We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ca Malvasia

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Entrance
Street
Street
Street
Street
Street
Street
Street
Street
Make yourself comfortable in the living room with old beams on the ceiling..
The comfortable bedroom..
The bathroom where you may have a warm bath in Winter or a cool shower in Summer time..
The kitchenette fully equipped....
Enjoy your fresh fish meal combined with a delicious flavour of prosecco white wine..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
alice694
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a great time at this apartment. The host is really nice and flexible with our arrival time, she wasn't around when we arrived but she gave us instructions in how to access, communication was excellent. The apartment in a great location, very convenient for first time travelers to Venice. Many attractions are at a walking distance and transportation is easy from and to the place, It doesn't get more central than this. The bed is very comfortable and you have anything you might need for your stay; small kitchen, fridge, utensils, TV, internet. I highly recommend this place and the host, I would stay here again without doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Dear Guest,

What a great pleasure to Have the chance to welcome you in our apartment, you Were such nice and we are glad to realize you have had nice time in Venice feeling comfortable in the apartment like being home.
Please remember you will be always welcome anytime.
Look FORWARD to Welcoming you again in yr future stay.

With our kindest regards,
Pietro and Daniela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78ljm
Thoiry, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect location in the heart of Venice”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I have just returned from a short break in Venice with my three children. We expected to be rather crowded in the apartment, but it was spacious (actual sleeping space for 6) and equipped with everything that you might conceivably need on holiday.
Communication by email and text with Daniela was prompt, clear and in impeccable English. She arranged for her husband to meet us from the waterbus and accompany us to the apartment.
The location was perfect - just a few metres from the hospital, which meant that is was fairly easy to find our way back - and a short walk from the busy touristic sites. It was only when we visited the busier tourist sites that we appreciated the tranquillity and authenticity of the area we were staying in - central but away from the hustle and bustle.
We'd love to go back to Venice one day, and would go back to this apartment without any hesitation.
Many many thanks for a wonderful stay in your beautiful city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to hear you enjoyed everything in Venice, the city it self and our apartment which is Very important to US. If our guests are happy we are satisfied and happy with them so THANK you vèry much indeed for telling US, we Are glad to have contributed to make yr stay very pleasant.
Please do not hesitate to contact US during yr next visit to Venice.
With our best regards,
Pietro and Daniela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salymonkh...
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What went wrong??”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Sadly we have to leave an entirely negative review for this apartment and our experience with the owners.
We stayed in the same apartment in January 2014 and had such a lovely time that in August 2015 we booked it again for a long weekend from 31st December to 4th January. The booking was confirmed and the deposit paid.
On the 30th December (less than 24 hours before our arrival in Venice) we received an email from Daniela stating that during renovation works to the apartment above (our apartment was on the ground floor) a pipe had been fractured and flooded our apartment, making it unusable. An alternative, luxury, apartment was offered near the Rialto Bridge. With so little time to find anything else, we agreed to take the Rialto apartment.
On meeting Daniela’s husband we were unhappy to find that the apartment was on one of Venice’s busiest campos, thronging with tourists day and night, and noisy in spite of being at the top of a tall building. We had booked a ground floor apartment in the Cannaregio district, which was in a VERY quiet location, with few Venetians and almost no tourists! There was also no prior warning that eight flights of stairs needed to be climbed to get to the apartment – fine for us as we are perfectly fit, but could have been a real problem to anyone less able.
We could have lived with the stairs and the busy area if the apartment had been lovely. Although Daniela had warned us that it was not finished, the reality was a cold, unpleasantly musty and badly designed apartment with very basic poor quality equipment, uncomfortable bed, exposed wiring and bare light bulbs. The ‘sitting’ room contained only a large uncomfortable sofa bed, a standard lamp, and a TV on the floor. Apart from a thin net in the bedroom there were no curtains, soft furnishings or wall decorations in the whole apartment.
As we were not happy with the apartment, Pietro suggested, and took us to see, two alternatives in the Cannaregio area, neither of which were available until the Saturday, which meant two nights in the Rialto apartment. After one very uncomfortable night we decided to move to a hotel, which we spent the following morning and considerable extra money finding.
That afternoon, whilst walking in the Cannaregio we went to look at the apartment we had originally booked and were very surprised and confused to find that the whole block was boarded up and scaffolded and had obviously been the subject of building works for some time. Only the front door to the apartment was visible, with a letterbox stuffed with old mail.
A lengthy email correspondence, with supporting photographs, followed with Daniela, after which the implication was that had it not been for the flood, we would have been able to stay in the apartment. She seemed unable to accept the fact that it was obviously not habitable and had not been for some time.
On request, we were refunded our original deposit but we remain amazed that we were only informed of the problem less than 24 hours before our arrival and no apology or proper explanation was ever forthcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2016
We are upset to read this review since we are used to receive wonderful feedback from our guests considering we always look after our apartment with so much love and care and also we always provide to our guests a constant, excellent customer assistance ahead and during their stay, as the previous comments of our guests say.
Unfortunately this time, despite our efforts, it was hard to make our guests content and definitely the inconvenience happened shortly before their arrival has not contributed positively. Anyhow, as soon as we realize that the apartment originally booked from them, which is not Ca Malvasia (this is one of the false information our guests wrote) was not available, owing to a break caused from our upstairs neighbors, we have informed our guests accordingly, we explained the matter carefully and offered a very nice and comfortable apartment, specifying it wasn t finished in the details only, at Rialto, the heart of Venice, few steps away from the famous Rialto bridge situated on the fourth (not eighth), top floor of an ancient, prestigious building with a very pleasant Venetian view overlooking the roofs and Saint Mark s bell. We haven t mentioned the floor since the unfortunate event happened suddenly and, whilst trying to explain everything, we skipped this particular aware that our guests, who had already stayed in our apartment, are fit and youthful so it shouldn't have been a problem for them.
The apartment is very comfortable and warm for two (not cold, not musty at all) and equipped with everything needful during our guests stay. It has been completely restored very recently with care, modern design, quality furniture ( not poor at all) and the windows are fitted with double-glazing unit even the apartment is quiet being at the top floor. Obviously, during New Year s Eve you will find confusion and fireworks everywhere even in the most quiet corner of Venice.
Except for some missing details inside the apartment upon our guests arrival (for those we had informed our guests in the first place) such as decorations on the wall, some Venetian chandeliers and some curtains which were not essential since top floor so nobody look inside and at top floor there is a wonderful light too, the apartment is really gracious and cozy.
In order to show our good faith we didn t ask any money for the night our guests have slept there and we also have bought an expensive bottle of wine to welcome them as we always do. Furthermore, when they decided to go and sleep in an hotel in the area originally booked, Cannaregio, we have immediately sent the refunding so basically they didn t spend a penny even they slept one night there and the apartment was hold for them while the day before their arrival, we did receive a request for one week stay at Rialto apartment and we refused the booking since we thought it was a very kind action to offer to our guests that apartment considering the unexpected circumstances.
In reply to their unpleasant emails, in which they asserted lots of false information about our apartment in Rialto and accused us of not being sincere, we always have been kindly and explained everything carefully with patience.
We did apologize for the inconvenience happened such in a short notice ahead their arrival and beyond our control and explained that the apartment Originally booked has been entirely restored owing to a fire on the top floor near our building and the board they saw walking by would have been taken away soon. It is obvious that our guests didn t accept to be moved to Rialto and wanted to be difficult with us also owing to the fact that they didn t like the area proposed.
We did our best to make our guests satisfied and happy same as we always do, we really did but unfortunately this time we failed. Luckly we do have many guests who always return with a smile on their face and a sure kind understanding in case of any inconvenience may occur suddenly and independently from our control. For this unhappy guests I wish to repeat something I wrote as last correspondence when I understood that it was pointless to carry on with them being kind and giving explanations in the details....
' I wish you will never find yourself in our situation, in that case I would be happy to judge your behaviour myself'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_lora
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in Ca'Malvasia. The location was great as we walked everywhere around Venice and even though we seemed to be in the middle of the busiest tourist time , it was easy just to get home to the apartment and relax.
Unfortunately we had some trouble with the air conditioning , which made it a little uncomfortable at night as we had some very hot days,.but Daniella had it fixed with in a couple of days

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The drip filter coffee machine
Liked least: the airconditioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel N
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in Venice”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment has everything that anyone can ask for, location, beautifully appointed and great hosts. Daniela was great in handling our reservations. Pietro was right on time for our appointment. He made sure to show us all the amienities that came with the apartment. He also gave us great tips as to the hidden gems for lunches and dinners. Very close to coop which is great to buy supplies for our stay.
Will definitely come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing