We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
2 Sutton Farm Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2 Sutton Farm Cottage
Kitchen Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
2 Sutton Farm Cottage
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Master bedroom
View from master bedroom window
Just as the sun goes down in the garden
Kitchen
Kitchen
Views to York Minster
Winter views from the lounge window
York Minster
Burnley Hall Gardens, Pocklington
Beverley Minster
Howden Minster
A summer evening at the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sutton on Derwent, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Danni M
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The reason for our trip to Yorkshire was because the family wanted to visit Flamingo Land Theme Park which was about an hour away from this property. I chose this particular property due to it's price, location and facilities.

All of the beds were very comfy, with lovely bedding and beautiful views from the bedroom windows - the only thing that let the bedrooms down were the light curtains (we are used to black out blinds and curtains at home with having a three year old it's easier to get him into bed on a Summer evening with these!) so we improvised in the twin room and put a blanket up at the window to make the room darker.

The family bathroom is located downstairs with an electric shower over the bath and shower curtain, unfortunately the shower wasn't powerful enough for me as I spent ages trying to get the shampoo out of my hair.

The living room is quite small with a two seat settee and two chairs - I couldn't get comfy in any of the seating in this room. The cottage has very good wifi so everyone could connect their mobile phones to go onto the internet (the mobile signal was very good too in the cottage).

The kitchen has a fridge, cooker and microwave but not much cutlery and crockery. I felt like I was permanently washing up due to the kids wanting snacks throughout the day, perhaps the owners could consider increasing these as for instance with regards to the cutlery there was only 5 of everything and the knifes weren't very good at cutting.

The cottage has a washing machine and a line outside for pegging your washing out. There is a standalone freezer located in the utility room for guests to use too.

The garden was big and enclosed (the kids enjoyed playing cricket and football on the lawn), we did originally book to bring our dog but decided against it due to the travelling to the cottage from our home being too much for him, I don't think he will have settled in the garden due to the neighbour having animals which could be seen through the fence (chickens, ducks, cockerel, turkey, dog and a parrot!)

I can confirm that Asda do deliver to the cottage - I edited the owners directions slightly (as they wouldn't all fit in the Asda description box) and they found the cottage with no problems. The village shops are difficult to find and are not always open so we were glad to have ordered the bulk of our shopping online. There are no cash machines in the villages so we travelled into Pocklington which is the next town which is about 30 minutes away, there is a supermarket, and petrol station there too.

We had a Chinese one night from Garden Chinese Restaurant which is in Pocklington - we had a set meal and this was delicious (I left a menu in the cottage for future visitors).

We visited the Yorkshire Air Museum which is about 15 minutes away by car - there is an entrance fee that is payable as you arrive in your car but this entitles you return entry many times throughout the year (I left my receipt and leaflet in the cottage for other people to use). We can definitely recommend the NAAFI very reasonable prices for delicious food and the gift shop had something for everyone's budget.

We also visited Scarborough one day and this was about and hour and a half away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfy beds
Liked least: uncomfy settee
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your personal experience at the cottage, your positivity as well as your constructive comments are most appreciated .

We consistently strive to deliver an excellent service that provides our guests with a positive experience that is value for money.

Just a foot note on your observations, I am unsure as to how it took 30 minutes to reach Pocklington Town, as it is just 6 miles from the cottage. There are however a few routes, so I assume you must have taken a long route. The village shops are just village shops!! and therefore do not open 24 hours. The shops do however like many other shops, give cash back when you spend £5.00 or more. I am sorry that the standard shower pressure, bedroom curtains and the comfort of the lounge chairs did not meet your personal requirements or needs. However I am heartened that other guests have not commented or verbalised the same personal concerns.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about you experiences.

Kind regards
John and Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in the perfect location”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a tranquil, rural cottage with walks from the door, this is the cottage for
you. Myself wife and dog stayed here for four days and we couldn't ask for more. The cottage
is very well equipped with a very comfy bed and a lovely garden to sit in, with views over open
fields and woodland. Close to all amenities with very good local pubs which serve excellent
food. The owner John and Lorraine left a welcome basket which was very much appreciated.
Will definitely recommend to friends and stay here again.
Thanks John and Lorraine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thank you for the lovely comments and recommendations. We are so pleased that you had a great stay. We are looking forward to you returning in the near future.
Kind regards
John and Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S
Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage, good location, close to local amenities”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage was just as described. Everything we needed for our week's stay. Very quiet rural location with excellent walking for us and the dogs. Garden was surprisingly large but unfortunately, the weather did not allow us to sit out and enjoy the views. Would definitely go back to this cottage for another visit as the area afforded lots of places to see. Nice touch by the owners with the welcome basket.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet rural location.
Liked least: Downstairs bathroom but not enough to put us off staying there again
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for you lovely comments, we would look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
John and Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marly K
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great time in this lovely cottage. The beds where super! Also we lovend the graden The cottage is also very central to visit the Moors, the beach, Castle Howard and York. To get a special feeling there is a wonderful present on arriving. We loved this cottage! From the kitchen you have a great view.

Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we really appreciate them
Kind regards
John and Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fantastic cottage. Stayed for a week with my husband, two sons and our dog. The weather wasn't very kind to us but staying in this beautiful cottage made up for it and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
Absolutely everything you could need was there. Just add your own clothes etc and it's just like home.
Very comfy beds. Would thoroughly recommend
Can't wait to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Thank you for your positive comments.
Kind regards
John and Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing