lodge
Address: Pondoland, Mbotyi 4820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mbotyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mbotyi
Hotel Class:3 star — Mbotyi River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mbotyi River Lodge, the Wild Coast's leading seaside hotel we offer a range of accommodation options for couples, groups, families or corporate and conference bookings. Guests enjoy a comfortable 3 star hotel experience at this wonderfully remote Wild Coast resort. Our bedrooms all have a private balcony or patio to enjoy the wonderful views whether it is of the sea, the lagoon or valley. All rooms also offer tea and coffee making facilities, a ceiling fan and a safe for your valuables. We have 48 well appointed, en-suite rooms of which 36 are log cabins and 12 in thatched units that blend beautifully into the lush natural environment of Pondoland. 12 Rooms interconnect - perfect for families. We also cater for sporting, adventure and conference groups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing