We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
A fabulous modernist house, recently updated, 5 minutes from the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A fabulous modernist house, recently updated, 5 minutes from the beach
North Norfolk's beaches are incredible, including the one at Old Hunstanton The garden is wonderful for playing in the sun, and in the rain there is always the Den
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
A fabulous modernist house, recently updated, 5 minutes from the beach
North Norfolk's beaches are incredible, including the one at Old Hunstanton
The garden is wonderful for playing in the sun, and in the rain there is always the Den
Read, relax and look out to sea from this gorgeous sitting room
Let the children watch TV while the adults enjoy the view
Or just simply sit and stare
The kitchen is small but boasts a dishwasher, but there is a huge American style fridge
The dining table seats 8, as does the table outside on the deck
The Den is brilliant for a rainy day, or for getting away from the adults (it's soundproof!)
The master bedroom is upstairs and you can sit in bed, drink a cup of tea and see the sea
The en-suite bathroom
The second bedroom
This bunk room is next to the twin room
This small bunk room is off the utility room and has doors onto the garden
There is plenty of washing and drying room to clean up after a day on the beach
A place to relax
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Old Hunstanton, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
12Sdeb
Retford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just returned from a lovely weeks family holiday. Ongar Lodge was a brilliant place to stay , big enough for two families and very comfortable and well equipped. We spent most days on the beach ( we rented a beach hut ) and either ate at the house or at the local pubs which were very good. The location of the house is a big plus. 5 minutes from the lovely beach and cafe. Apart from supermarket shopping ( there is a local shop within walking distance for essentials ) you don't need to use your car at all.
I would recommend Ongar for families ( large garden and zen room ) but also for a chilled holiday for two ( the views of the sea from the lounge are a must ).
We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R
Stapleford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect location, close to beach and great places to eat”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a fantastic time staying at Ongar Lodge. We stayed with my children and my sisters family. We arrived to a lovely welcome gift of local bread and cakes which were heavenly.
The house comfortably housed our 2 families, with children loving the escape to the Zen Den at the bottom of the garden to escape the adults.
Within 5 minutes walk across the golf course and over the dunes we were on the beach, morning and evening.
The house is so conveniently located for all the local attractions including Sandringham, Brancaster, Wells, Holkham and Burnham Market.
The views from the lounge on the first floor towards the beach were very much appreciated, sitting with a glass of wine at the end of the day.
We will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janek47
Harpenden, England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house was better than the pictures suggest even though they were lovely! The location is perfect, close to two excellent pubs one and within 5 minutes of the dunes if that. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen easily large enough for two families of four to eat and the den super for the kids to do their thing. Would return in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design & location.
Liked least: The fact there was only a bath in the en suite but that's a v. minor issue.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imo1986
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great holiday.”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at the Ongar lodge for a long weekend in November and we had a great time. The property had everything you could ask for and was a great location for the beach. The facilities were fantastic and is perfect for two families. Would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent house for stay by the seaside”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I found the house in excellent condition and position for a holiday with my four grandchildren and extended family. We walked through the door and was thrilled with the clean and modern property. It was well appointed with all 'mod cons' and equipment.
We loved the sea views over the dunes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern decoration and position
Liked least: Not a lot
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing