We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holly Cottage

Living/dining room - dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living/dining room - dining area
Holly Cottage front view Holly Cottage rear view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Living/dining room - dining area
Holly Cottage front view
Holly Cottage rear view
Master bedroom
Living/dining room - seating area
Kitchen
Rear courtyard
Village church
Village square
Village square
Thatched cottage in village
Village pub
Thatched cottage in village
Phone box opposite Holly Cottage
Thatched cottage in village
Village post office opposite Holly Cottage
village cross
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
West Coker, Yeovil, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
knappemil...
Bishop's Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely cottage right in the heart of West Coker. Well appointed cottage and really comfy beds. Lovely walks in the area and great pubs in the village. We had a lovely meal in the Inn on the Square and our dogs were welcomed into the pub too.
Parking is great, we had two large 4x4s and easily managed to fit them behind the house.
Thanks very much, Janet and Jean Pierre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Dear Emily,
Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad you found the beds comfortable & that you found the parking perfectly adequate for your two large 4x4's. You also left the cottage clean & tidy. We would be happy to welcome you back. Best wishes Janet & Jean- Pierre
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babesykin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage is in the village with parking at the back. It has comfortable bedrooms, lounge, dining area and well equipped kitchen. There are 2 pubs food & hospitality in The George was great and also in the Bistro on the corner (Fri/Sat only) The other pub was fully booked the night we wanted so must be good. There is a nice walk from the cottage to the nature reserve where you can see more of the village and East/North Coker all very quiet. You are within easy reach of Somerset and the West Dorset coast so plenty of options. Lyme Regis is difficult to park but the crab sandwiches are worth it! Also 5 minute drive is Ham Hill country park which has great views & walks and a pub with country food.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
thank you for your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday the cottage, the village and the area. We love it too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just needs updating”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Could be a lovely cottage but basic needs updating. Everything you need is included but one of the matteress was very lumpy. It states parking big enough for 2 family cars but I wouldn't agree. We enjoyed our stay it was good enough for what we needed and we would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
After a lot of logistical problems , we have eventually managed to replace the mattress today with a lovely new one.
We still would like to say that we have often had 2 cars, our own & our sons family cars parked one behind the other in our parking space. However our kind neighbour has offered her parking space. Although permission should always be requested
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDJ van H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Slightly dated cottage in smal village”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Expectations as for comfort were a bit higher. The bathroom is tight , heater outside is on oil which you could smell occasionally. Kitchen is ok, microwave broke down but replacement was quickly offered by the owners. Livingroom was cosy and comfortable although the tv signal was weak. Unfortunately there was no wifi and the internet in West Coker was very poor and often interrupted. The local pub "Inn the square" though had good wifi, good food and a good atmosphere.
Finally, the matras in bedroom 2 seems ready for replacement. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay very much, West Coker is well placed for exploring Dorset.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thank you for your tip of a good WiFi reception & internet in the local pub "Inn the square". We agree, they certainly have good food & we too enjoy the atmosphere there. It's also only on the on the other side of the square. We will pass it on to future guests.
You say you found the bathroom a little small but we hope you enjoyed the big double shower.
The mattress in the second bedroom will be replaced as soon as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sljames10
1 review
“Not quite what we expected!”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Cottage was tidy (not really clean in the corners), and the beds were freshly made but I suppose I had a bit higher expectation of some modern amenities. It was cold the night we arrived but noone had been by to turn the heat on, so it took some time to warm up. The stove's elements were all rusty and the inside of the microwave with quite dirty. The carpet up the stairs and in the bedrooms was worn and very hard to clean. We were asked to clean before we left (but weren't told this until a few days before our arrival) and the vacuum provided (a Dyson) would not pick up anything from the carpets. It was damp inside the cottage so even with the heat turned up, clothes took 2 days to dry. We ended up taking our clothes to the Laundrette. There was no basic television reception, or wifi offered (not even for a fee) and since we were from overseas, our DVD's didn't work in the player provided - I feel this should have been mentioned in the listing as it's now standard that you have TV and wifi available - at least that is my understanding. We payed extra to have cell reception on our phone in England, however, there wasn't great reception in the cottage so we had to walk up the hill if we wanted to contact any of our family. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and the Village was lovely, but as the owners are in France, perhaps there needs to be some additional supervision locally to provide more attention to detail.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Dear Sonia, Stuart and family

We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in the cottage. It's a shame you didn't read the description and amenities offered fully, as we have never professed to offer WiFi .Only that it is a Fon Hot spot.
It's a shame you didn't let us know the TV wasn't working, as we could have got someone around to fix it. This is included in your payment.
We have always believed that communication between us and our guests is very important and we rarely have any problems on that score.
Guests can always text us on their mobile and we will get back to them as soon as possible.
We were very disappointed in your very harsh criticism of what is a lovely cosy cottage. It was not quite what we expected ! We spend most winters there, so we know it isn't cold and damp.
If you had a lot of wet washing hanging in the house without it being aired, it certainly couldn't have been pleasant.
On a happier note, our caretaker said she was pleasantly surprised how clean and tidy you had left the cottage when she arrived to collect laundry and make the beds.

Janet & J-Pierre
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing