We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly Idyllic Cottage with a beautiful interior...”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen
Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Fully fitted kitchen
Fantastic view from the cottage
living room with great views over the fields and doors leading onto patio & garden.
one of the lovely bathrooms
spacious twin bedroom
Twin room with fab views over the fields
Double room with great countyside views
Sofa bed in upstairs mezzannine
Upstairs living room mezzanine
Patio area
View of sunrise from the cottage
Front view of The Old Shippon & Churn cottage
large garden/patio area
View from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newport, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ronnie123...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A truly Idyllic Cottage with a beautiful interior and stunning views!”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The best accommodation by far that I have booked in the UK. Such a warm, cosy and clean cottage. The owners are so helpful and welcoming and all the little extras were an unexpected surprise, fruit, eggs, soap etc. A beautiful location with lambs and cows outside the property. Close to local towns. I would say you need a car to travel about but there are lovely walks outside your door. There was an excellent folder of tips and advice. I would stay here again when in the area. I was so pleased to have found this lovely cottage and it was a joy to stay there. Thank you Sarah!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Underfloor heating and Cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
Really lovely to meet you all and thank you for the great review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the cottage . The little extra's are my pleasure and were hopefully useful, we have just taken a delivery today of 10 new point of lay chickens which will provide lots more of our delicious free range eggs for guests to enjoy. I would love to welcome you back to Sambrook Manor cottages anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul T
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You can never have enough of this place!”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Service second to none, friendly helpful and can never do enough for you.
The property is still as fresh as it was when we first went 3 years ago. Clean, new and comfortable.
It is comfortable enough just to laze around in or superbly located for family orientated activities such as Ironbridge, Chester Zoo and historical Shrewsbury, all within very easy reach.
The village is nice and quiet with some very nice walks including a very quick one to the local pub with good food and ales.
There is nothing to not like about this cottage and everything to like.
If you want somewhere in Shropshire pick this or the smaller property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything and coming back
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banan083
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Great place, neat, clean and quiet.
The owner gave us a great service if we will, we will be happy to go back to!
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy G
1 review
“The Shippon was quiet, peaceful, spacious with a touch of luxury”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at The Shippon for the half term break. We had 2 families of 4 plus an additional relative. It is an ideal property for 2 families as there are 2 wings. All rooms are equally attractive and comfortable. We all loved the oak floors, doors and underfloor heating.
The mezzanine floor has a wonderful view and is a good area for additional sleeping space (with sofa bed).
The views of the sheep and cattle grazing was a treat. The visitor information was informative giving a couple of walks with instructions, straight from the cottage. There was a map and information about the Wrekin ( a hill / mountain in the locality), which we used and it was handy to have.
The children enjoyed the selections of books and games (including Wii) during the stay.
We enjoyed a meal at the pub in the village, The food was good and reasonably priced.
Trips out - we visited the Ironbridge Museums, with Blist Hill and the Jackfield Tile Museums being particularly good. Also The Monkey Forest at Trentham was well worth a visit. Ironbridge, Trentham and Shrewsbury are all approx 30 mins away by car.
Thank you to Sarah and family for providing such wonderful accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and style of the decocoaration and the underfloor heating and peaceful views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
It was great to meet you all including the children in the cupboard which still makes me laugh! There is so much to do in the area & it looks like you managed to keep everyone entertained. I also enjoy the monkey park as it is great for all ages and Trenthan gardens & Harkstone Follies are also excellent for active children. Thank you for taking the time to write a review & we would love to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$142
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing