We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful sushi”
Review of Firefish

Firefish
Ranked #403 of 2 728 Restaurants in Cape Town
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Description: Experience sensational seafood fresh from the ocean and hot off the grill at this sophisticated harbour-side eatery at Cape Town’s bustling V&A Waterfront. All protein cuts are grilled on the state to the art Josper Charcoal Grill. This hybrid grill burns only top-quality charcoal and operates at an ultra-high temperature to allow us to grill and roast while preserving and enhancing the most deli
Restaurant details
Description: Experience sensational seafood fresh from the ocean and hot off the grill at this sophisticated harbour-side eatery at Cape Town’s bustling V&A Waterfront. All protein cuts are grilled on the state to the art Josper Charcoal Grill. This hybrid grill burns only top-quality charcoal and operates at an ultra-high temperature to allow us to grill and roast while preserving and enhancing the most deli
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We came for lunch on a Sunday and the Sushi was excellent, comparable to what we got in Japan, actually. Prices very fair for Waterfront setting.

One small point, many sushi platters they serve are 3 pieces, inconvenient for sharing, and they were unable to make platters of 4. If I were in charge, I would change this...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LordRawdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Firefish, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you so much for complementary review of Firefish and for rating us 5 stars!

Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.

Glad that you enjoyed your experience and thank you for choosing Firefish!

Kind regards,
Firefish Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

This place was beautiful. Service excellent and the Sushi was some of the best I've ever had. So fresh and tasty. It's on the waterfront and has a great outdoor seating area. I would recommend. ENJOY!

Thank EllisLizi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Firefish, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you so much for complementary review of Firefish. We really appreciate it.

Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.

Glad that you enjoyed your experience and thank you for choosing Firefish! We hope to have you back soon.

Kind regards,
Firefish Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Just outstanding seafood and dim sum with great staff and location to match. Prices were very reasonable. I would go back anytime without reservation.

Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

ordered a selection of small dishes, mainly fish including sushi. Of course we had to share a bowl of fries as well. Thought the wine menu was very good with fair prices.
Enjoyed a lunch and dinner on our short time in Cape Town. Lots of competition around but this was our best experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Firefish, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you so much for complementary review of Firefish.

Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.

Glad that you enjoyed your experience and thank you for choosing Firefish!

Kind regards,
Firefish Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We had a delicious lunch yesterday served by excellent staff, smiling, efficient and courteous. The restaurant was run by Craig who did an excellent job and ensured we were happy. The menu was a little different from the “ run of the mill” Waterfront restaurant, with the emphasis on fish cooked with an Asian twist. I had delicious tuna tartare with avocado followed by the best sole I have ever tasted in South Africa. My husband had fabulous whitebait and shellfish. Unfortunately we had no room for dessert but will try and do better next time! We will definitely return and make this our #1 destination when we’re in the Waterfront.

Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Firefish, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you so much for complementary review of your recent visit to Firefish.

Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving. Glad that you enjoyed the selection of fresh fresh on offer prepared on the charcoal josper grill. We will be sure to share this complementary review with the General Manager, Craig Martin.

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,
Firefish Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Firefish also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Firefish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing