We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Coachhouse Conservatory
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse window
Coachhouse Conservatory
Coachouse downstairs toilet
Coachhouse Coffee Machine
Coachhouse Sitting Room/Kitchen
sitting area in main garden
Early morning view from the top of the garden
View of the pond
The courtyard
Another view of the pond in summer
Max enjoining the sun !
Breakfast!
New chairs and layout
Frosty morning
Early morning photo of steam rising from the river in front of my house
Sitting area beside the pond
Dahlias in full flower
March 2018 Beast from the East!
March2018
Max enjoying Beast from the East 2018
Ready for Christmas 2018
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Melkridge, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Curly1971
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in the coach house by myself whilst extended family had the 3 bed Cottage. Lovely property in a really good spot for exploring Hadrian's Wall. Clean, warm, convenient - Jacqueline had thought of everything. The decor gave the upstairs a 'boutique' feel to it. Lovely big towels. Welcome package was amazing (Jam, Eggs, Butter, Scones!) and my nieces loved the Jelly Beans (I loved the chocolates).... Can't think of a negative about this property and would definitely return. I personally didn't miss having a shower (bath only in Coach House) but this might impact on some peoples choice - so please read property description before deciding to stay. Didn't use kitchen much but it certainly seemed to have everything you could need.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you Christine for your lovely review ,I was a pleasure to have you and your family stay . We don't have a full shower in this cottage because of the height we cant get the water pressure up stairs that's why we put in the hand held shower in the bath to wash hair etc. and its a lovely deep bath to have a good soak in after a long walk on the wall! Glad you enjoyed the treats, hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
Gateshead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic and beautiful place this is, set in the small village of Melkridge it has bags of character, the decor is excellent and the cottage itself is immaculate. We were greeted by Jacqueline who is very friendly and was shown how everything works, you need for nothing everything has been thought of, all you need is your clothes and some food if you are planning on cooking. We were also amazed at the welcome pack, fresh homemade scones with butter and homemade jam, fresh eggs from their hens, a full bowl of fruit, a bowl of sweets, coffee, all sorts of tea and most importantly a bottle of wine in the fridge!!!
I advise anybody to stay here what an amazing place.
Jacqueline and Ronnie also showed us their 3 bedroom property for rental that place is outstanding it has a real wow factor!!!!
So thank you Jacqueline and Ronnie it was a lovely couple of days, and Bailey (the dog) loved it too!!!
Ps hope you found a colour match

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your great review I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and yes we found the colour match its fine. Hope to have you stay again and Bailey of course! thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawnbC273...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay.”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This is a beautiful little place to stay. The owners have thought of everything you could possibly want or need. Excellent and would definitely return. Would recommend this cottage to anyone. Good Base for surrounding areas and local amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you Dawn for your lovely review , and thanks for staying with us and would love to have you stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ys2001
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little home from home”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful little coach house. It is traditionally decorated, which really suits the property. It is quite small but more than perfect for us with our dog. The conservatory was lovely to sit in giving good extras space downstairs.
Jaqueline had thought of everything you could possible need, from New sponges in the bathrooms to a bottle of wine in the fridge. This is definitely the best equipped Self catering we have ever had. And we have had a lot.The garden isn't enclosed but we could let the dog out and keep an eye on him which was great and let us all relax. There are a few good walks in the area,but many went through fields with animals, so we stuck to the cycle routes which were great for walking with the dog. There were not many places to eat with a dog, but The Black Bull in Haltwhistle was great and the owners cafe La Toot were dog friendly. The dog is not allowed in most of the Roman sites, although we did manage a few.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Conservatory area
Liked least: There was no shower or WiFi, but this was clear in the advertisement
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, I am sorry about the garden it is normally fenced off but someone reversed their car into it breaking the posts ,we have some new ones on order should be fixed soon.
Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuffyLana...
Lanarkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, homely cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

On arrival we had a warm welcome from Jacqueline and shown around the cottage. This cottage is the best we have stayed in, everything that you could need was there and so many extras (too many to list) were available. Scones, homemade jam, eggs, milk and wine were a lovely touch and very much appreciated by us. Towels and bedding were of a very high quality and the cottage has been very tastefully decorated and furnished. The cottage is very cosy and peaceful which we really enjoyed and is also well situated for sightseeing and visiting Hadrian's Wall. Both Jacqueline and Ronnie were very friendly and helpful. We will certainly be back especially as dogs are welcome, it's the first cottage that our dog Kandi has settled in right away. Thank you again Jacqueline.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review I am very pleased you and the beautiful Kandi enjoyed your stay, Ronnie is thrilled to get a mention!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing