We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful gem in the forest”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sand beach cottage

Lake view in the fall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lake view in the fall
Bathroom Bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Lake view in the fall
Bathroom
Bedroom.
Gas BBQ on the back porch
Rental canoe and kayak.
Paddle and motor boat.
Kitchenette.
Sunset view from the cottage.
Northern bank in the sunset.
Bedroom.
Kids beach in front of cottage #6.
Woodstove private sauna.
Stars over Golden Lake.
Picnic spot and outdoor fireplace on the lake.
Woodstove sauna. Steam room.
Game room.
Kids playground.
Canoe trip in the sunset.
Volleyball court and basketball ring.
Spring at our  place.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Killaloe, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KarineGar...
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“A beautiful gem in the forest”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner and I stayed at Golden Lake Cottages and we we're more than pleased by our stay. The cottage was absolutely beautiful and the view was spectacular.

Alex and Anna we're very fast to respond to our needs and we're able to take us on a last minute inquiry. We also had the opportunity to bring our dog with us and we had a wonderful family time.

There was a few little things that could of made it a five star such as a workable toaster and better cleaning of the floors. However, these things we're greatly overlooked with our comfortable bed, outstanding view, fireplace, pleasant and welcoming staff.

It was very quiet and we got the chance to bbq over the weekend and enjoy the warmth of the wood stove. Unfortunately, we we're unable to experience the sauna to cold weather but we will definitely be back soon. What a memorable weekend! Thank you Alex and Anna!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Fireplace, balcony, bbq, the view and the staff
Liked least: Cleanliness of bathroom and floors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sergio K
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Spent a weekend in October at the Goldenville. The place is very quiet and views of the lake and the autumn forest are very beautiful.

There are well equipped cottages as well as more basic cabanas for those on the budget and/or wishing more camp-like accommodations. Amenities include cafe, volleyball court, equipment for water activities, and a game room with ping-pong table, air hockey and board games.

We really enjoyed the Russian sauna and the hot leaves treatment. The sauna is located in a private fenced place with access to the lake, picnic table, etc and can be booked for a private party.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating, they want to make sure that everyone has a great experience at the resort. We will be sure to be back.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
justmy0pi...
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great cottage camping in a beautiful location!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Officially called Goldenville waterfront resort, this property includes cabanas, cottages and the lakeside cafe. I booked through tripadvisor and got what I expected... a waterfront cabin rental with a fire pit and indoor plumbing. The website, golake.com portrays a "luxury" "resort" and "spa" which is a bit of a stretch. The property is beautiful - located on a peninsula on a fairly busy cottage scattered lake with loons. The cottages are basic and basically equipped. We didn't find our cottage to be particularly clean (dead mosquitoes on the walls, also the doors and trim could use a coat of paint). The bed was very uncomfortable. The location is great for exploring the Ottawa valley and even close enough to Algonquin park for a day trip. We had cabin #5 which has great sunset views. We did two weeks and I would recommend no more than one. Most of the other guests were respectful but our last night there was a raucous party until the wee hours of the morning. The property aims to be a luxury resort and spa and they definitely could get there but they aren't there yet.. a bit more work on maintenance of the cabins and grounds, better mattresses, and some better watersport equipment (mouldy life vests) would be a good step. Also, the wifi didn't work but you could get wifi at the Killaloe visitors centre a short drive away. 't you are looking for a decent cabin on a beautiful property in the Ottawa Valley, this is a great option. If you are looking for a luxury resort and spa, keep looking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location of the cabin on the lake - loons
Liked least: the horribly uncomfortable bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$194
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing