We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dinner 5* staff and chef- don’t miss it if you are in Cape Town”

SeaBreeze Fish & Shell
Ranked #39 of 3 445 Restaurants in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 96 - R 479
Description: SeaBreeze brings a fresh take on a traditional seafood restaurant, celebrating Cape Town's rich seafood heritage. Find us at 213 Bree Street
Restaurant details
Description: SeaBreeze brings a fresh take on a traditional seafood restaurant, celebrating Cape Town's rich seafood heritage. Find us at 213 Bree Street
Reviewed 26 November 2023 via mobile

Looked at the previous reviews and was not disappointed- in fact if there was a 5* this place deserves it. A short menu, always a good sign, and happy hour on oysters between 5-6 pm. Wow - happy hour on cocktails between 5-7- so after a dozen oysters, sadly shared, then moules and hake and fries plus a couple of mojitos- we were absolutely delighted with the food, drink and fantastic attention from very knowledgeable and caring staff. All praise though to the chef, the moules sauce was delicious taking a very humble dish to another level. Well done everyone- a delightful pleasure to visit you’re lovely restaurant. We may be back soon.

Date of visit: November 2023
1  Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2023 via mobile

I was recommended this as the best restaurant in town for seafood lovers by a friend regularly visiting Cape town for 20 years. Also several top level wineries recommended this. We shated some starters had great local oysters and amazing mains ( the talented chef actually cooked cretovely outside of the list what he was best in mood to cook). Rooobos creme caramel was a great finish with local port, although I normally skip the sweets. Wine list was wide and young sommelier excited to hear oir views after +1000 🇿🇦wines taasyed in past 10 days. Friend says you cant consider been in Cape Town if the Seabreeze missed.

Date of visit: November 2023
1  Thank PasiK874
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2023 via mobile

I first came here 4 years ago when it was quiet but good. This time the restaurant was buzzing when we walked in but also cosy. My starter was the hake ceviche. I cannot explain how exquisite this dish was, the hake was so so soft, almost indetectable that it had not been cooked, but the lime had done its job, subtly. Ink mayonnaise was a light touch that complimented perfectly. Battered fish and chips for main. Fish on the small side but tasted fresh and yum. I particularly enjoyed the offer to taste wines to help us make a choice. We were offered a few tastings which added to the delight of the restaurant. Service was excellent. Really enjoyed my evening and will definitely be back when in CT.

Date of visit: November 2023
1  Thank Venture421980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2023

A great meal on a Sunday night - reservation essential. This is a fantastic neighbourhood restaurant with quality seafood and great service. Highly recommend

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Svd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2023

This was an awful evening with little attention to detail and poor sense of service. I ordered a Caesar salad with uncooked/raw tuna. The waitress confirmed the uncooked tuna entered into her device. Seared tuna arrived with the salad - another person came ( a manager) to the table to confirm the raw/uncooked tuna. Salad returned to the kitchen and back to the table with 1 side showing raw - underside same seared tuna.!! They seem surprised that I would not eat anything at that restaurant - nor will I return. Only once manager was called to the table was any attention placed on completely wrong order - 2nd manager apologized for the poor service - don't waste time going to this restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2023
1  Thank Dreamer617365
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed SeaBreeze Fish & Shell also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to SeaBreeze Fish & Shell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.