We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Mischa60
Leics. U.K.

Very welcoming

Review of Lalaria
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 May 2018
Our tour operator booked us in for a 1 night stay before our 4.30 a.m departure to catch a flight from Durban. It is a lovely establishment with great views over the coast and we were given an upgrade to a sea view room, (from a pool view). Our host, Tony, was so very welcoming and quickly talked us trough how things worked.He made some local restaurant recommendations and then made a booking for us and ordered a taxi. We made use of the honesty bar and then really enjoyed the restaurant meal. On our return our hosts were there to welcome us back and Linda was around when we left at 4.30 a.m. A delightful short stay.
Date of stay: May 2018
Room Tip: Sea views are best but more expensive.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from Lalaria
Free Wifi
Free parking
Catfish is 2nd from the right upstairs
Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Lalaria
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    R 1 600
0.4 km from Lalaria
Free Wifi
Free parking
Meander Manor
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 1 418
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Lalaria
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
    0.4 km from Lalaria
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    0.8 km from Lalaria
    Free parking
    Pool
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
      R 7 419
    • Trip.com
      R 9 016
    • Agoda.com
    1.2 km from Lalaria
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.4 km from Lalaria
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • StayForLong
    0.5 km from Lalaria
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Priceline
    1.0 km from Lalaria
    View more hotels in Shaka's Rock
    Reviews (170)
    Filter reviews
    170 results
    Traveller rating
    146
    21
    2
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    146
    21
    2
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews easy access to the beach ocean house grant accommodation
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    24 - 29 of 170 reviews
    Reviewed 6 May 2018

    Lalaria is a 5star B and B. Hospitality was 1st rate and the breakfast was excellent. We stayed in the sea view rooms and they were very large and comfortable. Our only regret was that we only had one night there.

    Date of stay: April 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank SMGMelbourne
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

    What a wonderful place! Linda and Tony the hosts were absolutely the best. (As was Linda’s Mum)
    Lalaria lodge was the most tranquil place to end our 4 weeks in South Africa. The guest house was immaculate, the bedroom was beautifully decorated as was the large bathroom. We had great views of the ocean from our bedroom.
    The pool and the gardens were just what we needed to relax. It was the only place where we swam in the pool, as everywhere else we had been the water was quite chilly.
    Linda and Tony recommended fabulous restaurants and arranged taxis for us.
    We were very sad to leave and hope to return soon as we felt we had made good friends.
    I would highly recommend Shaka’s Rock as a holiday destination, and definitely Lalaria Lodge!!
    Thanks Linda and Tony for making us feel so welcome.

    Date of stay: February 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank chm_thomas
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 January 2018

    Highly recommend this beautiful lodge! We absolutely loved our stay there, the rooms are big and the bathroom has a huge shower and bath. Stunning sea views as well from our room. A short 5 min walk to the beach (non-swimming) and a range of restaurants all nearby!

    Date of stay: January 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Kim B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 January 2018

    Very nice guest house at a beautiful location!
    Our room was very nice and luxurious.
    We were sad our stay at this location was only for one night.
    The hosts are also very kind, you can ask them anything. They will help you with a big smile! :-)

    Date of stay: December 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank StephanieL1990
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 January 2018

    Beautiful, clean and homely. A place you need when One is away from home. Friendly staff, willing to assist anytime. Highly recommended to anyone who is willing to visit ballito/salt rock area. Near to the beach.

    Date of stay: January 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank tumelod2018
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews