We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous little gem in a great location for...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning
the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
The interior is bright and airy with fantastic views, especially from the bay.
The view from the cottage of the Cheviot Hills
The garden at the rear extends to over 2 acres
Level access via the garden gate, secure parking for cars. Garage parking for mobility scooters
We also take winter bookings!
fabulous sunsets
Horizon of the Otterburn ranges
On the hill behind the cottage
The Farne Islands
Bamburgh Castle
Coach House floor plan
New Year 2015 at the Coach House - Nuthatch
Roebuck in velvet 11.1.15.  Roe Deer graze on the lawns most days
We love our deer, but they are not supposed to do this!
The doe who will hopefully produce a couple of fawns around June time
May time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thropton, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lyndsey C
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous little gem in a great location for seeing Northumberland delights”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for his 40th Birthday in December, with our two Beagles Parker and Stella.

The coach house is a great place to base from, we did some lovely sight seeing and walking around the areas. It is also very close to Rothbury so a trip to Cragside is a must! One of my favourite places to visit.

The accommodation was perfect for us, very clean and had everything you need for in a quaint conversion. The kitchen had all and more, the shower was nice and powerful (welcoming after a cold walking day) and the owners left a great amount of information which we found useful including recommendations for walks and eating out.

A previous review stated it felt as though you were overlooked by the main house and although it is adjacent (and down a bit), it is over a dirt track road and on an angle so we didn't feel overlooked at all, it was nice and private and has wonderful views and a great garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed
Liked least: For Beagles the fenced garden wont keep them in but thats a breed issue!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadFerret...
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not quite big enough”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the coach house, the location was great although we expected it to be a little more private. It's right next to a large house that directly looks into the bedroom and the conservatory area, so we felt we had to have the blinds drawn which was a shame as the view is lovely. We also did not realise that it had no dishwasher or washing machine, not really a problem as we were only there for 3 days but would not want to spend a wet week without either.
The whole property is really no bigger than a decent hotel room, we would have liked somewhere with a nice comfy sofa to relax on rather than the bed. The bathroom also does not have a full sized bath, which on a cold November day would have been nicer than a shower. It was great that they allowed our dog and the garden is great for that. The general location for getting out and about is great too and the property was clean and well looked after.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: They accept dogs
Liked least: Felt overlooked and no sofa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
This is a very disappointing review, not just for its generally negative content, but more particularly because of the factual inaccuracies it contains. One has to accept that everyone?s opinions and may perceptions differ, but objective facts are a different matter. To the extent that the untrue assertions made in this review may deter potential visitors in future, and thereby affect our business, they are serious misrepresentations.
It is said that ?It's right next to a large house? This is an exaggeration. The Coach House is separated from the main house by a lane and a driveway and a substantial hedge. It is situated on higher ground than, and indeed overlooks, the main house.
It is asserted that it ?directly looks into the bedroom and the conservatory area,? this is simpy untrue. From no window in the main house is there a view into the bedroom of the Coach House.
It is said that there is no washing machine. This is also untrue. One is available for use by visitors on request (noted in the information file in the cottage).
The preference for a ?comfy sofa? is expressed. That is a point which we shall consider and consult on with visitors in future. However, the way in which that point is made gives the impression that there is nothing else to sit on other than the bed and omits the presence of three single armchairs in that room.
It is most unfortunate that these matters were not raised at the time. We would have been only too happy to welcome the visitors into the main house, for instance, in order to put their minds at rest in relation to the view available from it.
Equally it is preferable that visitors do not simply quit the cottage without saying a word, leaving it insecure (unless by prior arrangement), and that they account for breakages and return the key.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweedles6...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy weekend away”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were warmly welcomed by the owner Graham, who is friendly and chatty.
The cottage is very cosy, compact and well equipped. Although quietly tucked away it is also very close to the village and local amenities. Shower is very powerful! It would be nice to return - especially in the Spring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Decking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinmos
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at the Coach House for one week, for our 40th wedding anniversary.We really enjoyed our stay there.The cottage is small but perfectly formed,and ideal for that special occasion.We found Graham,the owner,very friendly and helpful.We happened to mention that it was our Ruby wedding anniversary,and when we arrived back after a day's exploring we found a bottle of champagne left for us in the cottage.Well worth a visit!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOpr27
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful peaceful retreat for two, comfy little getaway for a long weekend”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here this weekend for some peace and quiet out of the city. We got excactly that and a lovely warm welcome from the owner Graham. Wine and chocolates too, a nice surprise and very thoughful. Accommodation is great, lovely and cosy with wonderful views overlooking the Cheviot hills. Great garden and decked area if you don't want to venture far. Though we enjoyed cycling and walking up onto the hills and moors straight from the door step so many routes to try we only did one or two as there for short stay, though many to try. The owners supply many things that some accommodation doesn't, towels, hand wash, shower gel. The kitchen is well stocked too with the addition washing liquid, tea-towels, kitchen roll etc - all the little things you normally pack to take with you as well as tea / coffee etc. Will definitely return again in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you for a generous review. It was a delight to meet you both. . We really look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes and kind regards, Graham and Jackie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;