We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
US$405
View deal
Booking.com
StayForLong
Agoda.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
166
29
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
166
29
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue zebra lake malawi infinity pool get away the managers sunset cruise few days delicious food fish eagles beautiful place private beach no problem luxury tents in advance overlooking the lake stayed longer fish tacos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2019 via mobile

I absolutely loved it! Didn't want to go back to reality, they have an AMAZING sauce that accompanies the tacos and chips! Absolutely divine! Worth a visit for sure, the ambience and the cocktails. I think it's called "the otter". I will be visiting again and this time stay a night or two.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank trouvaillemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue-Zebra-Island, Manager at Blue Zebra Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2019

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Too short a visit but we hope you will be back :) We have launched TACO SUNDAYS for February and March. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

I was here on a family trip and I must say, it was an incredible week. The snorkeling is mesmerising, the water sports so much fun, the food phenomenal and the staff were particularly wonderful. I couldn’t believe how friendly and accommodating every one was. 10/10 recommend this place to all. A great family get away or romantic location. Would be great for a honeymoon as many of the lodges are secluded and private.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue-Zebra-Island, Manager at Blue Zebra Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2018

Thank you so much for the best review Emily! Your group were such a pleasure to host, getting involved in every aspect of our island life and making the most of all that Lake Malawi has to offer! Best suited to adventurous travelers like yourselves. We hope you'll make it back someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Blue Zebra for two nights and didn’t want to leave! From the moment we arrived we felt completely relaxed and comfortable. The island is beautiful and the nature trails, bird life and set up make it the ultimate place to wind down. The range of activities on offer and variety of places to explore mean you can keep yourself busy if you please. The staff couldn’t be more accommodating and manage to balance both tending to your needs whilst leaving you in privacy perfectly. The accommodation is again a great balance between luxury and being at one with nature. Everything was clean, comfortable and luxurious yet suited the island vibe as it was non invasive and built with an eco- friendly mindset. The mangers Jen and Duncan we’re extremely welcoming, knowledgeable and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble and you can see they have a wonderful passion for their work which was evident in how smoothly everything runs at Blue Zebra and the smiles on the faces of all the guests. The food could have a review of its own! You would have no idea we’re on a island with limited resources with the standard of dining at Blue Zebra- the food was impeccable and nothing we ate was less than delicious! The restaurant again was beautiful, clean, luxurious and yet very relaxed and comfortable. Would highly recommend Blue Zebra. Perfect getaway!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zrelli92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue-Zebra-Island, Manager at Blue Zebra Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you so much for your incredible review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Blue Zebra and hope you'll be back again soon when you're ready for your next relaxing getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We came to Blue Zebra Island Lodge to chill and relax following 9 days safaris in neighbouring Zambia and it fitted the bill perfectly. We stayed 6 days in one of the luxury tents which was very spacious and comfortable with a fine view from its private decking over a small beach onto the lake. On our arrival we were greeted by the manager Kenny and given refreshing drinks while he ran through a few details; a couple of days later Jen and Duncan returned to the island and took over - we found all three to be so very friendly and helpful, as were all the staff we encountered. There is a well marked and maintained trail around the island (and another over the top) which takes less than one hour to walk - we chose to walk it every day before breakfast before it became too hot. Alternatively you can kayak around the island in a similar time, and we also kayaked 50-100 metres to nearby rocks for some easy snorkelling (calm, fresh water, no currents) to see the cichlid fish. We used to cool down in the pool that was always kept clean, and aside from the loungers around the pool there are a couple of hammocks and 3 other shady, communal lounge areas overlooking the lake + a well-stocked poolside bar that is always manned. The very pleasant gardens were always watered and kept tidy and great for a little bird-watching if that is your thing, and why not spend time trying to find the chameleon in its favourite shrub or watch the busy weaver birds building their nests (September) as the sun sets! We had such a peaceful, easy, enjoyable and relaxing week interspersed with a little exercise to work off some of the calories from the outstanding food that was served!
We had to wade calf deep in the water to get on and off the boat at the mainland but we were expecting that and it was no problem for us, though we did wonder why a small, wooden jetty couldn't be built. Similarly, we knew beforehand that electricity to the tents was restricted, and again that was no problem, particularly as you could always charge batteries/gadgets at the bar or restaurant during any downtime in the tents, but we thought it would be nice to have electric fans in the tents for which an uninterrupted electricity supply would of course be beneficial.
These are suggestions for minor improvement rather than criticisms - we were aware of both points before we booked.
BZIL is a wonderful haven to unwind and relax.

Room tip: Luxury tents have best lake views, standard tents are fine, terrace tents are functional
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Erika_Trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue-Zebra-Island, Manager at Blue Zebra Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you so much for this wonderful review Erika & Trevor! You were such a delight to host. You definitely experienced the island to the fullest, ensuring all trails and activities were covered.

Definitely great suggestions which have come up before. Unfortunately we're unable to build a jetty for various reasons but largely due to the lake conditions on the mainland - we've been looking into various options with out much headway yet. However, the electricity is one we're currently dealing with.. we do now have fans for rooms which run on the generator, but we are trialing various solar systems for the lights and fans to be powered throughout the night. It's a step by step process but underway :)

We hope you will be back someday and thank you for your feedback, much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

This is wonderful vacation location. The accommodations are beautiful, the staff is very helpful and knowledgable and the food was amazing. The chef, Hueston, came to our table after every meal before feedback. His beef steak literally melted in our mouths.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank opelgal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue-Zebra-Island, Manager at Blue Zebra Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, and such a lovely one at that! We hope you will make it back someday :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews