We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Claire R
London, United Kingdom

A dream come true

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Aug 2023
We had the most incredible stay at Sala Beach House. My husband and I stayed in the Ocean suite and we were able to watch dolphins swim up the coast from our beds. We were travelling with our 3 teenage sons and they stayed in the adjoining pool view rooms downstairs which were perfect for them. The views from this family run boutique hotel were so spectacular they literally took our breath away and almost brought us to tears. Amazing service, delicious food (the eggs benedict with bacon was delicious!). The pool looked very inviting but we opted for the beach instead with direct stair access straight into the sand. Charlie's tidal pool is great for families at Thompson's Bay and the walk through the hole in the wall is great. Can't wait to return -although next time we want to try the villa. Thank you to Craig and Gert for creating this absolute gem on the KZN coastline. Your personal touches make all the difference.
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zinhle Mthembu, Guest Services / Front Office at Sala Beach House, responded to this review
Responded 15 Aug 2023
Dear Claire

We are delighted that you had an excellent stay at Sala Beach House. Our location is truly ideal, being so close to the ocean you get front row seats to the beautiful sea life. It definitely is an absolute gem. We cannot wait for your next visit to Sala!

Best Regards,
Zinhle Mthembu

Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 983
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Sala Beach House
Free parking
Pool
Meander Manor
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Sala Beach House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 600
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 600
  • Agoda.com
1.5 km from Sala Beach House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Sala Beach House
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Sala Beach House
R 765
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 688
0.8 km from Sala Beach House
R 2 114
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 890
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 524
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Sala Beach House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room #1 bathroom
R 1 415
  • Priceline
    R 1 415
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 415
  • Vio.com
    R 1 415
1.8 km from Sala Beach House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 100
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
  • Vio.com
    R 1 100
  • eDreams
    R 1 100
1.9 km from Sala Beach House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 920
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 920
  • Agoda.com
    R 884
  • Expedia.com
    R 920
2.0 km from Sala Beach House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Shaka's Rock
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
65
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
65
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit personal service spa experience a special place boutique hotel hidden gem south africa indian ocean natalie kzn indulge wild coast escape views sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2023

A beautiful place to spend time in to recharge and be still - to soak up the lush surroundings, take in the vast sea and sky and be pampered.
The comfort and luxury of the rooms lend themselves to absolute relaxation.
A very special place that will leave you feeling inspired.

Date of stay: August 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank loujenningslj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zinhle Mthembu, Guest Services / Front Office at Sala Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Dear Lou,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are most delighted to hear about your experience with us. We are glad that you were able to recharge and relax in our beautifully appointed bedrooms. Our team cannot wait to welcome you back to Sala in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Zinhle Mthembu

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2023

We had an extraordinary room with a wonderful view to the sea and a very friendly and commited service.
We enjoyed to take the breakfast on the seaside terrace as well as the very good dinner at the restaurant.

Date of stay: August 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MNCGN2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zinhle Mthembu, Guest Services / Front Office at Sala Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Dear MNCGN2022,

We are so pleased to read these wonderful comments. Our team is truly a passionate group of individuals who always strive to provide the highest standard of service! We are most delighted to read that your breakfast and dinner experiences were exceptional! We cannot wait to welcome you back to Sala Beach House.

Best Regards,
Zinhle Mthembu

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2023

I came for my birthday with my mom and upon arrival I was questioning if this place was good for a mother daughter trip as it looked rather romantic lol. From the moment we got out the car we were welcomed to Sala and given hand towels and guided in. The entire property is just breathtaking, we were offered beverages as our bags were taken to our room. We headed upstairs to our room and the moment the doors open all I could see was a tranquil neutral minimal heaven and the ocean. It’s 180 degrees of ocean front. The staff is absolutely amazing, welcoming and friendly. The turn down service is so cute with a note that gives you the next days weather, breakfast area outside is out of this world. Beach access is a plus. I would recommend this to everyone. Once you’ve experienced this place nothing else lives up to the standard.

Date of stay: July 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kimtshabalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zinhle Mthembu, Guest Services / Front Office at Sala Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Dear Kim,

Thank you so much for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us. We are incredibly delighted to read that the team were able to create a fantastic experience for you. Sala truly is a little piece of paradise! We are so glad that you and mom were well taken care of and felt pampered.

We cannot wait for your next visit to Sala!

Warm Regards,
Zinhle Mthembu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2023

Our second visit to this gem, STUNNING PLACE, ROMANTIC AND CATERS FOR EVERYTHING, with the most amazing views, pool, deck and direct beach access. The staff are all super and food was amazing !! Definitely going to come back here soon !

Date of stay: July 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndreH6307
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zinhle Mthembu, Guest Services / Front Office at Sala Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Dear Andre,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again. We are elated to know that this was another amazing stay. Your experience truly seems to have captured the essence of everything our team strives to achieve. Thank you once more for your gracious review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Zinhle Mthembu

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2023 via mobile

Sala Beach House is an exclusive, luxurious, and intimate stay. The furnishings and rooms are luxurious and modern. We stayed in the Sala suite and it was plush, homely and luxurious. You cannot beat waking up to the sunrise over the ocean, with the veranda doors fully open and experiencing the fresh sea breeze.

The staff are particularly attentive - they make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay at all times. A special mention goes out to Lindo. He was an incredible host and was always close to us making sure we were okay !

Sala definitely competes with the likes of The Oyster Box in Umhlanga - the beauty of Sala (and the best part) is that Sala is intimate and exclusive, as opposed to being a large hotel.

Sala Beach House is perfect for a traveler that is wanting luxury and exclusivity but also wanting the quietness and tranquility of a exclusive guest house.

A unique parting gift from Sala, was realizing our vehicle had been washed by their team, prior to our departure. This has never happened to us before ! The attention to detail is incredible.

The Sala Team focus on delivering an incredible customer experience. Truly outstanding !

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tarryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zinhle Mthembu, Guest Services / Front Office at Sala Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Dear Tarryn,

Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review. Your experience seems to have captured the true essence of everything we aim to create and achieve with our guests. We are delighted all elements of your stay were able to live up to and exceed your expectations. Lindo will be elated to hear your amazing feedback. Thank you once more, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Zinhle Mthembu

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews