We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
101
26
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
26
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews famous farm mind your head peaceful garden delightful place to stay local staff langtang valley two nights low ceilings stunning views natural beauty nepali food hot water carved doorway kathmandu trek retreat
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Words cannot describe this magical place. Stay for one or two nights for a bit of peace and relaxation after the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu or recuperate after some trekking in the Himalayas. The hotel is breathtaking it its hilltop situation as well as the décor and landscaping surrounding this charming olde worlde hotel. The staff were helpful and attentive and the food was fabulous. The photos don't do it justice you just have to see this place up close. I will remember this hotel for ever and hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Carson_Family58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014

I am very happy I made it to the Famous Farmhouse at last. The moment you step into this pretty, little 'house' you feel at home. All members of the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are cosy, and decorated with traditional elements peculiar to village houses of Nepal. The food was super good; and my friend and I enjoyed an early morning walk to the top of a nearby hill to view the rising sun with a handsome and friendly black dog from the 'house'. The ceilings are a bit low and the wooden steps can be a bit tricky! The gardens are beautiful and very natural; and most vegetables and fruits are grown in their own organic farm within the property. The village walks to the town centre and hills around were easy and very interesting. I can't wait to visit soon for a longer stay. Thank you, Famous Farmhouse Team, for your kind hospitality and your smiling faces. With all my best wishes, from Kunal Lama.

Room Tip: If you are tall, perhaps rooms in the newer wing would be more suitable as the old wing has lower ceilings and the staircase is quite narrow and steep.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gunraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

We were on a 12 day tour of the Kathmandu Valley and had spent the previous night in the centre of Bhaktapur which was hectic and noisy. This made the contrast for us all the more dramatic. We arrived on foot as our small coach had been unable to pass an obsruction on the road. The 20 minute walk from where we left the bus to the farm was a great tonic after the road journey and helped us to realise just how remote the Farmhouse is. The views were amazing though a little misty during our stay. The food was the best we had anywhere during our stay in Nepal The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. On the last morning they all turned out to see us off and that has never happened to me anywhere in the world. It was an amazing place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peterf124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2014

We also spent one night here as part of an Intrepid group and we loved the place. Beautiful buildings with fantastic flowers everywhere and a great view.

Brilliant place to spend a night or two, but perhaps hard to get to on your own.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank DINKs-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Travelling to the Famous Farm from Bidur Bazaar was a little bit of problem for us since we didn't have a private vehicle and we were a little too soon for the public. We hiked up to the place. It was tiring but totally worth it. Honestly, though there is not much to see in Nuwakot but we fell in love with the Famous Farm. Very traditional, very quaint and still pretty modernly equipped. You'll get a very "Nepali" feel inside. The staffs are super warm. The food is good and organic. And the view from the Farm is amazing. The place is perfect for weekend getaway and honeymoon too.

Room Tip: Book the double room on top floor with Trishuli's view. It also has a attached bathroom
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews