We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and local flavor for personalized tours”
Review of TPV Costa Rica

TPV Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer Private All-Inclusive Vacations, Tours, Lessons, or excursions such as: Zip-lining Rappelling Mountain Biking Horseback riding River rafting Surfing Kayaking Sailboat/Catamaran Sunset Cruise Inshore and deep sea fishing Full and half day Beach hopping Stand up Paddle Boarding SUP Riverboat Animal tour Monkey Refuge Tour Scuba Diving Snorkeling Dinner cruise History tour Coffee tour and More!! Vacation planning, lodging options, tours and taxi service. We do airport pick-up's and drop off's and are very reliable.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Our family went to Costa Rica for a week and rented a house near the beach in NE CR and had a great time. The team from TPV were all very professional and gave great advise. We went on 3 separate trips with them and all were great. The volcano tour was the best with with zip lining and a great stop at their hot springs. The riverboat Cruze was interesting, but I think would be better in the dry season when you can see more. The sunset cruise was great with lots of food and drink and a chance to swim and snorkel in a beautiful cove.

Our tour guide and driver Fernando was awesome. He gave lots of information and personal insight as a proud local who loves his country should. He really made the experience more personal and fulfilling.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas M, Owner at TPV Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Greg,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. I am very glad to hear that you were so happy with the service Fernando provided. We have been blessed to have Fernando as a part of our team for 5 years now. We hope that if you decide to take another trip to Costa Rica you will contact us, if you need any help in planning or just seeking information.

Thank you again for taking the time to write us a review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"horseback riding"
in 19 reviews
"zip lining"
in 27 reviews
"hot springs"
in 15 reviews
"costa rica"
in 74 reviews
"tour guide"
in 15 reviews
"river cruise"
in 6 reviews
"always on time"
in 7 reviews
"mountain tour"
in 5 reviews
"wealth of information"
in 5 reviews
"liberia airport"
in 5 reviews
"coffee plantation tour"
in 5 reviews
"his wife"
in 7 reviews
"excellent service"
in 6 reviews
"family vacation"
in 4 reviews
"local pottery"
in 4 reviews
"all inclusive vacation"
in 4 reviews
"rincon de la vieja"
in 4 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2018

From our initial email with Sheri to the sad day when Doug dropped us off at the airport to return home, TPV Costa Rica was the highlight of our family vacation. Sheri was full of great suggestions for ways to spend our week and set everything up with ease. Not only did we have great transfers to and from the airports, but we had REALLY GREAT excursions during the week. The volcano tour with Doug was the most fun we've ever had as a family, and knowing he was actively participating in the adventure eased my mind. Fernando was full of interesting facts and stories that he was happy to share about his country. We learned so much! While they both have very different personalities, we enjoyed our time with both Doug and Fernando so much, and would only travel to Costa Rica under their guidance. Thank you for introducing us to cool local restaurants and people, setting up amazing adventures, and taking care of the 6 of us for 9 days. We sincerely had the best times of our lives, and it was largely due to the care of the folks at TPV Costa Rica! Pura Vida!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank EMMY62476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas M, Owner at TPV Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Emily,

Thank you for all your support on all the social media sites. I greatly appreciate the kind words and again we look forward to your next visit !! The t-rex picture turned out great and it was lots of fun spending some time with you guys. I am glad that you are already thinking of coming back!! Ready to help with anything you may need to make that happen. take care and again thanks for all the media post !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

I’m not big on writing reviews, but I think everyone should know about TPV if you are traveling to Costa Rica. This was an Adult Family Vacation, so lots of grown personalities for our transporters to deal with. I have to say all of us could not have been happier! We had a wonderful time with both Fernando who picked us up at the airport and also Doug, who is the owner, operator of the company.
Doug, is full of great stories, and a wealth of knowledge about Costa Rica. He helped on everything from advise on the best restaurants, (which he drove us to) to what are the best things to order on the menu! He also went on the excursions with us to make sure we were satisfied.
Doug along with his wife Sheri, can plan any type of adventure that you would want and plan your hotel stay as well!
His company is helpful, accommodating and prompt!

Doug, I’ll always remember “the chariots of fire” conversation and the and the “alien ball” near the airport! Be sure to ask Doug to tell you the story if you travel with him. If you ever plan to travel near Playa Negra be sure contact TPV!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank DMarie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas M, Owner at TPV Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Danielle,

Thank you for the great review !! I can only take credit for the "alien ball" your dad brought the "chariots", hahahahaha !! I truly enjoyed spending time with your family, we had so many good laughs !! If you decide to come down and work on your Spanish, we can put you to work as a tour guide !! Take care and thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The villa rental company we used for our stay in Playa Negra enlisted TPV for airport transfers and transport to our planned excursions, but TPV provides so much more than van and a driver. Our first driver picked us up from the airport and offered fascinating information about points of interest along the way to our rental villa. Our second driver, Fernando, was full of interesting tidbits. He pointed out the best spot to take sunset photos in Junquiall and chatted with us on our return to the airport about everything from the indigenous population of Costa Rica to the best ways to treat my father's sciatica. Then there was Doug- he and his wife own the company and within 5 minutes of meeting him you can see why he does what he does. He tells the best stories, knows everything about Costa Rica (if he doesn't know, he'll find out), has the patience of Job, and clearly loves what he does. He traveled with us on all of our excursions- zip lining through the trees and tubing down a river- and offered a reassuring smile when the adventure seemed a bit scary. He offered advice on where to eat and even what to order at the fanciest spot in town. He shared tales of lovely sounding wife and his former life as a cop in the US. He stopped as many times as my father with the bad back needed. Most of all, he shared his love of his country with us- he taught us history, showed us the natural beauty during our drives, and answered all of our million questions. Doug seems to know everyone in Costa Rica- his investment in building relationships makes him an outstanding guide. He knows the guy who drives the bakery truck- pastries on the road is a possibility!! He knows the guys who own the ranch near the volcano- no reservation, no problem!! Honestly, I wish we'd done one of TPV's all-inclusive packages rather than working with the villa rental company. I know for sure that my family wouldn't travel to Costa Rica again without contacting Doug and TPV Costa Rica. Get in touch with them as soon as you decide to travel to Playa Negra! You won't regret it!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Kristina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas M, Owner at TPV Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Kristina,

We look forward to your next visit and we would love to put an all-inclusive vacation package together for you and your family !! It was my pleasure to spend some time with such a great family. I had deep conversations with your father and great laughs all at the same time. You were all very brave and took on the challenge of the volcano tour, next time we will try something new!! Thanks for taking the time to write us such a great review, take care and see ya soon !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

This was our family’s first visit to CostaRica so we followed the advise of our host to use TPV to book our excursions and we couldn’t have been more pleased. From the booking process with Sheri to the tours and transfers with Fernando the professionalism and shared knowledge of the region was outstanding. I would highly recommend the use of this company.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank RMK1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas M, Owner at TPV Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Rhonda,

We agree, Fernando has been a great asset to our tour operation. We always hope that the customers go home learning something about Costa Rica, I hope we accomplished this !! We look forward to helping you with any future trips to Costa Rica. Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a great review, we will let Fernando know !! THANKS!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TPV Costa Rica also viewed

Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
El Guapote, Tamarindo
 

Been to TPV Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing