We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!”
other travellers have booked this property
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!. Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!.
Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
View of living area from kitchen
Oh I wish I knew how to upload photos!
Three wee birdies by the lamp in the double bedroom.
Chooks and hunky cockerel..scraps in...eggs out!
Garden and outside seating area - perfect to use the barbecue!
Standing stone overlooking Townhead Resevoir (known as The Damn or Banton Loch)
View over the Kelvin Valley from the farm.
Beautiful countryside views from all around the Bothy.
Swans and cygnets from the local Mill Pond.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Wendy P
Foix, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed only three days but everything was perfect: a warm welcome, a very nice family, nice surroundings, easy access to Glasgow, Stirling, Loch Lomond..... the house was very clean and cosy and there was a large basket full of goodies(good quality) on the table!
perfect booking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the warm welcome
Liked least: larger frying pans
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam K
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical time at the Bothy”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful cottage in a great setting on a family working farm, Heather and family make you so welcome, we arrived to a goodie pack and fresh eggs from their hens.
Everything you could possibly want or need was there. Our little girl had great fun with the children, hens, dogs, she got to feed milk to the lambs. A lovely treat for her.
we went to kilsyth swimming pool with is a short distance from farm, we went to time capsule swimming fun pools in Glasgow. We went to Balloch Loch................. So much to do we went to stirling, Glasgow, and bridge of Allan.
We spent many cosy nights at cottage looking out to tranquil surrounds. We would defo like to come back Heather and Family Thankyou again so much, You made three people very happy.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela H
Mullagh, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cosy and fab”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful stay in this accommodation. It was super cosy and very well equipped. Travelling with 3 small kids can be quite a feat, but Heather and her wonderful family were so kind, letting them play on all their outdoor swings etc and the accommodation was well stocked with toys and dvds. We will be back. Thanks so much Heather for your wonderful hospitality !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was super cosy
Liked least: Leaving .....
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachael m
isle of skye
2 reviews
“Exactly what we needed”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Stoury Bothy for a much needed break and time out as a family, we couldnt have asked for more. The Bothy had EVERYTHING we needed, our children had a wonderful time with Heather and Davids children and their cousins and together they made the most of the farms space. We were nearby so many places of interest, and just 15 minute train ride to the centre of Glasgow. Thank you very much Heather for your genuine hospitality, we hope to come back soon x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The genuine feeling in and around the place
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Dear Rachel and Ally and all the lovely children. Thank you so much for your kind review. We loved having you here and I hope that your kids made some good summer memories to see them through their lives. The place was feeling empty when you all left. We hope you have settled back into life at your own busy Bed and Breakfast at Heatherdale in Skye, and hope that your time here wasn't too much of a busman's holiday for the shepherd and the landlady! See you all again soon. XX
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great wee find”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stumbled across this great wee place after needing some accommodation for a family wedding nearby. We decided to make a week of it and so glad we did. Heather and her family were the perfect hosts and Heather's attention to the little things made things all the more comfortable. We have had a fabulous week and will be booking again very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Marie and family, thank you so much for your great review. We are all glad that you had a great time here, and especially because you were having wedding times, which are always happy times. We would be so glad to see you all again the next time you are up visiting family. Hopefully the weather will cheer up a bit soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;