We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly decent BBQ, by American standards”

Restaurante BBQ Tres Hermanas
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Abangares
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Steak House and American BBQ. Variety of premium steaks and smoked cuts. Donde está el Toro! Especialidad en carnes a la parilla & BBQ al estilo Tejano. Variedad de cortes premium y carnes ahumadas. Donde está el Toro!
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Was heading back to San Jose from Guanacoste, and found it on the way. Have had good BBQ in Austin, Texas, Florida and other places. This place was more than decent. Had the beef, sampled the pork my friend had. Great service. They also sell raw cuts if one wants to buy and make their own bbq.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank josephmQ6071WO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Service is good, restaurant is clean and staffis friendly. I visited with my 10+ family and had a great time. Food came oit pretty quick and my dish was beyomd perfect. I ordered a Lomito, meat was tender Nd juicy, perfectly seasoned. The sangria glass was a bit small for my taste but very tasty. Will revisit for sure.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Melib2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

If it was not for the incredibly lavish and clean toilets, I would have only given 2/5 points. The food was pretty average and somewhat overpriced. If you are driving and need to stop for a wee, by all means stop here. But don't go out of your way for a meal. The non-meat options are tiny. The rice is Uncle Ben's best... And the portion of milk rice was more of a teaser... Not going back (unless I have to wee).

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GourmandTrashPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

A very good place to eat their food specialties. Well located, good portions and nice environment. Will of course continue considering it as a future alternative.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SBE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

If you are on the road in Costa Rica and have kids going crazy in the car, this is a great stop! It's right off the main road and across from a gas station. This place has a covered kids play area, various animals to mount and take pictures on (statues) and a giant bull to check out in the front (also a statue). They are wheelchair accessible and also have a separate bathroom for extra room, chair, and baby changing. The bathrooms are large, clean, and well-tended. The service was excellent!

The food was okay. It wasn't great, but it wasn't bad. If you are a BBQ lover or aficionado, you probably won't be impressed. The platters are also on the pricey side but you can get a brisket, pork, or chicken sandwich for about $6 and there are some lower priced apps. For my family of 4, we got the BBQ sampler and a Rib plate (and a couple of ice cold beers) for about $45. We could have gone cheaper but honestly, at the end of this 25 hour road trip we just wanted a solid break from the car....and my 3 year old is better with a rib than a sandwich!

So, although we felt the food was average, I enjoyed it and 3 Hermana's immensely for the atmosphere. The kids were very excited about the playground and played hard for 30 minutes which really helped getting back in the car. The playground was in a fenced area and there were tables by the playground.

There are also many tables away from the playground and it appeared they had a full bar for those of you seeking haven away from the family area!

There is nothing I love more than a roadside soda with a casado for 2 mil....and this place is the apposite of that...but if it's what you need, it's well worth it! And you can work the menu for price.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tranquila_Chiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante BBQ Tres Hermanas also viewed

Abangares, Province of Guanacaste
Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
 
Abangares, Province of Guanacaste
Abangares, Province of Guanacaste
 
Abangares, Province of Guanacaste
Abangares, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante BBQ Tres Hermanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing