We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Mistletoe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Stelling Minnis, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MariaMarc...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It's a lovely cottage, beautiful surroundings, peaceful and quiet. I wanted a place to study and this was a good place to do so. Plus, The Cottage is located close to several libraries, such as Templeman library at The University of Kent which opens from early morning to midnight, this was great.

Dianne (owner) lives in the next door's house and she's wonderful. She welcome me kindly on my arrival and was super helpful during my stay. There was also a complimentary Apple juice bottle at my arrival and it was delicious. I really enjoyed the stay and the whole experience, thanks Dianne!! Much appreciated :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kentish hideaway.”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Little Mistletoe is a log cabin in the garden of the owner. Sounds a bit ordinary, but when you arrive you realise it is a beautiful garden set in peaceful country side with stunning views on the way to it. There is peace and quiet in abundance and it's location makes Little Mistletoe ideal as a base for touring Kent and Sussex. There is all you need for your stay and it is somewhere you can really relax. As out-of-the-way as it is there are all mod cons., including internet connection,Sky and a dvd player.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Mattress and intermittent water supply to shower.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Hello Bill, Glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet at a Little Misteltoe. Just to reassure further guests, the intermittent water pressure in the shower was due to a lag in the pressure vessel switching valve which maintains water pressure from a borehole pump. This has now been fixed. We are so isolated here that mains water pressure isn't up to standard hence the borehole installation which makes for pure and delicious fresh water which is cleaned by UV light and has been checked in a lab and keeps the water pressure at sufficient pressure to run all appliances. One of the attractions of this remote location is that it's all run on renewables such as wind turbines and solar pv for your electricity.
The bed has been made softer by a matrass bumper and we have now also bought a vintage radio which is loved already. Thank you very much for that tip, as we like to improve our guests stay where possible.
Kind regards, Dianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heather76...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil, clean, cozy little holiday home”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent the weekend at Little Mistletoe with our two grandchildren. I was a little apprehensive as to whether it would be warm enough in a wooden dwelling, but it was really warm even when we turned off the heating at night.
Our grandchildren aged 8 and 10 really liked sleeping above the sitting room/ kitchen area, which they reached climbing up a ladder.
There isn't a conventional oven just a hob and microwave, so you need to bear that in mind when planning any meals you want to cook. I liked the large bathroom that has plenty of space on top of a large set of drawers for all my toiletries.
The owner was really friendly and helpful.
Little Mistletoe is situated down a very long single track road that is very potholed and muddy. Careful driving is necessary to avoid damage to your car tyres. We were fortunate we didn't meet cars in the other direction as there are not passing areas. The position is great if you want a really really rural break. The nearest shop is 3 miles away, back first along the track road. Having said that of course once in your car you are not far from Canterbury, Whitstable and other places so it is a good base for a longer stay at a reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daletrave...
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy chalet very close to Canterbury”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I wanted to visit Kent because of the large amount of English Heritage properties in the area. I picked Little Mistletoe because of its proximity to Canterbury. It was a little hard to find at first because it is down a little lane off the main road to Canterbury and we arrived in the dark. As soon as we got to the chalet we were greeted by Dianne, the extremely friendly and helpful owner, who gave us a quick explanation of light switch positions and amenities. The chalet itself is a simple dining/kitchen area, shower room and a bedroom. A spare bed is also situated in the roof space in the dining area. The fridge is only small, luckily we had not brought too much to go in it on the first night. The bedroom has a TV with a full Sky TV package, brilliant for lazy days in! Despite visiting in cold January, the chalet was very warm, with heating in the bedroom and dining room. Location wise it was ideal for quick visits to Canterbury, Port Lympne Reserve, Leeds Castle and Dover Castle. The property is a little quirky, and not for those looking for the height of luxury. However it afforded us a comfortable, cosy, and convenient visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve J
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy accomodation”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Myself, wife and dog spent a week's walking holiday based at Little Mistletoe during September. The accommodation was comfy and warm, the setting was beautiful and peaceful and the neighbour were very friendly.

It was easy to drive to the tourist haunts or we could just set off from the door to investigate the local lanes bridleways and woodland.

The owner, (next door), was very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: TV in the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;