We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good value. Great holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hillside

Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet
Double Room Double Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
30 reviews
Chalet
Double Room
Double Room
Shower
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Lounge
Twin Room
Twin Room
Lounge
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkhampton, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Poobu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A welcome break”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Cheap and cheerful for this time of year, fresh flowers and milk in the fridge was lovely. Bedding and towels were clean and fresh, however there was a constant damp/musty smell that we just couldn't get rid of after buying lots of airfresheners and the sofa looked a bit grim. The chalet could do with an update. Outside was nice but we didn't get any sun because of the trees, paths a little steep not ideal for pushchairs. The park itself was lovely with good food and entertainment, we did use the indoor pool and jacuzzi which were very nice. Bude is stunning and we spent a lot of time there and the hidden valley is a must. On the whole a great holiday just a shame about the damp which did cause a few problems with my asthma, but I'd say it was value for money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin h
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value. Great holiday. ”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, I'd say some other people's negative reviews on this place are unfair. I think some people love to complain!

We looked at camping but found it was very expensive because of the time of year. This place was half the price so I think it offers perfectly good value for money. It's not the Ritz but you get what you pay for! By comparison to a basic tent pitch with no electric hook up, it's definitely luxury!
We would definitely book this place again. It covers all the basics and is near to some great beaches and Bude town, which we love.
Penstowe Park has some good facilities. We used the indoor pool but weren't on site much so didn't really see anything else.
The pub is nice. Food was fine.
The pizza shack was really good.
All in all, a fab little family holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globetrot...
1 review
“Damp”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Arrived on first day and was immediately confronted by the smell of damp. A closer look reveals the living room ceiling is bowing in in various places due to rain ingress. There were cobwebs and at least 3 spiders in the corners of various rooms including the master bedroom.
I registered a complaint with the accommodation manager who was surprised at the damp issue yet was quick to point out a conveniently located dehumidifier in the wardrobe. This made no difference to the awful smell and any clothes we left out soon smelled of damp too.
Follow-up advice given by the manager was to use the heating (in August!) with the dehumidifier, all whilst paying for the electricity. We extracted around 5 litres of water in the first couple of nights.
Noone came out to see us nor offered us any further assistance. Poor customer service and clearly trying to ignore the repair costs of a rundown accommodation. Recommendation is -avoid!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing