We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
24
11
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
11
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the river banks nature trees game toilet animals drive lodge limpopo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2021

Nice place to stay, the rooms were large, along the river. We could observe plenty of birds and some animals across the river. the lounge area and the pool area were very nice and necessary for the children.
Food was excellent and freshly made. The staff is very welcome and friendly.
Game drive was nice, despite the rain. KB is very interesting and knows a lot. perhaps having some poncho could help.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank OnAir54630077753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi Gounaris, Marketing at Limpopo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2021

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves, jut a pity about the rain, but it is much needed here in our area.

We hope to welcome back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

I am forced to write this because we were disappointed with the whole trip. Before I say something please understand that I am in this country for 20yrs and I have a fairly good idea what I should expect from a place like yours and I been to similar property on the same side over the years all the way from limpopo lipadi reserve.
 
Fire
One of the cottages which have a toilet inside nearly caught fire because of the leakage in the gas stove. With quick and timely action, we managed to close the gas connection from cylinder and the residents of that cottage had a 1yr old child with them. Had we not seen
 
House keeping
The towels where not changed daily. On day 3 we had to request for fresh towels and still the employees where puzzles and clue less.
 
The house keeping was not done properly when we came the rooms where still dusty. There were stains in all the sheets.

 
Game drive
I have booked the game drive on the 27th (please refer to our previous mails). Your staff had no clue about the game drive, and I have been making follow ups with them from 26th. Finally, the game drive was done on the 28th and only 2 people managed to go for the drive (you can check with you staff KB) because we could not sleep properly at night because of the worms.
 
Worms
I am very much aware that we are in the bush and what we should expect from an environment like that. Worms inside the cottage is unacceptable

 
Please find attached few pictures we are not taking about one or two worms we use to get more than 20 worms every night. We used to take turns in the night so that we can keep our children safe. The worms keep on falling from the roof. Our children could not sleep alone because they were scared from the experience, they had on the 26th night. 
Because of the worms we had to take the Childers to the doctor yesterday and they are currently on medication and have to take them to a skin specialist when they come back from holidays.
 
We all go on a holiday to unwind ourselves from the busy schedule and to spend quality time with our friends and family. This trip put us through medication, mental trauma, and stress. Instead of spending quality time we were looking forward how we will sleep at night and how our children will recover.

You should have informed us that we might find worms inside the cottage. Not only us anyone one for that matter who spend their hard-earned money to come to your premises.
 
Like I said before outside the cottage there is worms is not a concern at all but inside the cottage is not acceptable at all.
 
The bottom line is we had the worst holiday of our life.
 

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lmjcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi Gounaris, Marketing at Limpopo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2021

Good Afternoon, Thank you for you comments which we have investigated.

Just a couple of comments from ourselves:

- when the issue with the stove was reported we removed it immediately, tested it and the reinstalled and tested again and it is working fine. Of course we would not want anything like this to happen and have taken your comment on board however we could not replicate the problem you had and found nothing else wrong with the stove

- on conducting an audit on all our linen we did not find that all sheets were stained - our linen is new and of high quality and if there are any stains after guests leave we remove them / do not use that linen again.

- Our guide was available for your game drive on 27th as requested but was told that you would prefer to go on the 28th so he was kept available and paid for an additional day for your party. We also offered a complimentary game drive for the whole party of guests once we had spoken to your colleague and discovered tht not everyone had gone on the intial game drive. This offer was not taken up unfortunately.

- your concern over worms is noted however in the wilderness that we are in it is not predictable when any insects will hatch so we could not have informed you that they would be there on your visit. We do have mosquito netting on windows and around the edges of the thatch but if one gets insects hatching is is really difficult to keep them totally away from the accommodation as the guests go in and out of the rooms and leave the doors open, and this could also allow them to get into the rooms. As discussed with your colleague, we requested that the staff sweep more frequently, including just before they finished their shift. We apologise if this was not sufficient.

It is a great shame tht this was the worst holiday of your life as this is a very special place and we would have hoped that you enjoyed yourselves. We are very sorry that you dd not.


We have discussed your complaints privately via email and should any prospective guests wish to discuss more please do feel free to email lrl@wildattuli.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2020

Family of 4, staying in the rondavels along the banks of the Limpopo, waking up with the sounds of the bush and a view immediately onto the river - getting up early to watch the sunrise is a must!! The private bush bathroom was also an incredible experience. We opted for the fully catered meal package, including 2 long game drives per day - an awesome way to see the vast reserve and its best places. All staff were extremely helpful, our ranger guide Joe was highly experienced and a friendly companion for the nature tours.

Room tip: Rondavels 2 and 3 are perfect for a family sharing an awesome wildlife experience together.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank craigfI7923WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2019

We arrived in the late afternoon, as we were not aware of the long time needed to travel the road from the Bobonong side. Misinformed by an article in a well-known travel magazine. I phoned the cell number on my receipt repeatedly but received no reply. On arrival we then asked about a chalet or hut but the lady at reception did not know how to deal with the request. We set up camp in the dark, only to find that we were right next to a bush hut which would have been ideal. However, the camp site number 5 was wonderful and Isaac looked after us very well. Had an exciting overnight encounter with 2 elephants.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lindabB833GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi G, Bookings Management at Limpopo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

Thank you so much for your review and comment about booking an alternative with us - we will certainly make sure this is attended to.

The beauty of our camp sites is the interaction with wildlife in the area and it can provide some adrenalin-pumping encounters so very happy you saw the elephants.

Best Regards
Judi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2019

What an amazing place to stay. We have just returned from a 6 night stay in the campsite which was wonderfully maintained by Isaac. We were fortunate enough to see a group of five wild dog as well as a very new baby elephant( mother still had a lot of goop hanging out!) We will definitely be returning to refresh our souls again

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FranP1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi G, Bookings at Limpopo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Greetings from Tui Block,

Thank you for your review of Limpopo River Lodge. It isa special place to unwind and recharge one's batteries.

Wonderful news that you saw the wild dogs - they have been around for a few weeks now and we are hoping they will den/have denned on Limpopo River Lodge. If you got any pictures we would be very grateful if you emailed us as we are gathering data and these dogs and trying to ID all of them.

Very Best
Limpopo River Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews