We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet location, beautiful views, friendly owners...”
other travellers have booked this property
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!. Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!.
Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
View of living area from kitchen
Oh I wish I knew how to upload photos!
Three wee birdies by the lamp in the double bedroom.
Chooks and hunky cockerel..scraps in...eggs out!
Garden and outside seating area - perfect to use the barbecue!
Standing stone overlooking Townhead Resevoir (known as The Damn or Banton Loch)
View over the Kelvin Valley from the farm.
Beautiful countryside views from all around the Bothy.
Swans and cygnets from the local Mill Pond.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ammiescot...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet location, beautiful views, friendly owners, fresh eggs for breakfast!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My partner and I booked the Bothy for a weekend stay, as we were attending a wedding at Glenskirlie Castle. We were welcomed by Heather on our arrival, and given a basket full of essential food and drink items which was much appreciated..

The Bothy is a perfect size for a couple or family as there are two good sized rooms. The location was perfect for a stroll to the lake and around the villiage. The locals were friendly and the special delivery of fresh eggs on the Saturday morning was perfect.

Excellent location if you want to go for a trip to Stirling, Falkirk, Edinburgh or Glasgow.

I have already recommended Stoury Bothy to others as I think it is an ideal getaway for a family holiday, or quiet spot for a couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked the views and peace and quiet
Liked least: That we hadn't booked the Bothy for longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
THank you so much for your great review. It is just 5 minutes from Glenskirlie Castle which is a very popular wedding location around here, but we are also 5 minutes from Colzium House and the Coachman in Kilsyth which also hold many functions. We are glad you enjoyed our hamper and eggs - the hens are laying well these days! We would love to see you or any of your friends back again. Heather x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat W
Lampertheim, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy bothy.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just returned from Scotland , where we spent a lovely week at Stoury Bothy.
It was beautifully decorated, with lots of homely touches, and we felt at home as soon as we arrived.
We really appreciated the welcome food pack. After a long drive, we did not want to go to a supper market first thing, and we had a delicious tea and breakfast before having to go out for provisions.
Heather was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay, and we can't help her enough.
The countryside around the bothy was lovely and it was very relaxing just being at the farm, after day trips to Glasgow and Edinburgh.
We also discovered great local places , such as the Colzium Estate and the canal path, which are great for little mountain bike trips.
It was excellent base to explore Glasgow and Edinburgh; but still be in the countryside.
We heartily recommend the Bothy to everyone, and a big thank you to Heather and her family for making us feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely cosy lounge with great country views.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
Very many thanks for your positive review. It is great to have people from all around the world realise that Banton is probably the heart of Scotland! We like to think that everyone who comes here can certainly escape into the nearby cities and towns, then come back into the country and enjoy life at a slower pace. Hopefully you managed a good bit of both and we would love to welcome you back anytime. Our welcome pack always goes down well, it's just nice for someone else to give you some naughty Scottish goodies that need eating! xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Hidden gem with access to all of Scotland!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I stayed at Stoury Bothy with my partner and had a superb time. Heather gave us such a warm welcome when we arrived and made us feel very special. The Bothy itself is beautiful. Cosy and wonderfully decorated - traditional with a modern twist. It had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. The location is ideal. We felt like we were getting away from the bustle of every day life yet had easy access to transport links across Scotland. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable visit!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2013
Thank you and we are so glad that you had a special time. It just goes to show that even outwith the Golf and the Commonwealth Games and the summer, Scotland is still a fabulous place to visit and enjoy the simple things in life, such as eating, walking and breathing in fresh air. My favourite is the eating!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Marvellous time, wonderful host, cosy bothy.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Decided to stay here since we wanted to visit both Edinburgh and Glasgow over the holiday weekend. We didn't expect it to be quite as cosy, comfortable and welcoming as it was. Close to a number of nice eating locations - recommend the Boat House. Easy transport into the centre of Glasgow, free parking at the train station which was 5 mins away. Coming home in the evening and enjoying the comforts of the bothy. Ace welcoming pack too, and extra bonus. Enjoyed the fresh eggs that were brought to us in the morning. We are definitely coming back, rather than staying in a hotel, whenever we visit Glasgow or Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
Thank you David for your kind words. We are so pleased you had happy times and would gladly welcome you back any time. We are a country retreat in the middle of Scotland’s 2 main cities..Glasgow and Edinburgh and also very near Falkirk and Stirling and Loch Lomond. Some of our adventurous travellers have also popped up to Loch Ness and Glencoe for the day! Not bad!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mccartney...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“The welcome and thoughtfulness made travelling with young children much easier!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Thanks to Heather for the warm welcome and providing everything we needed for our holiday! We stayed for nine days with a three year old and a three month old and by lending us everything from Moses Basket and baby sleeping bag to toys, Heather made our trip - not to mention packing - much easier!
Stoury Bothy provided us with a lovely cosy bolthole and we managed trips to Glasgow, Edinburgh, Perth and Oban using it as a base.
Definitely a cut above the average self-catering with a lovely welcome pack, fresh eggs and even slices of chocolate cake when one of her kids had a birthday - it all just made us feel so welcome and relaxed from the start.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
Thank you so much Christine for your lovely words. We are glad you had a good holiday. We are happy to help out when people have children to cater for...even if it just means saving a bit of car boot space by letting me provide the baby basics! We would love to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing