We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
45
16
2
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
16
2
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water lake baringo other guests bread each cottage gardens are beautiful fire pit living room enjoyed our stay only complaint perfect hosts wonderful experience my daughter main building pool table would stay again fresh farm
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Everything you want out of a campsite: cool setup, hot showers, wifi, great bar area, firepit, pool table, fairly priced. etc. The food has to be ordered ahead of time (fair enough) but it’s absolutely worth it, it was a delicious meal. The only minor drawback is that it’s about a 20-30 minute drive outside of Nakuru, but if you have your own wheels it’s a perfect little oasis, well worth the stay. I’m sure you could matatu here as well, if you take one from Nakuru to Njoro and then north on the road from Njoro a few kilometers.
Would recommend, would stay again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank DaveBMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We just got back from a WONDERFUL stay at Kembu Cottages. In fact, I'm not sure how we left and drove back to Nairobi - it was that nice.

Our family of four stayed in the Kenana Cottage, which has two bedrooms (master with a queen bed and second with two twins - which worked out perfectly) There is a comfortable living room with a fireplace, and a huge veranda with big comfy chairs looking out over the 1/2 acre of land just for your cottage, with the cows, horses, etc of the farm in view too.

There is a lot to do in the farm itself, make sure to visit the inspiring Kenana Knitters, and take a stroll up to the small share farms to learn how to hand milk a cow. Even better is to just sit on the veranda and watch the world go by.

We opted for the breakfast & dinner plan, and I cannot recommend it enough. All the food is super fresh, with all the milk, eggs and a lot of the vegetables coming right from the farm. You get a private chef, who comes and cooks for you in your cottage and then cleans up after. The food was so good, and in the end, it worked out to only about USD$15 per person per meal. Well worth it.

Lastly, this review would not be complete with giving thanks for Andrew and Zoe who run the farm. It's been in Andrew's family for generations and they do obviously love it and every creature in it. Zoe made sure our kids came to her farm house in the mornings to help bottle feed an orphaned Duiker that she was raising, and Andrew offers all kinds of outdoors activities.

It's crazy how Kembu Cottages is a world away from Nairobi, yet is just an easy weekend hop up the expressway. It's 40 minutes from the main gate Lake Nakuru national park, where we went on our second day to see the rhinos.

Honestly, we love Kembu and will definitely go back.

Note: I rely heavily on reviews to plan out our trips, so in the interest of giving back to the community, I am cross posting this as well on Google.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We stayed in Albizia cottage with our two children, the cottage has a lovely verandah and you can shut the gates into the garden if you need to contain children! We had an excellent time, walks on the farm, saw the cows being milked, fed the calves, collected eggs from the chickens, and at the end of the day we put two very happy children to bed and enjoyed a fantastic meal with our hosts. My top tip if you have children is to take warm sleeping clothes for the night as it can get quite chilly!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22busybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stopped at Kembu for one night. We stayed in the Ceder cottage with full board catering. The lunch was served in our varandah, and the dinner and breakfast in our dining room. The living room has a fire place - perfect for warming up a chilly nite.
You are free to walk around the farm or take a tour with a guide. They have a great obstacle course that kept the kids busy or hours.
The kids also watched how cows are milked by machine, got to fed the calves, collect eggs and feed the chickens.
The lush private gardens around each cottage make for a very peaceful and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We rented Mutati cottage for one night on our stop over from Naro Moro to our home in Uganda.
It was a great place to stay with 2 adults and 2 children. It had all the amenities needed to cook our own food for the night. The bar was open to serve us cold drinks which we really appreciated.
The cottage we stayed in was tastefully designed with great timber details which we really liked. The beds were comfortable and the house was nice and warm.
The gardens are beautiful and leaving at dawn for our long drive home we were welcomed with the most amazing sunrise.
Thanks for the stay. Kelly Forbes and Alex Porter

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnlyinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews