We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa with private beach & pool; walking...”
View from Ocean Side of Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Ocean Side of Home
Driveway/Front of House View Kitchen-Dining-Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
View from Ocean Side of Home
Driveway/Front of House View
Kitchen-Dining-Living Room
Kitchen-Dining Area
Living Room, different angle
Living Room, another angle
Guest Bedroom 1
Guest Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Ocean View from Balcony
Pool and Ocean View
Pool Patio dining
Pool at Dusk
Native art
Surfing break Playa Negra  - 2min walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VeeB0
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Lovely villa with private beach & pool; walking distance from world class surfing beach”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is a rental that is a bit off the beaten path, but that is a big part of its charm. Situated in a secure, gated community, the villa sits right on the ocean, surrounded by beautifully maintained gardens and your very own swimming pool. The property is just as presented in the pictures, charmingly appointed, comfortable rooms, with all the amenities you need for a quiet getaway.

And if/when you want to venture out, it's a reasonable driving distance from Tamarindo, the largest tourist town in the area, where there's plenty shopping, sightseeing, and restaurants; as well as several world-class swimming and surfing beaches.

Our stay at Casa Papaya con Leche was our first in Costa Rica. Thanks to Mary and her team's impeccable hospitality, and the entire area's beauty and friendliness, it's our dream to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, itself, and it's setting/location. The pool was divine, as were the sunsets.
Liked least: Well, it was a mixed blessing the the wifi wasn't very robust. It was our family's excuse to unplug for the week.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
It was a great pleasure hosting you and your family on your first visit to Costa Rica and Casa Papaya. It was a joy to work with you in advance to ensure you took advantage of all the best we have to offer with great food, incredible views, fun adventures and a relaxing stay. Looking forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristyBM
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice getaway in a cute house”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in this cute house. It has a beautiful porch overlooking the ocean, comfortable seating and two nice bedrooms. We most appreciated the security of a gated community, the easy beach access and the well-functioning wi-fi. Our contact person, Mary, was of great help, too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasha F
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most relaxing vacation spot ever”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great house in a very relaxing location. The ocean is basically in your back yard, the beach is nearby, great restaurants are 5 min drive away.
Mary and the staff were very helpful
Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurenaw9
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway House”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed at Casa papaya con leche over the holidays with another couple that were looking to get away for NYE. From the start of finding the property, Mary at Beach Grass Rentals was beyond helpful. She helped us understand the surrounding areas and what to expect and also helped us set up some excursions while we were there. This really put me at ease that the property would probably be pretty nice as well.

We arrived at night, but it was a full moon out and you could see the crashing ocean perfectly right from the wrap around balcony. Mary was there to greet us and give us a tour of the house. The house was just what we were expecting and there was an abundance of towels & kitchen appliances to make our stay comfortable. Staying at Casa Papaya is much different from your typical vacation in a resort town. Rancho Playa Negra, the property that the house is on, is very secluded and tourist shops don't exist here. If you are looking for that type of vacation, stay north a bit in Tamarindo. This was a quiet, tranquil piece of land with great private beach access.

The security guards roaming the property and our alarm system made us feel safe at all times. We didn't have one problem while staying there and the people in Playa Negra are all very friendly. I would highly recommend staying at this house if you are in need of a private, and relaxing vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked that everything was as described. There were no surprises, the service and the house were perfect.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing