We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
172
113
37
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
113
37
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar funky hotel dry dock fun hotel huge table white tiles warehouse style funky fun blackout blinds silo hotel museum of contemporary art flush the toilet studio room usb ports table mountain big tv save water
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

I feel like you guys are dropping the ball here with hotels and service in Cape Town. Its a beautiful lovely new establishment but its missing a few things. Check in although I love concept is just not working and causes delays. The rooms feel cramped and tacky, Clients also not happy with the fact that we are in a major drought and there is absolutely no signs of the water shortage, parking outside is a mayor problem at the drop and go. On a positive, friendliness of the staff is very good even though i feel like they are still in training. You can make the room really dark if you want making sleeping in a pleasure.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 149pieterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonREDcpt, General Manager at Radisson RED Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello 149pieterw,

Thank-you very much for taking the time to both stay with us but also to write a review, it is appreciated.

Clearly there is a few things to work on and of course we will, we are a determined bunch when it comes to getting things right.

The delays in check-in, i can only apologise and we will add facilities soon to alleviate this.

In regards to water, we do have a water menu both within check-in and messages on our TVs as well as other devices. However, if we failed to communicate this properly, I am sorry and will address with the team to ensure this is consistently delivered. We agree, this needs to be a strong message. We have additionally added to our in-room communications to strengthen this across all rooms.

I am glad you did find the team friendly and the black out blinds do make sleeping very easy.

Hopefully, if you are back again, you will come again and we will be pulling it off in every way.

Cheers, Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We spent three nights here and enjoyed our stay hugely (apart from gastrointestinal issues which had started before we arrived). The reception area is open-plan but with plenty of staff to greet you every time you come in or emerge from the lift. A cafe and bar is adjacent and caters for basic food and drink needs. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and arranged a very reasonable taxi to the airport on our departure. The room was modern in style and had a couple of issues - the splayed legs of the table are stylish but we kept stubbing toes on them and the bathroom door emitted a loud crack every time we opened it fully - disturbing to those still asleep. The location was ideal with a short 100m walk to the Nelson Mandela gateway to Robben Island ferries and easy access to the whole waterfront.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NZMDProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonREDcpt, General Manager at Radisson RED Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello NZMDProf,

Thank-you so much for an amazing review! It is really appreciated and will put lots of smiles on our team here in Cape Town.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am most pleased that the team were very friendly and helpful.
It is a great location and close to all the highlights in the V&A Waterfront.

We did note the cracking bathroom door and will investigate this with the team further.

We hope you had a great rest of trip and if you make it back down this way, we'd love the chance to look after you again.

Cheers, Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I took part in the round the world clipper yacht race and sailed from Uruguay to South Africa. From the moment I checked in to the hotel after stepping off the boat in an exhausted and unkempt fashion the staff looked after me. One young man even noticed my cough and brought me lemon and ginger tea to my room without me asking.
They really were exceptional young people and everyone was solicitous and kind.

Room tip: ask for a view of table mountain
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonREDcpt, General Manager at Radisson RED Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello Alison A,

Wow, we love your review, thank-you very much for taking the time. It means a lot for us to share with the team.

We hope you have also recovered and that cough is all finished, but we were only too happy to help!

I am really pleased you felt looked after, we enjoyed your visit and are keeping our fingers crossed for you on the rest of your trip, an amazing race to be part of!

If you make it back to Cape Town, we would love to look after you again.

Take care and best, Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

This hotel is only 6 weeks old and in a great position, the Silo area of the Waterfront. It is quite Whacky - very red. No reception area, 1/2 chopped up red coke crates on the walls, red grout between red and white tiles in bathroom and concrete floors, industrialised look in dining room. Wired outside seating - certainly ‘style’ over comfort.
We went to the roof terrace when we got here but it was very packed and noisy and a huge queue for drinks so we didn’t return on our 4 night stay.
Our room - excellent large, very comfortable beds and lovely ne sheets and soft towels, huge television, safe, adequate bathroom size/facilities. Concrete floor but rug under bed. Table , chairs and one suitcase holder. As a result we put both our cases at the window where the table and this were situated. However, again, style over usage, the legs stick out and being substantial we both bashed our toes several times! Similarly in the bathroom there is a door stop behind the glass door. Fine, but it sits in front of the toilet, so a trip hazard and toes bashed again! We looked out onto an office block so try and get a room on the other sides.
The bedroom was made up appropriately when we got here, but days later nothing but water had been replaced and this only twice. The bathroom shampoo/conditioner weren’t, nor even the paper cup when we had had one drink the first day! When we decided to have a drink on the 3rd day we realised this and they said they’d send one to the room, but it never materialised! There was a small bottle of milk in the fridge when we arrived but this was sour and there was a home made style cookie in the box the kettle etc is in, but this was the same one throughout our stay! The rug, we are certain, wasn’t vacuumed during our stay either, although the bathroom was kept clean.
The breakfast is very ‘on the go’. Quite strange when you have to ask for a yoghurt pot etc and wait sometimes for staff to give it to you. These were very nice though - fresh fruit and yoghurts in kilner jars. No bread available though - just muffins they heat up with scrambled egg (no other type of eggs) and bacon, avocado or smoked salmon. Hot drinks from 2 machines - one not working a lot of the time and one seemed to spend a lot of its time cleaning, which led to queues. I had some nut butter the first day - there were 2, one labelled macadamia, other unlabelled, but there was a hair in it. I mentioned it when the plate was collected, but the member of staff just said ‘oh’. They are young, some good, but some very untrained. A lot just stand around, although some work very hard.again, ‘trendy’, wearing t-shirts and caps, or even ‘beanies’ (see the style is even
rubbing off on me!)! There are good muffins but these are not labelled either so you have no idea whether they are blueberry, caramel etc as they all look the same.
So, would I stay here again - maybe, but the hotel will date, I think. Whilst it is new and appears funky, they can get away with things they won’t when the hotel is more tired. Breakfast needs an overhaul - no glasses with fruit juice today and too many staff not really knowing how to ensure the breakfast experience for the guests are the best. Certainly someone needs to be clamaping down on the housekeeping staff if our room is anything to go by.

Room tip: Not facing the office block
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WendyA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonREDcpt, General Manager at Radisson RED Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hello Wendy,

Thank-you very much for taking the time to stay in the hotel and indeed for the detailed review provided.

We will of course review all of your points made with the team and ensure in the areas identified where we need work, that we do. For example labelling at breakfast and refilling of items within the bedroom, i can only apologise, this should be consistently delivered at all times.

I would also be very happy to chat through anything else in more detail and if this was convenient for you, please do get in touch.

Cheers, Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Radisson Red for the first four days in our South African vacation. It was an excellent base in Cape Town. The property is brand new (love that new carpet smell), has fresh vibe, and is located right in the waterfront area. It’s convenient to everything.

Our room was very comfortable. We especially appreciated the comfortable bed, French press, and stylish decor. The bathroom was well laid out with a huge shower. It was also super quiet in the room.

We also liked the breakfast each morning. There was a good selection of hot and cold food. It does get overwhelmed at peak times, but the staff tries hard to make things right for you.

We were VERY pleased with the choice of this hotel for our time in Cape Town!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ScottB715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonREDcpt, General Manager at Radisson RED Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hello Scott B,

Wow, thanks for such a nice review. We love the fact you have taken the time to review our hotel and we have indeed also shared this with our team. It helps make their day when we get it right.

Glad to hear the room was comfortable, the beds to make it easy to get some great sleep and re-energise for a busy few days in cape Town.

We do hope the rest of your travels were great and if you are ever back in Cape Town, we would really like to welcome you back!

Cheers, Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews