We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect cottage”

Review of Marlowe Cottage

Marlowe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Marlowe Cottage
Marlowe Cottage Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Marlowe Cottage
Marlowe Cottage
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Small Bedroom
Bathroom 1
Living Room
Rear Garden
View from rear Garden
Front of House
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
canoeberr...
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect cottage”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We very much enjoyed our stay at Marlowe Cottage. Scones and flowers greeted us upon arrival and the accommodations were lovely.
From the outside the cottage appears to be ordinary, but once inside you find a house with original details but every modern convenience in excellent condition.
House is well stocked with books and toys for children of all ages, kitchen well stocked for the cook. Beds were very comfortable and the linens of the highest quality. We had fine weather and enjoyed the beautiful back garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodmanFa...
Gloucestershire, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent a wonderful week in the northern Lake District based in this spacious, comfortable cottage on the edge of the quiet village of Caldbeck. Much less hustle and bustle than the more central villages, but easy to reach Ullswater, Derwentwater and Bassenthwaite, as well as Carlisle, the coast and the Solway Estuary. The local village pub serves great food and is very friendly and reasonably priced. Great craft centre just past the church in Caldbeck too. Host Peter was very helpful and we loved the extra touches such as cream tea on arrival and well stocked tea and coffee supplies. Marlowe Cottage offers excellent value for money in high season and every comfort you could want. Thank you.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Dear Claire

Thank you for your kind review we are really pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at Marlowe Cottage.

We hope we can welcome you back to Marlowe Cottage in the future

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strasser2...
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, nice area”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Marlowe Cottage has everything you need. There was a cake and cream tea with scones waiting for us when we arrived late at nigth - perfect! The interior is very nicely decorated and the house is suitable for a family of 4-5 persons. Two bathrooms and three toilets, very convenient. From the doorstep, you can go for walks recommended by the owners. There are maps and leaflets as well as books and games. Caldbeck is situated in a more quiet corner of the Lake District which suited us very much. Visit Calemain House nearby, drive up to Vindolanda and Hadrians Wall, take a boat on one of the lakes or simply spend the day on the terrace admiring the beautiful garden - one week just wasn't enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Dear Clarissa

Thank you for your kind review we are really pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at Marlowe Cottage.

It was really nice to meet you and we hope we can welcome you back in the future if you come back to the UK.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marijkelr
Evergem, Belgium
1 review
“Excellent and very charming”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved our stay in Marlow cottage and we want to go back sometimes.
We had everything we needed and much more.
We liked the cake,scones and Cream when we arrived.
The cosy cottage and the gorgeous garden made our holiday complete. Thank you very much Peter and Ann

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidC105...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Really well equiped cottage - it had everything you need and more for a good stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The cottage is just about perfect. I would go there again. It is well equipped and the wifi is good. Some places skimp on these but not at Marlowe. Clean, spacious, easy instructions for equipment, nice wood stove - what more do you need? Easy to get to, just wish I had more time to explore the local area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Dear David

Thank you for your kind review.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Marlowe Cottage and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing