We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
22
10
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
10
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature camping banks limpopo elephants bush chalet isaac
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2019

We arrived in the late afternoon, as we were not aware of the long time needed to travel the road from the Bobonong side. Misinformed by an article in a well-known travel magazine. I phoned the cell number on my receipt repeatedly but received no reply. On arrival we then asked about a chalet or hut but the lady at reception did not know how to deal with the request. We set up camp in the dark, only to find that we were right next to a bush hut which would have been ideal. However, the camp site number 5 was wonderful and Isaac looked after us very well. Had an exciting overnight encounter with 2 elephants.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lindabB833GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi G, Bookings Management at Limpopo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

Thank you so much for your review and comment about booking an alternative with us - we will certainly make sure this is attended to.

The beauty of our camp sites is the interaction with wildlife in the area and it can provide some adrenalin-pumping encounters so very happy you saw the elephants.

Best Regards
Judi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2019

What an amazing place to stay. We have just returned from a 6 night stay in the campsite which was wonderfully maintained by Isaac. We were fortunate enough to see a group of five wild dog as well as a very new baby elephant( mother still had a lot of goop hanging out!) We will definitely be returning to refresh our souls again

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FranP1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi G, Bookings at Limpopo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Greetings from Tui Block,

Thank you for your review of Limpopo River Lodge. It isa special place to unwind and recharge one's batteries.

Wonderful news that you saw the wild dogs - they have been around for a few weeks now and we are hoping they will den/have denned on Limpopo River Lodge. If you got any pictures we would be very grateful if you emailed us as we are gathering data and these dogs and trying to ID all of them.

Very Best
Limpopo River Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2019

We camped there over the long weekend and it really exceeded our expectations. Knowing that it did not fall within a nature reserve or national park, we expected good birding by the river but we did not expect to see the amount of game we saw. We saw elephants at each waterhole, plenty of plains game, wild dog tracks and great birding but the highlight must be hearing the resident leopard calling next to the river each evening. The campsites are very well kept and there was always hot water availible, even early morning. Will definately be back and recommend to others.

Room tip: campsites 1, 2 and 6 seem to have the best views of the river
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Theoboshoff19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi G, Bookings at Limpopo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2019

Morning Theo,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for your review of our Reserve. We are delighted that you saw so much. Just after you left guests saw the wild dogs at Motswiri Pan - seven of them - so they are back on the Reserve.

Thank you very much for the pictures of your cam trap - the leopard was incredible to see!

Please do visit us again.

Best Regards
Limpopo River Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2019 via mobile

A group of friends recently spent 3 days at the campsites of Limpopo River lodge. It was perfect!
Camping on the unspoilt
bank of the Limpopo river.
Excellent birding.
The campsites are shady under giant trees and right on the bank of the river.
The ablution facilities are clean, modern and well kept. Isak saw to it that we never ran out of hot water. Some of the group stayed in the cabins so we had the kitchen available to us. It is well equipped with a gas stove and fridge.
We will always think back with fondest memories to the calls of the fish eagle, the soothing sound of the river and the light of our campfires in this beautiful camp.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank EbenSnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi G, Bookings at Limpopo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2019

Morning Eben,

Thank you so much for visiting us and reviewing our facilities. We are very proud of the experience we provide and get to share with guests in this special part of Botswana.

There is nothing better than to get away from it all, have no comms and just absorb what nature offers.

We hope to welcome you and your friends back in the future.

Best Regards
Limpopo River Lodge


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2019

We camped for 2 nights and found the campsites clean, ablutions were basic but clean and water was hot. Game viewing from our own vehicle yielded spectacular photos of elephant, giraffe, wildebeest, kudu and of course many other smaller buck like impala and duiker, many stunning birds including African fish eagle. Of course, a trip to the Limpopo would not b complete without a croc or two floating by and my highlight was a rather heated chat with a line hippo at 4am...all in all we really enjoyed the time close to nature..and far away from cell towers.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brett o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi G, Bookings at Limpopo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2019

Morning Brett,

Thank you for your review of our Reserve - much appreciated.

Great news that you got good pictures of our creatures great and small. How lucky to have the hippo nearby - they are not always there but do put on a good show when they arrive.

We are now starting to see the predators again and this last week guests saw wild dog,lion and leopard to add to the collection of sightings.

Best Regards
Limpopo River Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews