We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot ramen on a cold rainy day..”
Review of Three Wise Monkeys

Three Wise Monkeys
Ranked #349 of 2 755 Restaurants in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Was just too good. First dinner in cape town on a cold rainy day. Ramen was the ideal option and TWM didn't disappoint. The edamame as starter was delicious..
Only downside was no cold beer. But that's okay as they have not got their liquor licence yet.
Will definitely recommend.

Thank Ritesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We just reached cape town and it couldn't have started better! We found this restaurant close to our hotel and food was absolutely yummy. Lacked a bit of spiciness but guess you can ask for it. Recommend highly.

Thank VanRitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Been wanting to try out the Ramen here for quite some time as social media can only sing its praises.

We arrived on a Saturday evening and were stoked to get a table. We were pretty hungry so decided to place our starters, mains and drinks orders at the same time. Only problem was that all the waitrons were deep in conversation with the chefs We eventually managed to flag down the Manager to place our order. We were the told that they don't yet have their liquor license but we could place a drinks order with her from the Restaurant next door (this is in no way a negative influence on my experience - just a heads up).

We managed to place our food orders with the Manager. I'm not sure if we were talking softly but she came back to check our orders four times.

When the food arrived I was ravenous. Unfortunately the portions of the starters were just a bit too small (for me - opinion here) and had almost no taste to them.

Moving on.

We ordered the Chicken and Veggie Ramen dishes. The portions were nice and big (woohoo!) but a little on the un-seasoned side. The broth of the chicken Ramen was the highlight of the night - one of the best chicken broths I have had. Unfortunately the veggie dish was extremely bland and very disappointing.

Just a tip to management - if you do head out for a smoke break, at least wash your hands before you serve food to guests.

Won't be back in a hurry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LekkaLegoLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky S, Owner at Three Wise Monkeys, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear LekkaLegoLamb,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to give us feedback of your experience at Three Wise Monkeys. Secondly I must apologise that you did not enjoy your experience as its not the norm with us, as you can tell by all our other reviews. We always strive for great food paired with great service. We currently do not have a manager but rather a door lady thats been training with us for a short while, thank you for the feedback on her and action will be taken accordingly. Could you please email me your details at cpt.ricky@gmail.com as I would like to make amends for your experience and show you what the true Monkeys one is like. Apologies again and hope to hear from you soon.

Ricky Simon
Owner - Three Wise Monkeys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

The ramen is delicious and consistently good! Sushi is fresh and well prepared. Service is good. BYOB

Thank Sarahj_a13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Love, love, love this place. Never disappoints. Sushi, poke bowls, ramen - whatever you choose to order, you can be sure it will be delicious. The staff is amazing as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christiane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Wise Monkeys also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Three Wise Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing