We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect family get together”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Brewery Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Brewery Cottage
The Old Brewery Cottage Patio Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The Old Brewery Cottage
The Old Brewery Cottage
Patio Area
Courtyard in spring
Views of melkridge
Cottage second bedroom
Cottage second bedroom
Cottage Bathroom
Cottage Bathroom
Cottage towel store
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Landing
Cottage Sitting Room
Cottage Sitting Room
Cottage Sitting Room
Cottage Kitchen Homemade Jams,Chutneys and Marmalades for sale
Cottage downstairs bathroom
Cottage upstairs sitting room
Kitchen and dinning area ,door to ground floor bedroom
kitchen
Ground floor shower room
ground floor bedroom
Double bed in ground floor bedroom
upstairs sitting area , TV built in DVD player
Up stairs sitting area
comfy sofa in up stairs sitting area
Summer time
Early morning view from the top of the garden
View of the front of the house with steam rising from the river
View of the pond
Pond
New raised planter in courtyard
Breakfast!
Christmas at the cottage
Christmas
A frosty morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Melkridge, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah W
2 reviews
“A perfect family get together”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018

6 family members got together for a weekend to celebrate a birthday.
This is the most equipt holiday rental I have ever stayed in. I was easily able to make a full Sunday lunch.
The cottage is clean, high quality beds/bedding.
We arrived to freshly baked scones and jam which were delicious.
It's very close to attractions such as The Sill, Vindolanda -although you will need a car.
We are planning to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2018
Thank you Sarah for taking the time to leave us a lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jandtsmum
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We are just home from a week's stay at the Old Brewery Cottage - we had a fabulous time. The cottage is perfectly located for exploring Hadrian's Wall and is very comfortable and well equipped. We were a party of 5 adults and there was plenty of space for us all. We were made to feel very welcome by the owner and were greeted with freshly baked scones, homemade jam and fresh eggs laid by the chickens in the garden.

Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and exploring Hadrian's Wall best wishes Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swchester...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just spent a week here for the second time with my family and Ruby dog!! x such outstanding accommodation....we love the cottage and surrounding area.... nothing is to much trouble for Jacqueline the owner, anything goes....you're on holiday!! Thanks again Jacqueline and Ron, see you next year!! xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you Sue again it was a pleasure to have you stay again. Max is missing Ruby already! Best wishes Jacqueline Ron & the boys x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K
1 review
“The best find ever.”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was our second visit. Will go back again and again. Beautiful character cottage with everything you need. Host Jacqueline on hand with homemade pies, quiches and cakes made to order. Delicious. Variety of home made jams, marmalade and chutneys available as well as fresh eggs from chickens in the garden. Just a wonderful place for lots of r and r or loads of history just a stones throw away. Highly recommended just don't book when we want to go!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you Jo for your lovely review it is much appreciated , see you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyandJ...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy cottage with every amenity imaginable”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in The Old Brewery Cottage for two weeks while volunteering at Vindolanda. The cottage is clean, roomy and unbelievably comfortable with extra throws and blankets for chilly September evenings. The beautiful garden, the source of eggs, jams and recipe ideas must provide an ideal venue for barbecues on summer evenings. We did almost all of our own cooking, making full use of the well equipped kitchen, only discovering Jacqueline's delicious home cooking towards the end of our trip. Not only were we only ten minutes from Vindolanda but Hadrian's Wall, Hexham and Haltwhistle are all close and well worth a visit.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Thank you Wendy for taking the time to leave me a super review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$148
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing