We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lynsey Jane
Brighton, United Kingdom

Wow just Wow (and I'm fussy!!)

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Oct 2023
Well what can I say. What an incredible stay we had. We were lucky enough to have sole use of the three bedroom villa which was decorated impeccably by the owners.
In fact the whole hotel blew us away as soon as we walked in. It felt instantly relaxing and homely.
The photos on the website do not do this place justice it really is stunning. The staff were amazing where nothing is too much trouble. There is no menu but the chef comes to the table and asks what you would like and they make it happen. The public/sharing areas in the hotel are also stunning with incredible views of the ocean where you can do a bit of Whale and Dolphin watching whilst eating your breakfast or having a cocktail.
There is direct access to the beach via 30ish steps leading down to the waterfront. Great to have an explore down there in the rock pools and the walled swimming sea water pool, maybe a swim if you're brave enough!!.
Should you need any laundry or ironing doing this is always very quick and no hassle.
Sven, the manager was great and helped us with our plans. So do ask for help if you need it.
I didn't go to the Spa but my friends I travelled with did and they said it was exceptional. I did have a sneaky peak around and it looked fabulous. Next time I will definitely book in for a massage.
Can't wait to visit again and would highly recommend staying there if your in the Durban area. They also offer a duel holiday experience with Rhino River Lodge safari which I would highly recommend also.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: No iron or ironing board in the room but they offer laundry and ironing service which is very...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Sala Beach House
Free parking
Pool
Meander Manor
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Sala Beach House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Sala Beach House
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.8 km from Sala Beach House
    Catfish is 2nd from the right upstairs
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    1.1 km from Sala Beach House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Vio.com
    1.2 km from Sala Beach House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    1.5 km from Sala Beach House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.2 km from Sala Beach House
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    0.7 km from Sala Beach House
    • Agoda.com
    0.8 km from Sala Beach House
    View more hotels in Shaka's Rock
    Reviews (70)
    Filter reviews
    70 results
    Traveller rating
    67
    3
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    67
    3
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews fire pit personal service spa experience a special place boutique hotel hidden gem south africa indian ocean natalie kzn indulge wild coast escape views sea
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    27 - 32 of 70 reviews
    Reviewed 16 October 2023

    We stayed in the Sala suite and had the most magical time of our lives! From the food, to the views, the spa and the staff were just phenomenal. We will most certainly be back sooner rather than later!

    Date of stay: October 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank SherryM1834
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 October 2023

    An exceptionally beautiful spot in a pristine position and perfect for ocean gazing, watching the sunrise and the moon too! The room was perfect - the decor delightful and pleasing and the ambiance just perfect for a relaxed and comfortable stay. The shared public space was just super special to be in with a fire going on a chilly evening and the look and feel of the space being inviting, comfortable and luxurious. The open views to the ocean are breathtaking and so relaxing to enjoy and the garden space a delight to rest in. Access to the beach for a stroll is perfect and the pool super inviting too. Loved the food that was extra special with set menus with options to surprise and delight any foodie!

    Date of stay: October 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank nudefoodie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 October 2023

    An incredible stay at the beach - blown away by the beauty of Sala Beach House, the friendliness and hospitality of the staff, best G&T in KZN and the most spectacular sunrise view. We cannot wait to go back.

    Date of stay: October 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Caley R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 October 2023

    Dont let the gate fool no the winding path to reception.. it is all to prepare you for the dramatic view they have managed to carve. A warm welcoming staff graciously takes you to your rooms, after of course a little light libation because your throat is still dry from your open mouth when you see that view, The rooms are spacious, well appointed, they have covered every amenity you can think of. It really is a cocoon and you wouldnt want to leave the place.

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank narkterminal1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 October 2023

    The most amazing location, this boutique hotel surpasses expectations. You feel like you are on an isolated island far away. Beautiful!

    amazing space, staff, amenities. very romantic place for special occasion

    Date of stay: September 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank nickymacmediagroup
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews