We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Global17978731560
Leeds, United Kingdom

Magical boutique hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Jan 2023via mobile
Due to flight changes we needed a night in Durban. How fortunate that our travel agent booked this gem! The hotel was not officially open but we were welcomed like long lost friends. The rooms are all fabous with amazing views over the ocean. From the garden you can walk down to the quiet beach.
Nothing was too much trouble: they even insisted on laundering my husband's shirt as he had spilled red wine during the flight.
After a dightful dinner we sat in front of a roaring fire watching the storm outside. We did try to brave the fire pit but it was too cold to stay for long.
Breakfast was fabous and we had the choice of eating inside or out.
I have never felt so welcome in a hotel, there was a genuine desire to ensure we were happy and had all we needed.
We plan to return to Durban one day just for the joy of staying here again
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 982
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Sala Beach House
Free parking
Pool
Meander Manor
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Sala Beach House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Sala Beach House
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.8 km from Sala Beach House
    Catfish is 2nd from the right upstairs
    • Priceline
    1.1 km from Sala Beach House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Vio.com
    1.2 km from Sala Beach House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    • Priceline
    1.5 km from Sala Beach House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    • Priceline
    0.2 km from Sala Beach House
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    0.7 km from Sala Beach House
    • Agoda.com
    0.8 km from Sala Beach House
    View more hotels in Shaka's Rock
    Reviews (68)
    Filter reviews
    68 results
    Traveller rating
    65
    3
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    65
    3
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews fire pit personal service spa experience a special place boutique hotel hidden gem south africa indian ocean natalie kzn indulge wild coast escape views sea
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    53 - 58 of 68 reviews
    Reviewed 22 December 2022

    Great hidden gem, with good attention to detail and personal service

    rooms are very well equipped and facilities are great

    good way to escape

    amazing views and easy access to the beach

    dinning also superb,

    Date of stay: December 2022
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank 23ML23
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 December 2022

    Little oasis… we had a fabulous time. Spa treatments were great but food was awful and service lacking… staff need training. We would return for another spoil. Their positioning is second to none with amazing views

    Date of stay: December 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Tarin S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 December 2022

    We have often driven along Ocean Drive and never paid any attention to the wooden door at no.75. But what a surprise when it swung open and we were welcomed by a beautifully designed garden that interacted with wild organic patches making you forget the busy road you came on. Hibiscus and orchids reflect the special flora of this part of the world.

    No concrete steps accompanied us to the tiny reception area but the natural beauty of wooden slats gave us a secure foothold on the way down. It is situated next to a Cafe styled Bar area that allows you to relax again surrounded by Nature at its best. An ideal spot for an increase of your vitamin D.

    3 steps further and your eyes open onto a vista of the sea stretching uninterrupted to the horizon.

    This panorama begins from a beautifully tailored lounge that one just wants to relax in, feasting on the ever changing view of waves washing against the rocks below with a constantly changing theatre of spray . Needless to say, there is access to a very secluded beach area topped with a rocky outcrop that after climbing it, invites you to sty seated on the bench provided and just inhale the purity of the air.

    If the weather turns, you will be shielded by concertina sliding doors and on the rare occasion of a Winter Day in this part of the world, a fire place will entice you to linger over a glass of red wine. Even in summer, the fire pit is awesome.

    One can also enjoy the magnificent view from the breakfast Terrace - greeted by the sun in the morning - that can double up as a dinning room at night.

    The secluded upstairs first floor lets you choose from a elegantly but modern furnished bed rooms that even travelers from Europe will call 5+ stars.

    Setting such a high standard is obviously a challenge for the brigade in the kitchen but one is in very safe hands. During our 3 day stay we were treated to a multitude of taste combinations with some unknown ingredients that would satisfy any pallet and although the wine cellar is relative small if offers and excellent array of top South African wine estates.

    Being surrounded by such splendor there has to be a spa that has to round of everything and we were not disappointed by the special treatment and relaxed afterwards admiring the little Zen garden.

    The whole team spoilt us in their attention to details and always with a welcoming smile. One simply does not want to leave.

    Date of stay: November 2022
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dieter Z
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 November 2022

    Sala Beach House is a little piece of heaven with a breathtaking view of the Indian Ocean.
    Our travel through South Africa ended here. After three days we didn't want to leave anymore.
    Wonderful staff, great rooms and magnificent ambiance. We will return some day.
    Wietske Schwankhaus

    Date of stay: November 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank wietske2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 November 2022

    A real stunner, located on a Blue Flag Beach.

    Fun, vibey, excellent team, tasteful and charming.

    Would we go again - without a question of doubt.

    Well positioned rooms, great sea views and balcony, excellent housekeeping - crispy white linen and super lovely duvets!

    Date of stay: November 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank AndrewsTravels2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews