We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike!”
Review of OTC Adventures

OTC Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$61,08*
and up
Cape Town: India Venster Half-Day Hike
Ranked #7 of 209 Food & Drink in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: OTC offers hikes/trails personalised to suit everyone’s needs, from 8 – 80 years old, from the real beginners to the very advanced. If you’re after a short hike or a longer day trip, anything can be arranged to fit in with your itinerary. The hikes stretch across Table Mountain National Park, from the City to Cape Point. Climb Lions Head at Sunrise and watch the spectacular views of Cape Town unfold. We also offer full day hikes in the Franschhoek & Stellenbosch mountains as well as wine-tasting tours to incorporate with your hikes.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have visited Cape Town three times in the last 10 years and my only regret is that we only discovered Cliff’s hike on this last visit. We had advised Cliff that we both have good general fitness and that we would like a hike with some great scenery. The India Venster route was suggested and we loved it. Cliff also had great facts to impart as we hiked. By the end of the morning we felt we’d a real achievement in doing the climb and that we had learnt a lot more about the area. We’ll use Cliff again on our next trip to SA.

Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimh44, Public Relations Manager at OTC Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your review Alison - it is much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"skeleton gorge"
in 12 reviews
"the india venster route"
in 9 reviews
"great guide"
in 11 reviews
"sunrise hike"
in 6 reviews
"guided hike"
in 7 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 9 reviews
"table mountain"
in 60 reviews
"provided water and snacks"
in 3 reviews
"diving board"
in 2 reviews
"memorable hike"
in 2 reviews
"our hotel recommended"
in 2 reviews
"learnt loads"
in 2 reviews
"great hike"
in 7 reviews
"cable car"
in 12 reviews
"tough hike"
in 2 reviews
"delicious home made muffins"
in 2 reviews
"local plants"
in 2 reviews
Filter

27 - 31 of 118 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1719
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing day with Cliff from OTC Adventures climbing to the top of Table Mountain. The hike we chose was the India Venster route which Cliff assured us that with a moderate amount of fitness would be fine...and it was. It was challenging at times but the stunning scenery along the way made it all worth while. Cliff was a great guide and with his wealth of knowledge made our journey both interesting and fun. Would highly recommend OTC Adventures and look forward returning to Cape Town to do another one of Cliff’s hikes.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimh44, Public Relations Manager at OTC Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your review - it is much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

What a pleasure To meet a guide like Cliff and To hike with him. He's awesome, he gives you everything you need to know about the mountain and its history. That was a perfect day, full of effort and fun. I warmly recommend him. My only regret was meeting him on my last day to Cape Town.

Thank SBMP2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimh44, Public Relations Manager at OTC Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your review - it is much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Our kids decided they wanted to climb Table Mountain. Oh dear!! We have never done anything even nearly as strenuous before. But the hotel recommended Cliff and assured us that he would make the occasion memorable. And indeed he did!

Cliff was marvelous! He collectedly the 5 of us at the hotel and took us to Table Mountain. On the way, we discussed the various options for ascending and settled on Platteklip Gourge.

Cliff was marvelous! He encouraged us all the way and was also a wealth of information on the fauna and flora of the mountain as well as the history of Cape Town, which we had fabulous views of during the ascent.

And the boiled potatoes and banana muffins Cliff brought were delicious and just what we needed.

I would strongly recommend climbing Table Mountain - and I would recommend highly doing so with Cliff!

Thank RoadWarrior298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimh44, Public Relations Manager at OTC Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your review - it is much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Went up Skeleton gorge with Cliff as a guide. A truly memorable experience, scenery was breathtaking, Cliff is incredibly knowledgable about the history of the area and its flora and fauna. He made it an unforgettable experience and I would highly recommend this trip. Yo get so much out of a hike like this with an experienced guide

Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimh44, Public Relations Manager at OTC Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your review Paul - it is much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OTC Adventures also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to OTC Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing