We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best meals during five months in Cape Town”
Review of FYN

FYN
Ranked #16 of 3 481 Restaurants in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 661 - R 1 267
Description: A South African and Japanese restaurant experience by Peter Tempelhoff, Jennifer Huge & Ashley Moss.
Restaurant details
Description: A South African and Japanese restaurant experience by Peter Tempelhoff, Jennifer Huge & Ashley Moss.
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

We booked a table at FYN at the end of May. The dining area is elegantly decorated and the staff friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairing. Every dish was first class, but particular highlights for me were the tuna sashimi, the Hokkaido milk bun with mushroom pâté and Iberico pork. Having a sweet tooth, the absolute highlight for me was the dessert - a chocolate marquise, with an amazing whipped caramel which was simply outstanding. The wines complemented the meal perfectly, including a sake wine which was something different. Cape Town offers so many good places to eat, but for me this is one of the best. Not to be missed!

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank JBM639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 166 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2021

We loved the food, wine, service and ambiance at FYN. Really delicious courses, the mushroom brulee bread course was the showstopper for us. The wine pairing was excellent. We were having such a good time that 4 hours passed without us even noticing - make sure you have enough time set aside to really enjoy the experience.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

It was a very disappointing experience. Only every first Thursday of the month, FYN started to offer various food sticks to grill. They offered mainly chicken: skin of chicken feet, skin of chicken wings, liver, heart, two chicken thigh options etc. All on small sticks, priced each between R40-R160. The sticks are tasteless. No explosion of spices or various sauces or dips to dig into. Even the most expensive stick “Wagyu Beef” came just with a tiny hint of Wasabi. Side orders need to be paid extra, a small bowl of dry, cooked Koshihikari rice comes with a price tag of R70! A Rock Shandy R55 of which 70% was crushed ice cubes. Bottle of water sets you back with R42. Finally if you feel for something green, a vegetarian bowl with some noodles, some Shiitake mushrooms which were vinegary will cost you R140. All in all just a non exciting experience with a hefty bill as they add not only 10%, no, the waiter informed us that he added 12.5% as a TIP already. If you feel like giving more, the space for gratuity underneath is still there. It was definitely not a lunch place which we would visit again as there was no value for money! Sad, as we were hoping for something very special…

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank FKEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

We visited this and felt completely safe. Good social distancing between tables. Love the atmosphere and the African Japanese fusion. The food was absolutely delicious. Couldn’t wait to come back again. Service was excellent and really enjoyed the wine pairings.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank BostonBostonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2021

Authentic, clever, delightful food. Mushroom paté with a creme brûlée topping - wouldn't have thought it would work, it was delicious. Grilled eel and rice - amazing. Other highlights being the pork belly and the apple sorbet. Service warm and efficient, from the welcome in the building lobby till our departure with the security guard waiting with us till the Uber arrived.

Open kitchen also fascinating to watch. Spent a short vacation in Japan and the flavour and texture profiles of the food there were all similar to our experience at Fyn

I am not a great fan of fish, especially fish that tastes fish (those that suffer from this know exactly what i am talking about) - there was no problem at Fyn. The fish dishes were lovely.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MorewoodDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed FYN also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to FYN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.