We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing ATM tour

We loved our tour with Orlando. The cave was incredible with so much history and interesting... read more

Reviewed 14 September 2018
David M
via mobile
ATM Cave + Xunantunich Mayan Ruins

Our tour guide, Orlando, was amazing! He was flexible and accommodating, picking us up from our... read more

Reviewed 27 March 2018
FL_M0M
,
Ft. Lauderdale
via mobile
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atm tour traditional belizean great guide flora and fauna amazing tour orlando attention shoes skull culture lunch nature cave artifacts hike adventure
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We booked our trip to the ATM Cave in Placencia (thru Truly Wild Belize). Our guide, Mike, brought us to and introduced us to Orlando. We could not be more grateful. Orlando is one of the only 25/30 trained ATM guides. He has so much love, passion, and knowledge about the area and the Mayan cave/lifestyle. He is of Mayan heritage and shared so much history and information with us in the time we were with him.

This cave tour is pretty amazing and a must do. There are only 25-30 trained guides to take you thru the cave. They have not done anymore training, so I would suggest getting this adventure of a lifetime checked off your bucket list within the next 3-4 years. Orlando was our guide and he was truly amazing. You will need to swim some, but they provide life jackets if you need them, along with helmets and head lamps. They also supplied water, but you do not want to drink too much because they prefer you not to pee in the cave. There is a bathroom and a place to change when you arrive at the parking area for the cave location. There is a small hike to the cave entrance, with a Mayan natural pharmacy along the way. Orlando told us about them all and how the Mayans used them. We swam and climbed to the Mayan site inside the cave. It is from 900AD and we were in awe the whole experience. Orlando shared all his knowledge with us about the artifacts and the how and why the Mayans did what they did. We had so much information shared and learned so much from this tour. Our 10 year old said it was the best experience he ever had. It was priceless. We wore our swimsuits and water shoes. They prefer you to wear socks, too. Bring a set of dry clothes and shoes to change into when you are done. We had a great lunch provided for us of fresh chicken sandwiches, banana chips, and soda, which we ate at the picnic tables.

You can no longer bring cameras into the cave, b/c someone dropped theirs and put a hole in a skull that had been there since 900AD. But, Orlando is very nice to share his pictures from inside the cave. I think by not having your camera/cell phone inside the cave, you pay much more attention and truly have the experience of a lifetime.

Our son is 10 and was amazed and did great. I think you need to be,at least, 40 inches tall to do the cave. You will be pretty amazed with yourself once you have done this tour.

Thank you, Orlando, for this lifetime experience and for all you taught us.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Since we came (daughter and I) in the off season (end of August) we had Orlando all to ourselves. From the drive in, to the hike back to the cave and the exploration Orlando educated us on everything around. The ATM tour is a must do when in Belize...and if you can get Orlando to take you even better.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

What a beautiful experience and Orlando did an amazing job guiding us through it! His friendly demeanor and attention to detail made it very enjoyable and informative.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank jquinn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Orlando was a great guide. He was knowledgeable, enthusiastic funny, and great at explaining these awesome caves.
Orlando arranged to pick us up and drive us to the cave, guided us through this breathtaking place, and provided a fantastic lunch.

A memory for life, and a great job by Orlando.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Orlando was our Guide for the ATM tour. He was amazing. First off this is a must see tour. You need to be in decent shape as you swim across a river, walk across two more and swim into the mouth of the cave. Don't let this scare you unless you are claustrophobic. make sure you wear water proof and clothes that dry quickly like water shorts and shirts (also dont worry you are not cold in the cave) - we wore water shoes and bring socks. No pictures are allowed in the cave due to someone dropping their camera on an ancient mayan skull! Orlando was great enough to send us some pictures he had before this happened. This is just an amazing tour and Orlando helped make it that way

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews