We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Amazing cottage"”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ochil Cottage

outside ochil cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
outside ochil cottage
entrance to Ochil cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
outside ochil cottage
entrance to Ochil cottage
side entrance to Ochil cottage
well equipped kitchen with stanley range with seating for 7
upstairs double bedroom
down stairs double  bedroom
large sitting room with plenty seating
entrance porch with seat
small sitting room with futon and french windows to decking
large sitting room
bathroom with shower over bath
kitchen with every thing you need to cook a lovely meal
kitchen
view from courtyard
Robert the Bruce Statue at the Rotunda in Bannockburn a short walk  from the cottage
Stirling Castle 15 mins from cottage
quiet corner to relax
The Wallace Monument as the sun goes down
Lochs and lakes in and around the Stirling area
The Bannock burn 5 mins walk from cottage - one of many beautiful country walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bannockburn, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dglgkg
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Amazing cottage"”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we are just back from an amazing weekend at this gorgeous cottage we couldn't have possibly asked for anything else there was 7 of us in total four adults and 3 kids and the dog there was more than enough room for everyone and a lovely outdoor area to and the owner Anne is lovely couldn't recommend this beautiful cottage enough absolutely amazing will Defo be back x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
so happy you all had a good time and are very welcome back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey F
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My extended family and I (6 adults and a toddler) had a very sunny weeks stay. The cottage is in a lovely quiet location (at the end of a lane) and was plenty big enough for us all (the toddler took the futon in the sun room). We had the downstairs bedroom and the bed was comfortable.
Since there is a bedroom and the bathroom is on the ground floor, the cottage would be suitable for holiday makers with mobility issues.
I especially liked that there were plenty of chairs to sit in the lounge and there was a good selection of kitchenware for cooking. There was even the option of an aga or electric hob/oven.
The heating was efficient and plenty of hot water and there was wifi access - however this was a little bit patchy depending on which room you were in.
The cottage was well situated for motorway access meaning Glasgow, Edinburgh, Perth etc were all under an hour away. Stirling is lovely.
We had a meal at Hendersons Bistro in Stirling which is an absolute must if you are visiting. There is also a golf club at the end of the lane and a Brewers Fayre a little bit further, both of which serve food.
All in all, enjoyable stay. Comfortable and clean cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
thank you for your review i am delighted you enjoyed your stay at ochil cottage
kind
regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan B
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfy cottage”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A deceptively roomy cottage. As it was a family get together we had 3 cars but there was no trouble parking even though it was a small lane. There were 6 adults and one child in our party, so the second lounge was turned into a bedroom for the little one. We also had to use it to get wifi.
The cottage was very clean and all the chairs were comfy, a big plus factor. The bedrooms were compact but because of the large wardrobes it wasn't a problem. Enough room in the kitchen for everyone to sit and loads of workspace if you wish to cook. Plenty of hot water all the time. The owner was very helpful.
A couple of minor minus points - the kitchen cupboards had food left by previous renters. It would have been better to clear these as we had no way of knowing how long the food had been there, and it would have been useful to have a list of what was recyclable and which bin it was supposed to go in! We did manage to sort it eventually!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
thank you for your review i will take into account the packets of food that were left and i will have instructions printed out about recycling and which bins to use
kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_G22014
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
“Ochil Cottage is a roomy comfortable place; we, five adults, felt like it was our home for the 14 days we were there.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our party of five related adults visited Scotland from the USA, We live in Colorado, Kansas, and Michigan. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Ochil Cottage for two weeks. Anne is a helpful but non-intrusive hostess. We enjoyed the feeling of "coming home" each evening after travelling to various sites in Scotland. We rented a car, but bus service is handy - just down the hill, and the train from Stirling is not far away. We went by train to Inverness and to Glasgow on the bus. Bannockburn is an interesting town to explore and the folks there are friendly and very helpful. Lian, in the coffee shop, even obtained a golfing tee time at Gleneagles for our son. We highly reccomend Ochil Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
i am so happy you all had such a nice time and hope you will come back again
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally-Ann...
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best linen, great small amounts of essentials, dog friendly. Cosy warm.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Travelled with my husband, his parents (in their 80's) a part time daughter (who has her own flat in Stirling) and our Chocolate Labrador.
Lovely and toasty warm (sub zero outside)
Good range of those basic bits you need on arrival, tea, coffee, sugar, hot chocolate, cooking oil, ketchup, salt, vinegar etc etc etc... and lots of loo rolls (we were caught out badly once when there were none..so this was lovely) .
Very comfortable chairs and settees, downstairs bedroom opposite bathroom for the OAP's was great.
Previous tenants had upset owner by creating a lot of mess/damage - which had obviously upset her - (and is just plain WRONG) but none of this was obvious other than a slightly eclectic range of crockery - which we liked anyway!
For us a brilliant location, and we mainly ate out anyway (father in law only fish and chips or a roast - the rest of us like some variety in life).
All good. Dog enjoyed his stay (and there are dog poo bins just 5 mins from the cottage) - he may however have wound up neighbouring dogs occasionally......
We would have liked a dishwasher rather than a washing machine but we are lazy!
The linen quality was incredibly good...really lovely crisp cotton sheets and duvet covers.
NB. Mainly fabulous goose/down/feather - so allergic folk need to take their own.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the warmth and the sheets
Liked least: Nothing - all good.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
thank you hope to see you back some day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing