We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning
the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
The interior is bright and airy with fantastic views, especially from the bay.
The view from the cottage of the Cheviot Hills
The garden at the rear extends to over 2 acres
Level access via the garden gate, secure parking for cars. Garage parking for mobility scooters
We also take winter bookings!
fabulous sunsets
Horizon of the Otterburn ranges
On the hill behind the cottage
The Farne Islands
Bamburgh Castle
Coach House floor plan
New Year 2015 at the Coach House - Nuthatch
Roebuck in velvet 11.1.15.  Roe Deer graze on the lawns most days
We love our deer, but they are not supposed to do this!
The doe who will hopefully produce a couple of fawns around June time
May time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thropton, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kevinmos
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at the Coach House for one week, for our 40th wedding anniversary.We really enjoyed our stay there.The cottage is small but perfectly formed,and ideal for that special occasion.We found Graham,the owner,very friendly and helpful.We happened to mention that it was our Ruby wedding anniversary,and when we arrived back after a day's exploring we found a bottle of champagne left for us in the cottage.Well worth a visit!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOpr27
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful peaceful retreat for two, comfy little getaway for a long weekend”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here this weekend for some peace and quiet out of the city. We got excactly that and a lovely warm welcome from the owner Graham. Wine and chocolates too, a nice surprise and very thoughful. Accommodation is great, lovely and cosy with wonderful views overlooking the Cheviot hills. Great garden and decked area if you don't want to venture far. Though we enjoyed cycling and walking up onto the hills and moors straight from the door step so many routes to try we only did one or two as there for short stay, though many to try. The owners supply many things that some accommodation doesn't, towels, hand wash, shower gel. The kitchen is well stocked too with the addition washing liquid, tea-towels, kitchen roll etc - all the little things you normally pack to take with you as well as tea / coffee etc. Will definitely return again in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you for a generous review. It was a delight to meet you both. . We really look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes and kind regards, Graham and Jackie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F
Haddenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EVERYTHING WE HOPED FOR AND MORE”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Accommodation lived up to expectations, was everything we had hoped for and more..
The owners of the coach house had thought of everything you could possibly need to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Everything was there to start us off, just in case we had forgotten anything, tea, coffee, salt, pepper, washing up liquid etc. Flowers, chocolates and wine much appreciated on our arrival.
Views here were amazing, with outside decking, table and chairs!! We recommend staying up late at night to see the amazing night sky's.
Two dogs came on holiday with us, they also were catered for. Dog bowls, poo bags under the sink!! even though we had our own. Garden 2 acres enclosed Diesel and fudge thought this was amazing. We all found maps and guide books rely helpful, having travelled from coast to Kielder and Hadrians wall. Last day we found Simonside forest car park and walks near by, FOR NEXT TIME.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thank you Again”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What can we say that were haven't already said in our last review. Another fantastic weekend at Lynnholme courtesy of Graham & Jacqueline. The coachhouse is a fantastic base to explore Northumberland. Just staying here is peace its self the views are amazing of the surrounding countryside and Dexter our dog loved the garden. Graham has thought of everything you could need, cant wait to return . Thanks again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackBenso...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed with our 3 dogs late March 2015, we had a great welcome and shown directly to the Coach House by Graham (thanks for the welcome wine and chocolate!). The Coach House was perfect for us humans and dogs. Loads of outdoor space for the dogs to safely explore and inside was warm and cosy. Fabulous sunsets out on the decking, we had all kinds of weather, sun, wind, rain and snow! But mainly dry and sunny. Would highly recommend the Coach House to anyone holidaying with their dogs.

Plenty of local places to visit and walking is exceptional, the local Three Wheat Heads allows dogs into the bar where food is served (food is fantastic-try the restaurant).

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location was fantastic for walking, the property is perfect for those with dogs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing