We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique and beautiful place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
2nd Bedroom
Lounge
Lounge
View over the Whitwell Valley
Nearby coastal walk a sight to behold!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitwell, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John L
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A unique and beautiful place”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have recently stayed at Primrose Cottage with our daughter son in law and their toddler.
The property is a sympathetically restored station with many original features. It is very well maintained, very clean. Graham and Julia are friendly and helpful. A beautiful peaceful place to relax with stunning scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Thank you for kind comments. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and you found the standard very high which is always our aim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S D
Newchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Still Excellent”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our second visit to the old Whitwell Railway Station which has been converted into three excellent holiday cottages. Our first stay was at Whistle Stop, on this occasion we stayed at Bluebell Cottage.
Once again our cottage was excellent in all respects. Our hosts were extremely helpful and welcoming and credit to the holiday let business. The cottage is smaller than Whistle Stop, but none the less well equipped, tidy and most importantly spotlessly clean. This is a two bedroom cottage with one double bed and two single beds in a second room, both on the first floor. Not that you will need them in summer, but both rooms are equipped with wall mounted storage heaters should you care to visit in the winter months. Both rooms have ample storage for clothing etc plus there is extra storage on the landing.
On the ground floor is situated the bathroom/WC, kitchen diner and living room. Again all well maintained and equipped.
The premises are dog friendly (well trained dogs) but do not smell of dogs as some other premises we have visited have. Property comes with free WiFi (code provided in the welcome pack).
The surrounding grounds are excellent as are the views.
We would highly recommend these holiday cottages but would advise to book early as due to their popularity and all round standard they get booked up quickly.
PS the owners will provide you with a discount code for the ferries when you book which could save you a tiny sum, especially during the high season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Our aim is that all that visit enjoy their stay and go home feeling refreshed so thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best holiday accommodation ever stayed at.”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Beautiful conversion of an old railway station. Excellent facilities with warm and welcoming hosts. Ideally situated for touring the island. Plenty of room for the four of us.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith B
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation with Bags of Character - and Views!”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The former railway station at Whitwell has been tastefully and expertly converted into holiday lets. We stayed at Bluebell Cottage which occupies the end part of the building. The rooms are finished to a high standard and are well equipped and comfortable. The reconstructed platform canopy running the length of the building was a particularly useful feature allowing us to sit directly outside admiring the stunning views even though the weather was threatening light showers. Adequate and easy parking conveniently just outside our door. The centre of the village is a very short walk from the station and the White Horse pub is highly recommended for food. For those with an interest in railways (like me), the owner, Graham, is very knowledgeable and can explain the restoration works that obviously became a labour of love. Full marks for preserving a little bit of our transport heritage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unusual character of the property and the views
Liked least: The bathroom is on the ground floor so night-time visits to the loo meant going downstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill L
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another wonderful week”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I plus our springer spaniel Peady returned to this little gem - Bluebell cottage - this is our second visit in six months the entire week was perfect weather cottage and the island almost think of this as a second home. The garden had freshly cut grass with daffodils speckled everywhere. It was lovely to see Graham and Julia again . All I would say is book early to avoid disappointment this is a beautifully clean warm well equipped cottage with as secure dog proof garden lovely veiws on a perfect island - we will return .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean warm and well equipped
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing