We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very relaxing Christmas time.”
other travellers have booked this property
living room with french doors to private patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room with french doors to private patio
Bedroom Living room with cosy wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
living room with french doors to private patio
Bedroom
Living room with cosy wood burner
Outside the cottage showing gated driveway.
Eating area with french doors leading out to private patio
Bedroom
Kitchen area
Shower roon
Shared garden backing onto private woods
Deer in the garden.
Patio Area
View of cottage in March
patio & french doors
shared garden
shared garden
patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Woodgreen, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kimberley...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very relaxing Christmas time.”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It was our first time visiting the New Forest and we were not disappointed. Avon Vale is in a perfect location for shops and walks. When we arrived we were greeted by Georgie and some delicious ginger bread biscuits. The cottage had lots of information from how to use the TV, local shops, pubs and maps for walks. We loved the wood burner and it kept us very warm during the winter weather. The kitchen is basic (no oven) but works perfectly well so long as you bring food to cook in a pan you are fine. We left feeling well rested and our dogs loved the walks too. It was reassuring to know that Georgie was close by if we needed her for anything. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burner
Liked least: No oven
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT010...
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cosy little cottage, off the beaten track but amongst other hidden houses.”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely 3 night stay, with our 3 dogs at Avon Vale.
Georgie (The owner) was very accommodating, good quality bedding, lovely comfortable bed, small but perfectly adequate kitchen.
Would stay again when visiting the area.
Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Although in the garden of owners house, we had total privacy.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda1959...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful area clean cottage”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage was very clean on arrival and the owner was very friendly. We were just a few hundred yards from the green where horses and cows grazed. The whole area of the New Forest is beautiful. From our cottage it was about a quarter of a mile to the local shop which was a lovely walk, especially in the morning. On the downside, the sofa in the cottage had seen better days and was quite uncomfortable and also one extra easy chair would have been beneficial. The kitchen was small with very little storage and hardly anywhere to prepare food. The shower room could do with a mirror, but otherwise it was very clean and useable. I would definitely recommend the area, but the cottage just needs a few minor adjustments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, and the animals roaming around.
Liked least: The sofa and the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
sofa has now been replaced
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101Pippa
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well equipped, cosy cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here with our border collie for a couple of nights in March this year. The cottage was spotlessly clean, had everything we could possibly have needed , had a lovely kitchen and a bed which was so comfortable we both had an excellent nights sleep. There is a little outside patio to sit and read a book or enjoy a glass of wine , and Georgie the owner could not have been more friendly or hospitable. When the evenings closed in and it got a little chilly the woodburning fire kept us all cosy and warm. We were allowed use of the garden area, which is great for dogs, and the cottage is located right on the Avon Vale footpath and next to a large green/common so lots of opportunities for walks. The local pub served a great lunch and we bought lots of local foods and goodies from the new and impressive community shop in the village. We will definately be coming back as we felt very at home here and its the perfect location for exploring the New Forest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location, cleanliness and comfort of the cottage and the warm welcome
Liked least: there was nothing we didnt like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$50
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing