We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Dining Room
Bathroom
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Garden
Deck
Pet Friendly
Top of stairs with safety gate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yoxford, Saxmundham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LandDEsse...
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A very lovely cottage”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a few nights just before Christmas.
The cottage is decorated very well. A couple of little things that would maybe stop us returning though are the shower - looks fab but water goes everywhere!! It's very hard to then get to the toilet or sink again without getting wet feet. But that's just us, not really fans of wet rooms. The bath is huge though!! Very relaxing. The other thing is the floor around the cottage was so slippery!!! We almost slipped so many times. Make sure you take slippers. Also we bought quite a bit of food but couldn't got it in the freezer or the cupboards because there was a lot of the owners food there.
Otherwise, the beds are comfy, we didn't hear any traffic even though the cottage is on a main road. The fire is great. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away. It was decorated a little for Christmas too which was lovely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2015
Thanks for your review. Always helpful to have constructive comments too and will address them with the housekeeper.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosaleenB...
Belmullet, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We came across this cottage when looking to be close to family for Christmas. Great set up for us and the dogs.
It's on the A12 which can be busy esp as there is no off road parking but it was only a problem when crossing the road. We really didn't hear the cars etc and the garden is enclosed making it perfect for the dogs/kids. The local pub does good food just a few mins walk away and it's a great base to explore the area. Owner very easy to deal with and we have already booked to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael J
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, quaint Cottage”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Excellent accommodation, only negative so far was no cheese grater, purchased one easily and if that is the only thing we have to worry about its not bad. Not only is this Cottage well equipped it exceptionally well restored in keeping with its original character. It's location is central making exploring easy, there is a pub serving food within walking distance if you fancy a drink. it is on the busy A12 but to be honest I have slept well and it has not been a problem.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
Thanks alot for your review. Glad you had a nice time. There is a cheese grater, but it doesn't look like one, key learning there!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smudge080...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delightful comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent a very enjoyable few days at 5 Mill Cottage. It is in an excellent location with many attractions in the area and good eating opportunities in the village. The cottage itself is very comfortable, tastefully laid out in an appropriate style and with all necessary facilities at hand in the very well-equipped kitchen and bathroom. We wanted for nothing. The garden is private and has seating available; it was very pleasant listening to the birdsong in the garden in the afternoon and evening. If we were spending another break in Suffolk we would not hesitate to book here again.
One small caveat. If you are elderly or have difficulty with stairs, this might not be the best option for you. The stairs to the upper floor are not for anyone with significant mobility problems and, in common with many old cottages, several doorways have a small step.
In every other respect, however, this is a super place to spend a holiday. We would have loved to stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The obvious attempt to fit out the cottage in an appropriate style. It felt as if someone had put a lot of thought into it.
Liked least: The stairs to the upper floor were steep and narrow. One became accustomed to them but occasionally we had left something upstairs/downstairs and chose not to go for it rather than have another experience on the stairs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage that ticked every box.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Had a great stay. Very well equipped , very clean. Great location . Yep ticked every box for what we wanted.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and hope you stay with us again soon.

Anita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$88
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing