We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Lakeview Resort(Chidenguele)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumbe Lodge(Chidenguele)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
88
30
7
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
30
7
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgeoutdoor showerluxury tentslong driveseafoodgreat foodthe ownerdoesn tbeautiful lakewonderful staffrooms are comfortableplace is beautifulspent nightsromantic weekendabsolute luxuryhidden gemthree days
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017

This wonderful destination on the edge of a pretty lake feels so remote after a lengthy 4WD journey to arrive (Note: I understand the condition of roads in can vary depending on season/weather so make sure you check if you need a 4WD for access) The lodges feel like absolute luxury set facing the beautiful lake and I was transported to heaven sitting on my front deck sipping an early morning cup of tea (delivered quietly by staff at 6am) and watching the colours of sunrise disperse across the sky. There are plenty of activities on the lake available, or take in a massage or beauty treatment to unwind in the lakeside bungalow. Topped off with lovely meals (how do they contrive to provide such high class cuisine in such an isolated location?) my only disappointment was not staying longer!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

So often we drive through Mozambique for the beaches and forget about these huge fresh water lakes. Naara is right on the edge of Lake Nhambavale with a gorgeous rimflow pool overlooking the edge. Its also a great stop-over if you are heading further North in MOzambique, but make sure to spend a minimum of 3 days as you will want to do both beach and lake activities.

There are plenty of activities on hand. The beach is 2km away (DEFINITE 4x4) with some great snorkelling up North. You can drive on the beach with a permit. Naara is on the lake itself and offers equipment for lost of activities including kayaking, SUP, watersking and wakeboarding. The equipment all looked good quality and in excellent condition.

On that note the service is second to none. The staff and Pablo (the owner) simply cannot do enough for you (and that includes personally transporting the 2 wakeboards we forgot on the banks of the lake all the way to Johannesburg!)

All the rooms seem to have Lake Views as far as I could tell and are really lovely with huge outdoor showers as well as indoor if you prefer.

So overall, gorgeous spot, friendly service and really attractive pub/ dining area too with some quite unique tables and seating areas. We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mnandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We are a couple of 60+ and traveling quite a lot around the globe and visiting mainly natural and historical places . Mostly we enjoy lovely boutique places as well small personal lodges. We are glad to share our experiences in a brief form below (including photos) with YOU:
The road to that lodge is as lots of place close to the sea very sandy (4x4 WD). The Naara Eco Lodge is lovely situated on a hilly shore of a long fresh water lake called "Lagoa Inhampavale"

+ . Infrastructure and pool lovely situated, however got long in the tooth
. Reception, bar & restaurant quite new even if not too cosy
. Good Facilities: swimming (in the lagoon or pool) kayaking, horse riding
. Very nice kitchen (meals should be ordered in advance)

- . "Luxury-tents": got long in the tooth (should need a little face lifting!): floor made from concrete, small "bathroom" with 2 sinks & separated toilet & shower (& 1 outdoor shower)
. In our tent: one bed sheet dirty, missing 2 tooth puller & paper towels (1st night no electricity)
. Host/owner during our stay not on place (obviously only half of the time in Mosambik)
. Most of the time quite loud noise of a nearby generator
. In case of bad weather not lots to do (beside Spa)
. Breakfast very poor (no fresh juice, no fruit, no yoghurt or müesli, no toast bread....)

> . All a little neglected and ratty: far away of attribute "Luxury"!
> . All this although only 6 guests and about twice the staff amount!

>>> I recommend this place (for this price & "Luxury"-attribute) only with lots of restrictions!

Room Tip: All tent houses the same, more or less close to the pool or lake side.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank world-traveller8725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGardensDili, Owner at Naara Eco Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our surroundings, infrastructure and pool lovely. We are happy you enjoyed our food and were able to enjoy some activities, although the weather did not help much.

We will look at adding “rainy friendly” activities further to our already existing games, community walking, Spa treatments, movie room (Netflix), and library. We will also try to adapt some of the activities that are more “sunny friendly activity” (which include horse riding, stand-up paddle, kayaking, water sky, sea-safari, boat rides, banana-rides for children, community and nature hikes, kite-surfing). However, unfortunately it is a fact that any beach hotel is much nicer when the sun is shining!

We are also sorry about the noise of the nearby generator, which was very short lived (only lasted a few days) and has already been addressed through an official request to competent governmental authorities which have forbidden the use of noisy generators in this area of Chidenguele. So next time you come we ensure you will only hear birds, crickets and frogs .

We are also sorry you only met Pablo for part of your stay but he had to travel to Maputo to purchase a large generator as, the very day before your arrival our solar system started to give problems. Now we can guarantee that there will always be electricity through our 3-system (solar, main-line, and generator).

I am sorry you found our breakfast poor – this is rather strange as the feedback we usually get is that our breakfast is very good as we do always serve fresh fruit, freshly made juice, museli and a choice of main course which can be toast, eggs and bacon, savory crepes, or sweet crumpets. We will definitely check on what happened with your breakfast, but I am very surprised that you say you didn’t get even bread, juice or fruits – I never heard of anyone having only coffee and eggs for breakfast at Naara and I will check on this…

The tents have been designed to be “luxury-tents” in an eco-lodge setting, with king-beds, orthopedic mattress, high-quality sheets and duvet, air-conditioner and separated bathroom with double sink and two showers. We are sorry you don’t find this tent luxury enough in an mid-cost eco-lodge setting (surly we could be much more luxury, but then the price would be much higher...). The floor is actually made of a rather expensive material, called “burnet cement” finished with high-quality high-gloss painting which makes the room cool without making it cold like tiles (although tiles would be cheaper). We chose not to use wood in all floors (which would cost the same) due to the negative environment impact. As you said, the cost we charge for the luxury we provide is fair, but you cannot compare our level of luxury with those lodges that charge at least 2-5+ times more than us.

We do not use paper towels as we provide soft cotton towels. Like this we decrease waste while increasing comfort. But we can provide an option of giving paper towels to guests who prefer those to cotton towels. We are sorry one of your sheets was dirty, I am surprised by this and will take it up with our laundry department.

All in all I understand that your stay was still nice and I hope that you will take good memories from Naara while we strive to further improve our little lodge based on your feedback.

Kidn Regrads,
Leila & Pablo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

This was heavenly. The food was incredible. We had amazing seafood. The chef even cooked the fish we caught while here. The accommodation was stunning, each room had an in door and our door shower, and a private deck to watch the sunset. The owner was generous with his time and took us spear fishing twice during our week long stay. My kids rode horses, played pool, swam in the lake and swam in the pool. Everyone went to sleep exhausted. Our family had an amazingly relaxing visit. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

But ive i should have to stay in tented camps like this the rest of my life, i'l sign the contract!

Pros; To much to write down, ive i should have to name one it would be the stunning view.

Cons; Verly little to write down, ive i should have to name one it would be the quality of the food. Its good but not exceptional.

I think the picture tells the story.

The road to the tentedcamp is a dirt road. Its not a very difficult one, but as you can see (the pictures) sometimes it goes wrong. My advise, dont let your girlfriend drive, like i did ;)

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FransL98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews