We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Candlemas Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peak Forest, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
vahill211
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent little cottage”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Very well appointed cottage with gorgeous views. Everything was brand new and spotlessly clean. The owners made us feel very welcome and the cottage had everything we needed, including views of sheep for our toddler! Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Companion...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Very nice house with everything we needed and more. Took us a night to work out how to turn the heating on but no problems after that, everything was brilliant.

Nice and close to lovely walks and great villages. Would definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage in the Peak District”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in Candlemas cottage. It is very well equipped for a short stay and the property is very clean and well maintained. Our children absolutely loved the adjacent children's playground and there are lovely countryside views across the fields from the living room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain18...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice enough, but......”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very small property, even our 18 month old baby was getting cabin fever! The sink in the bathroom was tiny, more of a hand basin that you'd expect in a cloakroom, definitely couldn't wash in it without soaking the bathroom floor. The kitchen lacked a washing machine,desperately needed after a wet bike ride!
The property was advertised as having wifi, however, this did not work for the duration of our stay, even after it had supposedly been fixed. This made planning outings very difficult.
It is stated that it is child friendly, however, there are no stair gates or baby cutlery or crockery. This would have been very handy, however, we had to purchase them from the nearby supermarket.
The mattress in the main bedroom was past its best, and could do with replacing.
On the plus side,it is in a good location for visiting the Peak District, and was a nice cosy cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Facilities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi Y
1 review
“good location for decent price”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Good facilities and cosy feel but bathroom was too small, wifi was not working so made improvise planning difficult. Devonshire Arms pub nearby is to be avoided if possible. Overall, decent with lovely views and great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the location
Liked least: bathroom too small
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thanks for the review - we are sorry about the wifi not working during your stay. This was unfortunately out of our control, as it was a BT issue and this is now resolved. As for the bathroom - no one has found it an issue until now - we know that most families prefer to have a bath and not just a shower, so we have carefully considered how we made use of the space in there and there is adequate space for whatever else anyone might wish to do in that room! The pub we have always found pleasant with good food, too - perhaps they were just having a bad day. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing