We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
194
74
24
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
194
74
24
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding oysters private beach dirt road the owner great place sand dunes walking trails hire car evening meal pure nature oyster catchers set meal in december longer stay picnic site his team
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2020

We loved our stay at Oyster Bay Lodge! Especially since it was also our venue for our wedding. Danielle and the team at Oyster Bay Lodge did an amazing job making sure that our wedding was perfect. The Food and Accommodation is top shelf! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a getaway near the see.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carlmeyer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2020

The staff, the rooms and the food are all fine. We felt very comfortable. But surprises and disappointments too...
The place is remote and dirt tracks are the only means of access. No problem but a bit disconcerting and unexpected.- it would have been good to have known
The beach is quite a walk and very exposed (windy). The sea is cold and dangerous - I expected to be able to swim - no way!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020

We were here for the second time now, and again it was just wonderful! This beach! This nature! This silence! Just overwhelming! The owner, Hans, has a really great team with excellent team spirit and a strong focus on customers. Also, the discussions with Hans when we by chance met him on the trails were very nice and informative. We will definitely come back ASAP.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank MichaKA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020 via mobile

We only had 2 nights here at the start of our SA trip but it was well worth the drive along a very bumpy gravel road. The food was tasty and well presented, the staff (especially Bonita and Zenze) were superb as was our chalet. The beach is just amazing. Our stay here was just what we needed to relax and recover from our 24 hrs travelling from the UK. Be sure to get directions before setting out as our hire car GPS took us on a very tortuous route! Thank you Oyster Bay Lodge for a fabulous start to our holiday.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RebeccaR705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OysterBayLodge, Manager at Oyster Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

Dear Rebecca,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and thank you for the kind words we are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay at our Coastal Reserve.
We are very fortunate to have such an amazing team and certainly blessed to have both Bonita and Zenze.

Thank you for choosing us as your very first stop in South Africa, and we hope that the rest of your trip has been wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020

Had a great few days at Oyster Bay lodge. Nice and quiet after the hustle and bustle of Jeffreys Bay. Glad we were in hire car for the drive to lodge as its a dirt road, but went slowly and no problems. The beach, sand dunes and surround are stunning. Sea is very strong and good for a paddle, but did not swim - rather went for dip in pool when we got back. Lots of bird life to look at and found a little tortoise walking round when we did one of the many walks! We got there early and stayed late to make the most of our time. Food was set meal and excellent. Will go again!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Socky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews