We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable spacious house, breautifully equiped”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ferndale

The cottage is in an idyllic rural setting and has a beautiful gated garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage is in an idyllic rural setting and has a beautiful gated garden.
There's a big stretch of lawn where you can relax or the children can play. Master bedroom, brand new super king bed, divinely comfortable, stunning views over countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The cottage is in an idyllic rural setting and has a beautiful gated garden.
There's a big stretch of lawn where you can relax or the children can play.
Master bedroom, brand new super king bed, divinely comfortable, stunning views over countryside
The master bedroom with glorious views from both windows over the fields
New kitchen - fully equipped with everything you might need and beautiful views.
beautiful new kitchen - with great views over the garden and fields beyond
The living room - light and airy with a fireplace for cosy winter evenings
The living room - with stunning views over the fields and hills
The second bedroom, with brand new king size bed and views over the fields at the back
The second bedroom, king sized bed and very spacious, light and airy
The dining room (there are two more chairs - so you can seat 8 comfortably)
The view from the cottage.
The garden in Spring - relax and enjoy a glass of wine looking over flowers and fields
Garden furniture and BBQ provided for you.
Wander down the garden into the wild flower meadow (- also part of the property)
shower room adjacent to master bedroom
family bathroom
The middle bedroom
The middle bedroom - with cot bed and bunkbeds
Downstairs twin bedroom - light, airy, spacious
The twin bedroom (downstairs)
Ferndale from the road, driveway with secure wooden gates for keeping in children!
The South coast of the Island, looking round to the White Cliffs and the Needles
Stunning beach and cliff top walks
Beautiful coastline - (Compton Bay low tide May 2015)
Long and sandy Compton Bay is a 20 minute drive from the cottage and great for children.
The cottage has beautiful walks from the doorstep.
Breathtakingly beautiful Bluebell wood - a few minutes walk from the cottage.
Bluebell wood is also great for dens, bracken houses and tree climbing
Lots of spots for tea (or wine) in the garden
Plenty of space to eat outdoors too
Dinner with a view!
View of the cottage from the wild flower meadow at the bottom of the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Whitwell, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
familyGP
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable spacious house, breautifully equiped”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We all had a super time at Ferndale (3 generations). The children loved finding the different books and toys.
We all loved the garden and the comfortable well equiped house. A joy to stay in.

Not good for people who need a wheelchair indoors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A comfortable house for the family to be together
Liked least: No negatives
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie N
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well equipped, conveniently located, home from home”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed 2 nights, 4 adults and 3 children. The property is truly a home from home. The kids absolutely loved the extensive garden and the animals seen from the farm next door. The house is so well equipped and very comfortable. The super king size bed is the best - you won't want to get up! Very central for lots of the IOW attractions. Would definitely recommend and can't wait to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you had a good time. I share your sentiments about the bed. I could stay there all day - if the view (and the children) weren't calling me to go outside!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randall F
1 review
“Beautiful property, convenient location.”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Ferndale is a lovely home, with every modern convenience. The views out the picture windows, at the back of the house, reveal the most breathtaking, scenic views of the beautiful garden, green meadows, and hills beyond. We enjoyed lovely walks in the surrounding area. The house is conveniently located very near pubs and markets in the town of Niton. It was a perfect place for us to stay, as first time visitors to the Isle of Wight, as driving to various towns and historic places was easily done. We would definitely stay there again on a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the property, the modern kitchen, the beautiful views from the house.
Liked least: There really was not anything that we liked least.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlymosGin
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic spring getaway”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in February 2016

As regulars to the Island we had need for larger accomodation and we were not disappointed by our stay in such a lovely setting and the most well equipped and clean holiday let! Ferndale was a fantastic base for a great week seeing the island (and of course everywhere is close!) easy to find and the booking was dealt with super-easy and the information provided both pre-holiday and in the property for potential new holiday-makers was superb. Second to none for a home from home holiday! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend in a superb family property”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our family had a wonderful long weekend in Ferndale in the February half term. The house has a lovely open fire, comfy beds, fully equipped kitchen, super large dining table and all in a great location. Our kids LOVED the walk that we did straight from the house (helped by the mud, tree climbing and paths covered in water!). We also took a very blustery but beautiful walk along the coast and the kids enjoyed a trip to the dinosaur museum which was perfect for a rainy day. We would love to return in the summer to make proper use of the garden and the beaches. We would highly recommend a pub called The Buddle Inn, which was welcoming to our large family party and served delicious food. Thank you to the owner Patricia for all her local knowledge and recommendations, we can't wait to come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing