We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Masatepe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 December 2016

My friend and I picked this spot, after searching for some time, to stay for a few days prior to another friend's wedding. Based on the time of the year, we were the only two people staying at the resort for part of the trip and only one other couple for another part of the trip.

I enjoyed the stay. The weather was nice and we were well fed with great meals and an attentive staff. The hotel booked excursions on our behalf and both excursions were executed without issue. The Masaya Volcano is a must see at night.

I booked a massage, too. I'm no expert but I was fine with my massage and the woman was very nice.

The pre-trip e-mails and communications were all good, the airport ride transfer went without a hitch, and the pricing for the room, food, excursions, and drinks all calculated out accordingly.

I would recommend staying at this hotel/resort if you're looking for low key, relaxing, to be well fed, and a few activities.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank icetray07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2016

Hacienda Puerto Del Cielo Eco Lodge near Masatepe, Nicaragua was the final location for our Vacation. Their driver (Ariel) picked us up in Granada and took us to the property and pointed out a few things to us along the way. Ariel's English was 'very good' which made for an educational drive.

Upon arrival, we were fortunate enough to meet the owner, Juan Carlos (JC) and he showed us the view from the upper balcony - INCREDIBLE! ,We then went with Ariel and 2 other guests the Market and then up to the Masaya Volcano - which is a MUST SEE! The cauldron of molten lava is awe-inspiring!

We spent the rest of our time on the property relaxing and getting to know the rest of the Staff. Ruth, Oscar, Adrian and Ariel were Fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them - we showed them how to dance 2-step and they showed us how to dance Bachata! Good Times for Sure!

Just a great spot to finish up our vacation in Nicaragua! I very much enjoyed sitting at the bar with JC the first night for a chat and a touch of "Flor de Cana" Rum! We got to talking about food and I mentioned "MonDongo" (a local dish) and he went out of his way to ensure I got some! And it was Delicious!

Muchas Gracias!!

J & K

Room Tip: We stayed in Casa Linda which was very roomy and the doors open up to the Pool and View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theredmex45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Hacienda Puerto Del Cielo Eco Lodge & Spa greatly exceeded our expectations! The lodge is in a remote area on the edge of a nature preserve about 1.5 hours from the Managua airport. It is important to note that in the more remote areas of Nicaragua the roads are very bumpy dirt roads, which serve to amplify the adventure! For those who appreciate art and architecture, the owners designed a beautiful retreat in the perfect space atop a mountain with views of the Masaya Volcano & lagoon.

The service was impeccable, the food delicious, and the attention given to assure our utmost satisfaction was stellar. Many thanks to Ruth, Oscar, Adrian and Ariel for their hospitality and service, warm smiles and genuine care. Ariel was an excellent tour guide, going above and beyond to ensure our complete delight!

A must see is the Masaya Volcano, as there are no words to describe the sheer latent power of nature on display. The boiling cauldron of red molten lava was a breathtaking sight that will be etched in your mind forever. The jungle tour to see the parrots migrate back to their nests is a marvel to behold! The Granada city tour and boat ride to Monkey Island in Lake Nicaragua was a fun experience. History lovers will be enthralled with the city of Granada. Be sure to spend your first and last day at the lodge relaxing in the pool, trying the local beverages, and swinging lazily in the colorful handmade hammocks. Add a 2 hour massage (in your room) to wrap up a perfect day.

Lastly, it is wonderful to see the owners, JC & Linda, supporting the local community education. Bring some school supplies and crafts for the children. It was such a privilege to visit the school and meet the children and teacher. They will long hold a place dear to your heart.

You won't want to leave Hacienda Puerto Del Cielo Eco Lodge & Spa. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This lodge is in a very remote area but the views and peace and quiet make it worth the back roads drive.....The views across the jungle, over Lagoon Masaya and of Volcano Masaya are unparalleled. We enjoyed our 3 night stay and the staff were all friendly and helpful. We did a couple outings which were fun but as someone else mentioned....overpriced. We enjoyed the very relaxing atmosphere.....lounging, reading, swimming are the order of the day. Night falls early so evenings are quiet which was fine with us ....Besides massages being available this cannot be considered a spa. I do feel that the owners could bring this place up a notch in terms of providing a bit more to do on the property as given the remoteness and lack of amenities one can only stay for a few days. A little more polish and what is already a beautiful spot could be even more incredible.

Room Tip: From what I could tell all casitas have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IVYTRAVELS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We took a chance with a Hacienda outside of a city or beach location and felt we struck gold. Everything was well thought out. The paper products, i.e. napkins, kleenex and T.P. were all excellent American quality and size. No scrimping there. The in-room amenities were plentiful and, so not to attract mosquitoes, had no fragrance. The lotion was rich, and of high quality. The "casitas" were colourfully painted with great attention to detail and well maintained. We never encountered a crawling bug in the casita.
The meals were served with a magnificent view of an active volcano. During one of the excursions that was offered I can now say that I have looked into the fire of an active volcano.
Last but not least, the staff was absolutely lovely. All were engaging and eager to work on their English. Our driver/guide, Ariel, drove with a steady hand and great care. We were always delivered safe and sound to our destination.
Thank you to all of the employees of Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masatepe
25.3 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
338 reviews
9.9 km away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
114 reviews
24.0 km away
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1 049 reviews
25.2 km away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
18.8 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Address: Camino de los Bueyes, Nimboja #2 | Masaya, Masatepe 42600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masatepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Price Range: R4 004 - R6 199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green mountainside paradise in beautiful, sun-kissed Nicaragua. "Hacienda Puerta del Cielo Ecolodge & Spa" borders a protected national rainforest, teeming with colorful flora and fauna. Imagine yourself relaxing in a tropical pool overlooking a peaceful lagoon or meditating in a breezy hammock on your own private veranda. Explore the natural environment of our exclusive -adults only- boutique hotel and enjoy Ecotourism in luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Hotel Masatepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing