We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect base for a perfect holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ca'Biennale

Ca'Biennale - Main room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ca'Biennale - Main room
The Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Ca'Biennale - Main room
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Living Room
Dining Room
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Main room
The Master Bedroom
Main room - another view
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
Living Room
Street
Hallways
Living Room
The main room - another view
Living Room
Dining Room
Street
Bathroom
Dining Room
Entrance
Dining Room
Dining Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallways
Entrance
The Master Bedroom
Street
Bathroom
Kitchen
Hallways
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Dining Room
Living Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Hallways
Dining Room
Dining Room
Entrance
Hallways
Street
The room - another view
Street
Kitchen, well equipped: plates, glasses, cutlery, pans, kettle, basic necessities
The hidden side of Venice
Ca'Biennale is 3 minutes, from Giardini vaporetto stop, no bridges to get home!
Arsenale is at 10 min.
Surroundings of Castello district: to breathe the taste of venician life.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
John A
Somerset, England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“The perfect base for a perfect holiday”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
5
people found this review helpful

However many times my wife and I visit Venice - and it's more than 30 times now - there is always something new to see, something fresh to do, and someone different to meet. And apartment ca'Biennale in Castello provides the perfect base to do it all. It is less than 15 minutes walk from the splendour of St Mark's Square; the evocative and historic Arsenale; the fascinating maritime museum; the peaceful island of St Elena where there are some lovely, quite walks far from the madding crowd; and vaparetto stops which take you farther afield.
This was our ninth stay in the apartment (the one just off Paludo del Antonio - not to be confused with another holiday let that has recently assumed the same name) and already we are planning stay number ten later this year. We always book directly with the apartment owner which Is very easy and cuts out unnecessary agents with their extra costs and inflexible attitude go changing plans. (See the apartment web site www.cabiennale.altervista.org)
The apartment is spacious enough for the two of us and extremely comfortable. Each time we walk through the front door it is like returning home.
The bed is firm rather than hard which Is just what I like to rest and support aching limbs at the end of a hard day sightseeing. The kitchen is very well equipped with every pot, pan and utensil you could possibly want. The bathroom is satisfyingly large though being at the back of the building it is quite dark but the electric lights are more than adequate for all that needs to be done (showering, shaving etc).
The WiFi connection, a slight problem in the past, has been greatly improved and Is now both reliable and fast so that even the busiest can check their emails in moments. The television only shows Italian programmes - but who wants to waste time watching television whilst on holiday?
As you might expect in January Venice on this visit was quite cold despite the sun which shone most days but the apartment has an excellent heating system which soon had us warm and cosy.
Nearby in Via Garibaldi are two good supermarkets, greengrocers, butchers and a range of other shops. And when you tire of cooking and want to give yourself a treat Via Garibaldi has a number of good snack bars and restaurants which range in price from reasonably cheap to fairly expensive (though not as frighteningly expensive as some of the establishments near St Mark's. )
The owner Beatrice is a charming, intelligent, thoughtful, considerate and helpful host. She always listens to her guests' suggestions and then does her best to meet their needs with understanding and patience.
Beatrice speaks excellent English so it is not only easy but a real pleasure to converse with her. She is a fount of knowledge about the city and Is more than willing to provide ideas to enhance your holiday if asked.
Apartment ca'Biennale is excellent value for money and I recommend it without reservation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort if the apartment and the location
Liked least: I couldn't have my cat with me!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieGuel...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An adequate but not very comfortable apartment”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at C'Biennale for5 nights in September 2014. It was our least favourite of the 6 apartments we stayed in in Italy.
Pros: 1. Location: Ca'Biennale is located a 15 - 20 minute walk away from the noise and crowds around St. Mark's. We enjoyed the walk along the Grand Canal and living in a quiet neighbourhood where Venetians live, adjacent to a large and beautiful park. 2. Workable kitchen and spacious bathroom. 3. Information provided by owner Beatrice and her rapid response when we had trouble with the internet.
Cons: 1. The apartment is at street level and is extremely dark, with inadequate lighting. The drapes are dark brown and the only way to have privacy from people walking by the windows was to close them. The lights over the bathroom sink were broken, making the room dim for shaving, etc.
2. A general sense of barrenness and lack of comfort. There was no welcoming bowl of fruit or bottle of wine as we experienced at other apartments in Italy, few staples (pepper, olive oil, garbage bags,etc), burned out light bulbs, very uncomfortable armchairs with lighting too inadequate to use for reading, no waste basket in the bathroom and the only waste container in the apartment was under the kitchen sink, without even a plastic bag in it. We were requested to separate our recyclables, but there was no container to put them in. Before we could throw anything out, we had to go to the grocery store to buy bags.
3. The bed is extremely hard! after one night of sleeping on it, I awoke with back and joint pain and had to resort to folding quilts to put under me for the rest of our stay.
4. Internet. When we took the internet connection (Wind) out with us, it worked extremely well. But it was both weak and unreliable in the apartment, even when we place the Wind device in the window.
5. We were sorry not to ever meet Beatrice as she was recovering from surgery and unable to get to the apartment. Some of the neglect we encountered probably resulted from her inability to be present to ensure that things were up to par.
6. Inability to cancel one night of our reservation. When, more than a month before our arrival, we learned we would have to shorten our stay by one night, Beatrice was very flexible but the booking agent was not. Hence, we ended up paying for one night more than we used.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location next to a beautiful park
Liked least: Lack of light in the apartment and hard bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Somerset, England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“A place to stay with real Venetians”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
6
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have stayed in Venice many times over the years and have seen it in torrential rain and blazing sunshine, snow and ice, crowded with tourists and nearly empty of visitors.
But whatever the weather or the crowds the ca'Biennale apartment in the Castello district is the perfect place to stay. This was our 8th stay in the apartment in five years and the neighbours are beginning to recognise us so that we really feel at home.
The apartment is only about 10 minutes walk from St Mark's Square yet it is in an area largely devoid of tourists (other than those visiting the Biennale - art or architecture in alternate years) and inhabited by real local people. Living there is fun, shopping with the locals in the vast array of small shops and supermarkets in nearby Via Garibaldi is an experience that is well worth having.
All the tourist spots are within easy reach of the apartment (Venice is a small city) and if you are tired of walking the vaporetto stop is only a few steps away.
The apartment itself is homely and comfortable, with a very well equipped kitchen, a large comfortable bed, heating for the winter and air conditioning for the summer, WiFi access, and a television (but only with Italian programmes - but then who wants to watch television on holiday?)
Venice is an expensive city but the apartment ca'Biennale is very good value for money. It is run by Bea, a delightfully charming and helpful Italian lady who speaks excellent English. It's not that easy to find (we know our way so had no problem) but arrangements are made for guests to be met and let in.
We will certainly go there again - and as soon as possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location -
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Somerset, England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“At home in Venice”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
11
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have just enjoyed our seventh visit to Ca'Biennale and once again have been delighted with the comfort of our stay. We are beginning to feel really at home when we go through the door of the apartment in the Castello district.
The owner, Beatrice, could not be a better host. She is attentive without being intrusive, and friendly without being overbearing. She takes a real interest in the lives of her guests and is constantly looking for ways to make them feel more at home and at ease. The latest welcome addition to the facilities of the apartment is a microwave to make home catering easier.
Staying in Venice can be expensive but this apartment is excellent value for money and shopping at the local supermarkets and cooking in the well appointed and equipped kitchen instead of eating out every night makes it very affordable.
We stayed in June when it was very hot but the air conditioning is effective and ensures comfort.
I was even able to keep up with my emails during our stay as the apartment's wifi connection us good, strong and fast.
I have reviewed the apartment several times before and am running out of superlative! This really is a great place to stay. It is quiet but within a quarter of an hour's walk of St Mark's Square (younger visitors could make the walk in less time!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo S
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy house and perfect location”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I traveled with my wife and my 23 months old son. We love the house, facilities are clean and everything works perfectly. The location is a very best alternative for staying outside "San Marco" area. Castello and Biennale are certainly not bad at all. Perfect location to avoid the busy and crowd San Marco. The full address need to be mentioned in the website, because the location is labeled wrongly in the websites' map. Its Calle Pedrocchi 1606.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$149
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing