We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$144
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$130
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$157
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$169
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
225
136
40
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
136
40
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely groundsfour poster bedwedding coordinatortrouser presswedding venueroom was spacious and cleanpark and ridelovely hotelevening meal and breakfastuneven floorsold buildingevery member of staffsmall hotelan overnight stayshort drivebooked this hotelvisiting canterbury
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We could fault nothing at this hotel - friendly and welcoming staff, a very comfortable and wonderfully quiet room, and an excellent breakfast!
Cannot recommend highly enough and would definitely return if ever in this part of the country again!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WiltshireJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Howfield Manor is surrounded by some very lovely gardens and walks. There was plenty of parking space in the hotel grounds. We were greeted by very pleasant staff and taken to our room. There were quite a few stairs and no lifts. The room was spacious and clean so was the ensuite bathroom . We loved the four poster bed with comfy mattress and pillows. The windows opened nicely to give us lovely bird songs and fresh air. The view was obscured by a very beautiful tree so we didn't mind that at all. The room had a TV, hairdryer, iron, trouser press, kettle, and fridge. The wardrobe hanging space (we were hoping for Narnia) was not that big but adequate for us as we only booked for one night.
The bar facilities were a little odd. When we went there it appeared to be unmanned but there was a phone on the bar that you rang 0 and staff came to serve you immediately. Their varieties of alcohol was a little limited but this didn't really bother us. We had our evening meal in the hotel and it was very tasty. The atmosphere was a little too quiet at first and it really felt like you could hear a pin drop. The music was then switched on at a very low level and it was better. We were very glad we ate there. Breakfast was also very tasty. We had a little bit of everything because we really are a pair of greedy piggies. So there were several different cereals, fruit, fruit salad, yoghurt, pastries and cooked breakfast. Not the very best in the world of course but very nice and plenty of it. Tea, coffee, milk and at least three different fruit juices were also provided. We left feeling like it was a really lovely hotel with really lovely staff too. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing stay this could be the place for you. We hope to go back again soon.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Squashyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Where to start.. We had our wedding at Howfield Manor. Nothing was too much trouble the staff worked tirelessly. Excellent service with a smile. The food was phenomenal, normally at weddings you can find the meat dry or cold but not here food was perfect. The venue itself is fantastic, lovely grounds. Has a lovely marque and a new summer bar which was fab. The team at Howlfield i can't thank enough for making the day run so smoothly. Very accommodating, breakfast was superb. We will definitely be booking a room for our anniversary in the near future. I had the best day of my life at Howfield Manor. It was truly special.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Just came back from Howfield manor and my fiance and i have had a lovely stay, the pictures on here and Booking.com doesnt give it enough justice which is always lovely lol. Beautiful grounds, pleasent staff, room was lovely and comfortable (we stayed in the superior room 1 ) which i would recommend. It is a little old fashioned but it just adds to the charm of the place. Beautiful grounds and our room was overlooking a lake and hills. Oh and theres a restraunt attached to it with tables and chairs outside :-). There is a logging company opposite the hotel and slightly to the side but honsetly you very rarely hear any noise and its hidden by the trees. Another note is the stairs are slightly steep to the room but thats a tiny niggle. all and all a lovely hotel and would recomend it to anyone :-) x

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Last year I searched Kent for a small independent hotel that could take 20-25 people ..I was thrilled the day I came across Howfield & lovely Haley showed us around even though we turned up unexpectedly .Part of the building is very old &.I imedddiatly fell in love with its quirkiness .
We stayed there on the 20-22 April which turned out to be the sunniest & warmest weekend of the year , we were truly blessed ☀️☀️☀️..All the staff were lovely, the grounds beautiful & the food excellent ..
Perfect place to stay with a short drive or bus to Canterbury or better still a stroll along the river will get you there




Stayed: April 2018
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews