We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ostler's Cottage

Our unique selling point: the lake. With island, summer house + rowing boat available all summer.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our unique selling point: the lake. With island, summer house + rowing boat available all summer.
In an afternoon or evening  the west-facing sun-trap patio and garden is an inviting place to relax. The bright + modern kitchen area is very well equipped with everything needed for your stay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Our unique selling point: the lake. With island, summer house + rowing boat available all summer.
In an afternoon or evening  the west-facing sun-trap patio and garden is an inviting place to relax.
The bright + modern kitchen area is very well equipped with everything needed for your stay.
The very comfortable lounge area looks out through the French doors onto the patio.
Fresh flowers and plants are always provided.
There's a selection of interesting and varied books to browse.
Looking out through the French doors to your private patio basking in the afternoon sun.
The elegant bedroom with king-sized bed has east-facing windows to catch the morning sun.
Your smart en-suite has underfloor heating, a bidet and a large modern shower.
This is your private parking space just beyond the patio and surrounded by flower beds.
The summer house by the lake. Described by a guest as 'a magical place'.
You're welcome to use the summer house for a meal by the lake, or to relax and read a book.
The seat by the lake. A wonderfully peaceful place to read a book or newspaper.
A woodland path wends its way around the lake, here seen in the winter sun.
In one corner of the lake there's a hide. If you're lucky, you might see a kingfisher.
A network of woodland paths twist and turn through of trees around the 18 acres.
The woodland path winds along the stream. Keep quiet and you might see deer in the shady glades.
You're welcome to walk round the huge gardens with far-reaching vistas and drifts of plants.
In the meadow, wild orchids appear every year; but you'll need to hunt them out.
Wildlife abounds. A peacock butterfly alights on a flower to drink the nectar.
In autumn, a majestic white stag stands in a field which forms part of the 18 acres.
Ostler's Cottage is very warm, modern and efficient—with 'Band A' energy performance.
Kerry and John, 2 of our guests, were married locally and used our garden for their photos.
The entrance to Lower Winsford Farm where you'll find Ostler's Cottage. Parking is straight ahead.
The frontage of Ostler's cottage looks out onto a delightful courtyard.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Beaworthy, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Raymond H
1 review
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage was lovely bright and very clean and had all the kit for a great stay from home. The bed was soft and cosy. The lake was very quite and great to walk around for some me time.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Thanks for the nice review, Ray. Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PnPV
Poole
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Idylic rural retreat.”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A week in this delightful hideaway just wasn't long enough! Its very well equipped, has an enormous and comfortable bed, a secluded courtyard garden and a lake for sailing my model boats with a skiff to recover them from the reeds! The friendly and helpful owners live next door but do not intrude on your privacy.
The location, midway between the north coast and Dartmoor, is convenient (20-25 mins to reach either) and Halwill Junction has a useful general store. There is a long and bumpy drive to reach the property but that only serves to create the seclusion, The silence is golden. There are several local walks within short drives of the cottage.
The only duty you will have during your stay is to close the garden gate in the evenings to stop the Deer eating the flowers! So we shall certainly be back, but for 2 weeks next time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thanks, Peter. Sounds like we did everything right for you. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz e
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A naturally beautiful holiday base”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage was a perfect location from which to visit several coastal spots & other inland places of interest, including some spectacular walks. It was the loveliest place to come back to and relax in, walk round the lake, have a stroll in the woods or just sit and read in the lovely courtyard garden. The quality of everything in the cottage was exceptional. The super kingsize bed was sooooooo comfortable. The owners are accessible, friendly and clearly committed to providing a memorable stay for the guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location & quality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your very generous comments. We do our best to ensure your stay is everything you would wish it to be. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful holiday”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Accommodation everything we wanted for a quiet peaceful holiday in an idyllic location gardens and grounds were excellent.

Good welcome with everything explained accommodation was spotless with all equipment one could wish for

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Thanks, Ian. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemmy13
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect country hideaway”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Myself, husband and 14 month old son have just arrived home from our first family holiday and thanks to Ann and John it was perfect. The cottage is situated off the beaten track and provides the perfect get away from the busier parts of Devon, but was a perfect base to explore the area.
The cottage itself was beautiful and it had every amenity we needed, even toys and cutlery for our son. Fresh flowers and lovely cake was an added bonus!
The lake was perfect and my husband enjoyed the rowing boat available.
John and Ann have created a perfect cottage and one we would love to come back to.
Thank you for a lovely week.
Jemma and Garry

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thanks very much, Jemma and Garry. We hope to see you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing