We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holly Cottage

Living/dining room - dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living/dining room - dining area
Holly Cottage front view Holly Cottage rear view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Living/dining room - dining area
Holly Cottage front view
Holly Cottage rear view
Master bedroom
Living/dining room - seating area
Kitchen
Rear courtyard
Village church
Village square
Village square
Thatched cottage in village
Village pub
Thatched cottage in village
Phone box opposite Holly Cottage
Thatched cottage in village
Village post office opposite Holly Cottage
village cross
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
West Coker, Yeovil, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
sljames10
1 review
“Not quite what we expected!”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Cottage was tidy (not really clean in the corners), and the beds were freshly made but I suppose I had a bit higher expectation of some modern amenities. It was cold the night we arrived but noone had been by to turn the heat on, so it took some time to warm up. The stove's elements were all rusty and the inside of the microwave with quite dirty. The carpet up the stairs and in the bedrooms was worn and very hard to clean. We were asked to clean before we left (but weren't told this until a few days before our arrival) and the vacuum provided (a Dyson) would not pick up anything from the carpets. It was damp inside the cottage so even with the heat turned up, clothes took 2 days to dry. We ended up taking our clothes to the Laundrette. There was no basic television reception, or wifi offered (not even for a fee) and since we were from overseas, our DVD's didn't work in the player provided - I feel this should have been mentioned in the listing as it's now standard that you have TV and wifi available - at least that is my understanding. We payed extra to have cell reception on our phone in England, however, there wasn't great reception in the cottage so we had to walk up the hill if we wanted to contact any of our family. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and the Village was lovely, but as the owners are in France, perhaps there needs to be some additional supervision locally to provide more attention to detail.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Dear Sonia, Stuart and family

We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in the cottage. It's a shame you didn't read the description and amenities offered fully, as we have never professed to offer WiFi .Only that it is a Fon Hot spot.
It's a shame you didn't let us know the TV wasn't working, as we could have got someone around to fix it. This is included in your payment.
We have always believed that communication between us and our guests is very important and we rarely have any problems on that score.
Guests can always text us on their mobile and we will get back to them as soon as possible.
We were very disappointed in your very harsh criticism of what is a lovely cosy cottage. It was not quite what we expected ! We spend most winters there, so we know it isn't cold and damp.
If you had a lot of wet washing hanging in the house without it being aired, it certainly couldn't have been pleasant.
On a happier note, our caretaker said she was pleasantly surprised how clean and tidy you had left the cottage when she arrived to collect laundry and make the beds.

Janet & J-Pierre
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina u
1 review
“comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Well equipped comfortable cottage in the heart of the pretty village which has good facilities, but very narrow roads. Access to the small car parking area is very restricted and only space for 1 family car. Yeovil is close by with good shopping, and Holly Cottage is a good base to explore the local area. Walking in on a cold evening to a centrally heated warm cottage was much appreciated.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
We are so glad you liked the cottage & the surrounding areas and that you had a good holiday. We must dissagree about the car parking spaces. We have often had 2 family cars in there at the same time. Admittidly it's tight but as parking spaces in the village are like gold dust a bit of manoeuvring is worth it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FellowTra...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smart Stay in small village in the heart of SouthWest England”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

2 Upstair Bedrooms, living room, kitchen and a small bathroom with a large and nice shower and courtyard where you can sit. The house is fully and lovingly equiped and it is nice to stay there. In the village of West Cocker is a pub just over the street and in Yeovil within 2miles is a large Tesco supermarket store. Not far away is Montacute House and within 1 or 2 hour drives many sights can be reached easily by car as beaches at Jurassic Coast or near Exmoor, Estate garden and houses, Bristol, Stonehenge, Exmoor, Portsmouth and many more. In the house you will find books and some DVDs for relaxing or raining times.
Only a few things we found were not perfect: The bedroom floors were not clean and kitchen stuff which was not used longer. We could clean both and it was no problem. The warm water is made with oil. This smells sometimes a little bit in the kitchen and in the courtyard (not too much). And at last: maybe we have not found but a tablecloth for the courtyard would be nice.
We want to say thank you to Janet and Jean-Pierre who helped fast and friendly for any question we had and we enjoyed our stay very much. No question, if we will stay in future times in the area we would stay there again and we recommend Holly Cottage absolutely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Holly Cottage & that you managed to get to visit so many of the interesting places around this beautiful corner of Britain.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula3292
Stockton on the Forest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed in this lovely cottage whilst visiting family for three days, there is everything you need for your stay, its was very clean and tidy and honestly couldn't find fault with the cottage, the village is very quiet and the owners couldn't of been nicer. I would certainly stay again and would recommend this cottage to anyone, much better than staying in a hotel. Thanks again Janet & Jean- Pierre we thoroughly enjoyed our stay Paula :) x

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Thankyou for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grainne25
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great value. Comfy house. Responsive and helpful owners.”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed our stay in Holly Cottage. It's true what other reviewers have said about it being a bit dated but we didn't really mind. The house was clean when we arrived and all set up. The kitchen had everything we needed and we liked the big shower in the bathroom. We had a few queries on arrival; the owners phoned and things were sorted out right away.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thankyou for your review .It was obviously the right thing to change caretaker as now we can be confident the cottage is in good hands. Nevertheless if there are any problems or queries Guests should contact us as soon as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing