We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LDB1977
Zurich, Switzerland

Fantastic Experience

Review of Camissa House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jun 2024
A very unusual and unique experience in Cape Town. Staying at Camissa house feels like staying at the house of a (wealthy) friend. The staff are extremely friendly and respectful. A driver was offered to transfer me to and from Dinner anywhere in the city. From Camissa house it is possible to take a leisurely hike on a marked trail to the bottom of the Table Mountain Aerial Cableway (about 35 mins). The hike affords splendid views of Cape Town.
Date of stay: June 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camissa House Manager, General Manager at Camissa House, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Loren B

Greetings from Camissa House!

We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. Providing attentive and welcoming service to our guests is what we strive for and we're delighted that our team exceeded your expectations in this regard. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to Camissa House.

Best regards

Camissa House team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 080
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 3 080
  • Vio.com
    R 3 071
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 080
1.9 km from Camissa House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 639
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 801
  • Priceline
    R 3 862
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 800
3.8 km from Camissa House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 583
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 480
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 489
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 478
2.5 km from Camissa House
Free Wifi
Pool
R 4 802
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 407
  • Vio.com
    R 4 113
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 404
3.2 km from Camissa House
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 779
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 764
  • Vio.com
    R 1 479
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 763
3.8 km from Camissa House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 305
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 963
  • Vio.com
    R 1 739
  • StayForLong
    R 1 808
16.4 km from Camissa House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mojo Hotel
R 931
  • StayForLong
    R 858
  • Agoda.com
    R 631
  • Expedia.com
    R 762
4.3 km from Camissa House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 730
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 553
  • Vio.com
    R 1 401
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 552
8.6 km from Camissa House
Free parking
Pool
R 7 278
  • Booking.com
    R 7 278
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 6 713
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 294
5.3 km from Camissa House
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cape Town
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
122
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea boutique hotel table mountain butler service house manager terrace room luxury experience house drinks views over cape town sweet treats sister property great boutique uber ride residential area exceptional staff spent nights nearby restaurants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2024

Our stay at the Camissa House was five-stars all around!
Tumi and Faseegh took our trip to the next level with their service, and the staff went above and beyond catering for my gluten allergy at all meals. We would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sschucker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camissa House Manager, General Manager at Camissa House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sschucker4

Greetings from Camissa House!

We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. Providing attentive and welcoming service to our guests is what we strive for and we're delighted that our team exceeded your expectations in this regard. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your specially prepared gluten free items. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to Camissa House.

Kind Regards

Camissa House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2024

We stayed the first 4 nights of our 2 week trip at Camissa House that later included wine country, Victoria Falls, and safaris. The staff was so welcoming, friendly and helpful! Breakfast was made to order and delicious. Staff gave great advice for local restaurants.

Room tip: The hotel is in a very nice neighborhood up a hill and not really in walking distance to commercial areas. But Uber is fast and cheap.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillH141
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camissa House Manager, General Manager at Camissa House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear BillH141

Greetings from Camissa House!

We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Providing attentive and welcoming service to our guests is what we strive for and we're delighted that our team exceeded your expectations in this regard, as well as with our breakfasts. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to Camissa House.

Kind Regards

Camissa House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2024

FANTASTIC! I can't say enough wonderful things about the friendliness of the staff at Camissa House! From the first hello to the last good bye they took care of us throughout our whole stay. They arranged all our transportation to dinner which was a huge help! The breakfasts and afternoon teas were delicious! Our rooms were very clean and we had a great view of the sunset from our balcony looking over the pool and the city. It is nestled in a beautiful, quiet neighborhood.
It was an extra bonus to be able to hike on miles of trails right from the hotel. The views were spectacular.
I hope to someday return to Cape Town and Camissa house will be my hotel of choice!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camissa House Manager, General Manager at Camissa House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear AnnecG5224EV

Greetings from Camissa House!

We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. Providing attentive and welcoming service to our guests is what we strive for and we're delighted that our team exceeded your expectations in this regard. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and high tea as well. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to Camissa House.

Kind Regards

Camissa House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2024

We arrived at Camissa House at midnight , due to a late arriving plane .We were met by Tumi , who helped us with our luggage , took us to our room and settled us in .Made long trip and late arrival feel a LOT better !
This was our second trip to South Africa , both times starting in Cape Town . First trip , we stayed just down the street at Manna Bay , which we loved , thus our booking Camissa House , under the same ownership .
Camissa House offered similar amazing views ,decor , rooms and services and added the transportation to and from restaurants , a really welcome add-on .

Warm , friendly service was another welcome similarity , as were high tea and excellent breakfasts. And other guests were often interesting , friendly people from around the world.
The aforementioned service was provided by the whole staff , including managers Kristen and Numka (sp?) , butlers David (also at Manna Bay) , Siya and especially Tumi and Faseegh , chef Camille (Manna Bay) and Sinead , maids Hope and Hilda and ever smiling handyman William (?) to whom I apologize for my failing name memory .
All in All , this wonderfully small hotel , in an upscale neighbourhood (Oranjezicht) at the foot of Table Mountain , gave us a great experience , which we won't soon forget. THANKS TO ALL !!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camissa House Manager, General Manager at Camissa House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Adivskiier

Greetings from Camissa House!

We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. Providing attentive and welcoming service to our guests is what we strive for and we're delighted that our team exceeded your expectations in this regard. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and high tea as well. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to Camissa House.

Kind Regards

Camissa House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024

We stayed in a lovely room with a great view, called Aloe - very comfortable. The hotel is extremely well run with friendly, attentive staff and very good breakfasts and tasty high teas. The transfers to local restaurants in the evening is a brilliant idea. Our stay was longer than originally planned - we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camissa House Manager, General Manager at Camissa House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

Dear Joanna L

Grretings from Camissa House!

We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. Providing attentive and welcoming service to our guests is what we strive for and we're delighted that our staff exceeded your expectations in this regard. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast as well as the high tea, we'll sure pass on your kinds words to the chefs.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to Camissa House.

Kind Regards

Camissa House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews