We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and calm”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mashay Barn

Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Entrance Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Exterior
Entrance
Entrance
Private decked area
Fully fitted kitchen
Country Kitchen
Lounge with a 32 in Flat screen tv with Sky
Comfortable double bed
Bedroom
Full size bath with power shower
Mashay Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Halstead, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Sharron L
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and calm”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We received a warm welcome and the Barn was clean, comfortable and cosy.An ideal location from which to explore the area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review for Mashay Barn.
Thank you also for leaving the property in good, clean condition it is very much
appreciated.
regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip D
Maclean, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly, Quiet and a Great Location for Touring”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Lesley upgraded us to Mashay Barn after we originally booked Mashay Cottage , which was much appreciated. The accommodation is peaceful and comfortable and the surrounding area very scenic. We used it as a base to tour Essex and nearby counties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet and calm surroundings.
Liked least: The security deposit problem - since fixedand the cause rectified.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful review, it will help a great deal when other guests are debating whether to book it.
Thank you also for leaving it in a very clean condition it was greatly appreciated.
regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sianmg
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed three days when visiting our daughter and it was the perfect base for us. Comfy, cosy, with everything we needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, I look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicholaKe...
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay at Mashay Barn as it was cosy and homely.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had original booked to stay at Mashay cottage, but the owner Lesley gave us the opportunity to upgrade to the Barn as it was available at no extra cost. The barn was situated at the rear of the main property (away from the road) and we were welcomed with afternoon tea and a scone. The kitchen was fully equipped and there was a range of DVDs to watch, as well as board games to play in the living room area. Lesley was very accommodating and we had a very enjoyable stay for our anniversary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
Thank you for your great comments on trip Advisor, I hope to welcome you back again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Translation:
A lovely house with everything on it. Complete with dishwasher and washing machine. Beautiful surroundings. Lots to see. Beautiful towns, country houses and ancient history. Snow away by car and you are in a Dickens area. Nice hostess.

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay at Mashay Barn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;